We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Zanzibar holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Incredible Zanzibar holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A wonderful little hotel set in Chwaka bay away from the really 'touristy' and 'commercial' parts of Zanzibar. Absolute peace and tranquility, beautiful sunsets, excellent beach front, lovely rooms, brilliant service. The management of the hotel are able to suggest a number of unforgettable excursions (don't leave the island until you have swum with the dolphins in Kizimkazi). Food is excellent and watching the sunset each afternoon at the bar is a prefect way to end each day. My children (aged 6 and 8) had a wonderful time and pretty much spent all of their time in the sea or in the pool. They thoroughly enjoyed the snorkelling excursions and the dolphin experience. This was truly the best holiday i have ever been on.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
83
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aix en Provence
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

A real pearl on the seaside on the East coast of Zanzibar. You seldomly find a hotel where the whole staff is so eager to provide you the most enjoyable stay. We spent five nights to relax after a one week wonderful but tiring safari in the north. The hotel has a reasonable size (about 20 rooms), and the whole staff quickly knows you to provide personalized and friendly service. Rooms are large, quiet, nicely furnished and very confortable with a deck facing the sea and the wonderful sunsets. Very nice private beach and pool in a beautiful garden. The bar and the restaurant facing the beach are gorgeous. Every day menu setting is different (buffet, table service, barbecue on the beach, music... ) always with refined local dishes and good wines. The lunch menu is various and excellent. The hotel will arrange personalized excursions like the spice tour combined with a nice local lunch on the beach. Thank you again to Dave and his whole staff for our fabulous experience ! A perfect relaxing stay to recover from a stressful safari !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a great small boutique hotel with a great location and a terrific staff. This was our second time here for a 3 night stay, after being on safari and just needing some chill out time. Rooms are great, as is the food. Being on the Indian Ocean it is a great place to relax. But what really has impressed us is the staff and manager Brad, who twice has really gone out of his way to help or assist us. Both time we stayed here we were part of a larger group and both times everyone was very happy with everything. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Michamvi as a big group of friends with two young kids and had one of the best holidays ever. The kids still talk about how they were in the pool all day, the amazing fresh juices and delicious food. The suites were so comfy with a turn down service. And best of all was being right on the beach with all our friends. A holiday to remember. Brad the owner was the epitome of a good host and gave us a great deal. Two of our group even decided to get married on the beach and Brad made it beautiful on very short notice. We all dream of going back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and i chose to get married in Zanzibar and on checking out Trip Advisor, Michamvi Sunset Bay stood out for me due to the outstanding reviews and more importantly, the fact that most referred to the personal touch of owner Brad and Simone. Just myself, my partner and our two young children were going to be present at our wedding and so it was very important to us that wherever we decided to go, the people arranging it for us would be devoted to making our day special. We made the right choice!

On our first day, our baby boy was sick and Brad organised for me to take him to the hospital in Stone Town. it is very nerve wracking having a sick baby so far from home but Brad and SImone gave us so much support and reassurance... they were amazing.

The baby was much better by the next day and we relaxed in this incredibly beautiful venue with views over the ocean to die for from the stunning bar area and numerous restaurant areas. The atmosphere is incredibly relaxed and the guests it attracts were all sooo lovely...

One lovely touch was the fact that dinner was organised in a different place each evening.. In the beachside restaurant area, on the beach and around the pool. It felt like you were somewhere different each night - something i felt kept every day feeling fresh and new.

Day 5 was our wedding day and Brad was our Master of Ceremony. Simone took the place of my girlfriends back home, sharing some bubbly with me, ensuring i had all i needed and seeing myself and my 4 year old daughter to the altar.

Our wedding was very low key and ultra personal, spiritual, emotional, intimate and to have shared this experience with people like Brad and Simone was a total blessing. Brad is a whiz with kids and he whisked them off during the shoot so we could have some shots without them. Our son, who is normally so clingy to us, didn't want to come back. Brad is an official baby whisperer!

Our evening was completely spectacular, with our little hand weaved leaf gazebo we had got married under, moved down the beach away from the evening diners, with beautiful candle lit lanterns leading up to the table, an AMAZING trio swahili band who sang My Angel and reduced me to tears.... a fab bonfire to provide some gorgeous light and heat... And the most incredible seafood platter we have ever eaten.

Babysitting had been organised so my new husband and i were able to relax and enjoy our night un-interupted under the stars. No words can explain how special it was. And this was all organised by Brad and Simone. We never had to worry or stress about details. We left it to them and they delivered above and beyond anything we could ever have expected. They made a wedding experience for us that will remain in our minds and our hearts forever.

New Year's Eve was the following night and it was SO MUCH FUN.. Again, faultless and meticulously organised to ensure everyone had the most memorable evening.

There is such a magical charm about this place. All of the staff were so lovely and warm and obviously happy working here. And Brad has an amazing talent for making you feel like you are the only people in the place... His ability to please so many people so seamlessly is truly astonishing. But his passion and commitment to ensuring you have the best possible holiday experience is the driving force behind this and what sets this hotel apart.

For anyone who is getting married here and wants a wedding photographer, ask Brad for details of Robin Batista. He was AMAZING and we can't recommend him enough.

