We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I can't complement this hotel enough. We went there recently with our two children (5 and 9) and had an absolutely marvellous stay. The manager, Brad, is amazing. He took us on a safari with dolphins personally and helped our children swim them them - it was an unbelievable experience and, to top it all off, very reasonably priced. The rooms are great, the food is outstanding (my husband raved about it and he is one of the fussiest people I know) but what really makes it special is the staff. They are fantastic - all of them! For us special mention, has to go to Ali who served us throughout our stay and Ally at the bar who also took care of us a lot. As I said, all were great so it is hard to single out people but these guys were special.

My daughter's 10th birthday occurred while we were there and they arranged a special celebration and cake - without charging us for anything! We even had a trip on a Dhow which was complementary because they liked our children! Also, I have to say, one of the really good points about this hotel is the size. Given they only have 20 rooms, even if they have full occupancy (which they did when we were there), you never feel crowded. There are always plenty of beds by the pool and beach. To top it all off, the views of the sunset from the hotel are amazing!

We would love to go there again - and hope we will have the opportunity soon. It was one of the best places we've ever holidayed - without a doubt. Thank you Brad and staff for a wonderful, wonderful time!

Debra

Room Tip: If you have children the ground floor is good as you can go directly to the pool or beach. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
80
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We could not have chosen a better place to wind down after a fantastic safari! Fantastic staff, tremendous food and superb location. My son and I particularly enjoyed "beer o'clock" with Brad while watching the rugby/cricket in the bar, but every aspect of our stay lived up to, or exceeded our expectations. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kla
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

While planning a family holiday in Zanzibar we picked Michamvi off the internet and am delighted to say it was one of the nicest small resorts that we have stayed at. It's peaceful and stunning location and absolutely everything from the welcome, the staff, the accomodation, food and ofcourse the sun, sand and stunning beaches just made it perfect. I would return to and recommend Michamvi in a heartbeat!!! Thanks again.

Room Tip: View from all the rooms is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just came back from our honeymoon in Tanzania, we spend the last 5 days at Michamvi. The staff of Michamvi really transformed our holiday into a honeymoon. They made us feel very welcome, as if we were guests in their homes. The service is very personal and every single member of the staff feels responsible to make your holiday the best holiday ever. You can really tell they enjoy working there. The food was excellent, the views were amazing, the maintenance on the building is very up-to-date and the tours/trips with Antony are the best on the island!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Decided to get married we looked out for the right place on Zanzibar to do so. A tropical place to marry at the beach within a private environment (just the 2 of us). Something small, unique, special and aside of the bit more crowded places on this island.

Based on the excellent recommendations at Tripadvisor Michamvi Sunset Bay became quickly our first choice. And we can confirm all the great feedbacks we read about this resort.

The communication with the English and German speaking hotel managers was from the first day very professional. Any wish we had was realized. Because of the good organization of the managing staff our wedding became an unforgettable afternoon/evening within an awesome sunset. This day will remain forever in our memories. Thanks again guys for all the efforts - especially our witnesses Simone and Brad!!!

The resort is a fantastic place to relax and to enjoy the stunning, never ending and clean beaches as well as the beautiful sunsets. You can also discover easily other parts/attractions of/on the island (tours to Jozani National Park, Stonetown as well as snorkeling tours with dolphins and some more were offered).

Cuisine and breakfast is diversified and delicious. Especially our wedding dinner (seafood platter) was unforgettable. Dinner takes place at different locations within the hotel (e.g.at the beach aside a little romantic bonfire, around the pool with a little jazz band or at the main restaurant).

The local staff of the tiny village Michamvi is very friendly and part of the resorts authentically community involvement which is in our eyes one of many reasons to visit this resort.

There are plenty of possibilities to relax (beach, pool, spacious bar, nice balconies of the rooms...). This little resort is in excellent condition, very clean and well maintained. The pictures on the resorts homepage will give you an imagination how it really looks there.

So if you are looking for a place to discover a relaxing holiday (or even some days after a Safari) and the advantages in terms of an excellent service a small but well managed resort can offer then Michamvi is the place you should go. We enjoyed the private atmosphere at Michamvi Sunset Bay a lot. If you are looking for a great honeymoon or wedding Michamvi is the perfect choice. But if you are looking for animation, clubs, disco´s etc then you should decide for another resort.