We left and went to another hotel for our honeymoon and while our new hotel was beautiful and the people lovely, it didn't compare to Brad's place. I missed Michamvi after we left and if we return to Zanzibar it goes without saying we'll be coming back here. Thank you Brad and Simone for making our experience so special. Love XXXXX

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea so you will always have a great room. We were on the bottom floor as we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Michamvi Sunset bay was Gods gift and blessing to us for our wedding.. It was everything and more that we wished for our wedding. It is the most beautiful untouched, natural paradise that we have ever seen. When I was there I had to pinch myself that this was real! They have the most indescribable beautiful beach wedding venue as well as the most magical and unbelievable service and hard work of the Michamvi staff. Simone and Brad worked so hard to make my dreams come true. I could mail her anytime about anything, we did Skype calls and she always would come back as soon as possible sometimes within minutes or within an hour. We got more than that was promised! We have never come across with such impeccable service. Every wish I wanted was not impossible. They made everything and more that I wanted possible! There was no other perfect venue for us than Michamvi for our wedding. It was definitely Gods plan for us to be there as everything was a touch from Heaven.

We originally planned our wedding venue on the Bazaruto islands in the Mozambique archipelago. It was a very stressful situation for us as the venue burnt down , however I am so happy I ended up having my wedding at Michamvi as the venue is more what I wanted(the white soft sand island wedding) together with the exceptional personalized service from the entire Michamvi team. Simone who helped me plan and coordinate the entire wedding event and even came up with amazing wedding ideas, Brad who worked with Simone as well and helped made the stay for 39 guests unforgettable. The waiters and the entire staff at Michamvi were so hospitable and so friendly. They are so pleasant to be around and so nice to chat too. Everything about Michamvi Sunset bay is exceptional. I loved how intimate our venue was. The rooms are stunning, the gardens around the rooms are so beautiful and beach and sunsets is Indescribable.

Beach Wedding
The highlight of our stay was our BEACH WEDDING
My dream was to have a wedding on a sand bank in the ocean with soft power white sand. Simone came up with a suggestion to have it as a easy access connected sand bank that was only a sand bank during high tide. We therefore had to get the date , tide and timing s correct. It was truly HEAVEN. They arranged everything I wanted.

RECEPTION: The 39 guests arrived at the sand bank via walking on a bridge over the water which they specially built for the wedding! The bridal party and I arrived on a beautifully flower and palm leave boat. The drummers were playing in the background to create suspense of me arriving. The staff carried me out with a sign in front of me saying “HERE COMES THE BRIDE”. They even arranged the white tiffany chairs I wanted for my wedding and arranged it in a heart shape like I wanted. Around the chairs where these beautiful intertwined palm leaves in arches. Chiffon was placed on all the chairs. They arranged a wooden alter with stunning frangi pangi bouquets on it. It was a need for me to walk in heels down the isle so they arranged a wooden marine ply board for me to walk on that was covered with sand. They arranged a portable PA system for music as well as for speech at the ceremony. The flower basket was made out of wooden leaves and they organized beautiful bouquets and buttonholes. Communion was even organized. The beach was beautifully raked. The sand was so powder fine. They made sure everything happened to plan and that everything was so beautiful! At the end of the ceremony we left in a beautiful wooden boat with a special sign made that said “Just Married”.



The reception: They arranged cocktail coconut drinks with snacks during sunset while we did our shoot. When we came back the white tiffany chairs were all arranged around white tables also in the form of the heart on the stunning white sand opposite the rooms. Simone even sourced the right palm leaves, which were hard to find on the wedding table. Beautiful lanterns were on tables and on the sand. Hearts palms decorations were arranged on the chairs. Stunning frangi pangi flowers were on the table. On our wedding table they special made our MR and MRS sign is shells! They also had palm arches at the end of the tables to form a heart. I really loved the décor they arranged so beautiful, intimate and romantic.

THE FOOD: WOW!!!! Everyone went on how amazing their seafood was. The lobsters, prawns, crayfish, all the side wishes were out this world. Definitely the best seafood I ever had! The cake was specially made in a heart shape with our names on! Their microphone broke after the ceremony but they made a plan to get it fixed for the speeches. They even arranged a TV so I could have a video presentation.

There is so much to mention but every small detail I could have forgotten to mention was so special. They decorated our room for our wedding night. There was beautiful flower petals all over and duck shaped towels on the bed!


This was the most unforgettable day of our lives!! Thank you Michamvi for making this day the most beautiful day of our lives! We plan to come back as often as possible and visit this beautiful magnificent venue with amazing staff. THANK YOU MICHAMVI! You are truly Gods blessing to us and I pray that many others get to experience their Magical day at Michamvi Sunset bay.


Much love
Nadia and Petre’ Kleynhans

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in mid December 2013. The first two nights, we were privileged to be the only guests at the resort and had the magical experience of exclusivity, exceptional service and great food. The fish curry at the bar's lunch menu is to die for, literally..
The resort is right on the beach. We had dinner on the beach with sunset views and African jazz playing on the background and a huge bon- fire afterwards. I was just blown away by the kindness of the staff and especially Brad, the resort manager. Brad was exceptionally attentive and a great host during our stay. The rooms are spacious, immaculate and the resort is very private with exceptional service. This was my first time in Zanzibar and I highly recommend this resort.
Gertrude

Room Tip: If you can, book the king size rooms on the upstairs floor. The ocean view from the large balcony i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Address: East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel Michamvi
Michamvi Water Sports Hotel
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.