We left this lovely place after memorable days very happy and newly-married and would love to come back one day. There is no reason not to give a top rating. Michamvi Sunset Bay is definitely a little pearl on this beautiful island.

Gina and Marcel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed as a family in March 2013. It was probably the most relaxing vacation we've had in years, and we will definitely be coming back. Everything, from the rooms to the food to the beach to the staff, was perfect - personalized service that wasn't pushy, and the opportunity to do as much or as little as we wanted. Shout-outs to Simone and James for finding flip-flops for our little one, to Anton for arranging the swimming with the dolphins for us - amazing even in the rain! - and to Brad for answering our endless questions about Zanzibar. This is a very quiet location - if you're looking for wild beach parties, this is not the place for you. But if you want a place to recharge, watch beautiful sunsets, be treated as part of a family and not just an anonymous guest - this is the place.

We had two rooms next to each other - families with little ones, note that there are no connecting rooms. Truthfully, we could have fit two additional beds in one room if we had needed to. The rooms were furnished with all that we needed: bed with mosquito netting, ceiling fan, air conditioning, desk, hot water kettle w/tea and coffee, drinking water, small safe. Our baths had single showers and a bathtub, with a nice size sink and room for all the toiletries. VERY clean. The resort provides small soaps and small travel size shampoo. There's turn-down service every night. Our rooms were on the ground floor, and there was a small patio with chairs which provided easy access to the beach area.

Dinner is served in different locations each night. Our kids were given the option of having an earlier dinner if they needed it. The resort has mosquito repellent available for the evening, but we brought our own and used it liberally. We booked a "romantic dinner" on the beach (w/o the kids!) and it was beautiful - a canopy made of flowers, luminaria along the walk to our table, beach bonfire...perfect for a belated anniversary dinner. Breakfasts were buffet-style. Lunch is not included but there are very tasty options at the bar that looks over the bay. Complimentary "Tea-time" with biscuits/cookies and tea/coffee every afternoon.

Other notes: Wi-fi throughout the grounds. No annoying beach-boys pressuring you. Volleyball/small soccer pitch near the bar. Canoes, reef shoes, life vests, snorkel gear available for borrowing. There are some games (Jenga, etc) and beach-toys for the kiddies. Nice pool although heavily chlorinated. Drinking water available all the time from the bar or restaurant. A very-well thought out resort all-in-all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Michamvi for three nights at the end of March. The location of the resort is ideal, as it is located away from the bustle of Nungwi (which apparently turns off many tourists), and on Zanzibar's east coast. However unlike other properties on the east coast, because of Michamvi's location in Chwaka Bay, the resort faces westward. This results in some of the most spectacular sunsets you will ever see.

The beach at MIchamvi is splendid. Every day we walked for what felt like a mile down the white sandy beach. The surrounding is very organic and beautiful.

As with much of Zanzibar, Michamvi is subject to tidal extremes. Obviously, low and high tide fluctuations exist everywhere in the world. But because Zanzibar has a shallow coast and is surrounded by coral reef, the low tide pulls the ocean very far back. This was a sight to see, and an unexpected delight. Using the free reef shoes provided by the resort, my wife and I explored the low tide ocean for hours, literally feeling as though we were talking through the ocean. And when high tide returned, the clear turquoise waters return, and all is well.

The food was good - every night dinner is in a different location, and varies between buffet and a la carte service. The lunch time food at the oceanfront bar, though not included in the price, was delicious (seafood pizza and chicken curry especially).

Service was great, and the resort as a whole has a pretty laid-back vibe. The water sports station adjacent to the resort, run by the very helpful Anton, is great. Anton organized a fantastic snorkel trip for us. Use of kayaks was also free, and Anton guided us to kayak into the nearby mangroves, which was an incredible trip. All of the staff were accommodating and helpful.

Wi-fi was spotty, but I think that had more to do with the Seacom outage (a ship apparently hit an underwater cable that delivers internet to much of East Africa - sounds made up, but it's not) than with the resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. Stayed in room 24, which is on the second floor. This had a direct vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Address: East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel Michamvi
Michamvi Water Sports Hotel
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.