We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay -- we'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay -- we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed as a family in March 2013. It was probably the most relaxing vacation we've had in years, and we will definitely be coming back. Everything, from the rooms to the food to the beach to the staff, was perfect - personalized service that wasn't pushy, and the opportunity to do as much or as little as we wanted. Shout-outs to Simone and James for finding flip-flops for our little one, to Anton for arranging the swimming with the dolphins for us - amazing even in the rain! - and to Brad for answering our endless questions about Zanzibar. This is a very quiet location - if you're looking for wild beach parties, this is not the place for you. But if you want a place to recharge, watch beautiful sunsets, be treated as part of a family and not just an anonymous guest - this is the place.

We had two rooms next to each other - families with little ones, note that there are no connecting rooms. Truthfully, we could have fit two additional beds in one room if we had needed to. The rooms were furnished with all that we needed: bed with mosquito netting, ceiling fan, air conditioning, desk, hot water kettle w/tea and coffee, drinking water, small safe. Our baths had single showers and a bathtub, with a nice size sink and room for all the toiletries. VERY clean. The resort provides small soaps and small travel size shampoo. There's turn-down service every night. Our rooms were on the ground floor, and there was a small patio with chairs which provided easy access to the beach area.

Dinner is served in different locations each night. Our kids were given the option of having an earlier dinner if they needed it. The resort has mosquito repellent available for the evening, but we brought our own and used it liberally. We booked a "romantic dinner" on the beach (w/o the kids!) and it was beautiful - a canopy made of flowers, luminaria along the walk to our table, beach bonfire...perfect for a belated anniversary dinner. Breakfasts were buffet-style. Lunch is not included but there are very tasty options at the bar that looks over the bay. Complimentary "Tea-time" with biscuits/cookies and tea/coffee every afternoon.

Other notes: Wi-fi throughout the grounds. No annoying beach-boys pressuring you. Volleyball/small soccer pitch near the bar. Canoes, reef shoes, life vests, snorkel gear available for borrowing. There are some games (Jenga, etc) and beach-toys for the kiddies. Nice pool although heavily chlorinated. Drinking water available all the time from the bar or restaurant. A very-well thought out resort all-in-all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
80
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Michamvi for three nights at the end of March. The location of the resort is ideal, as it is located away from the bustle of Nungwi (which apparently turns off many tourists), and on Zanzibar's east coast. However unlike other properties on the east coast, because of Michamvi's location in Chwaka Bay, the resort faces westward. This results in some of the most spectacular sunsets you will ever see.

The beach at MIchamvi is splendid. Every day we walked for what felt like a mile down the white sandy beach. The surrounding is very organic and beautiful.

As with much of Zanzibar, Michamvi is subject to tidal extremes. Obviously, low and high tide fluctuations exist everywhere in the world. But because Zanzibar has a shallow coast and is surrounded by coral reef, the low tide pulls the ocean very far back. This was a sight to see, and an unexpected delight. Using the free reef shoes provided by the resort, my wife and I explored the low tide ocean for hours, literally feeling as though we were talking through the ocean. And when high tide returned, the clear turquoise waters return, and all is well.

The food was good - every night dinner is in a different location, and varies between buffet and a la carte service. The lunch time food at the oceanfront bar, though not included in the price, was delicious (seafood pizza and chicken curry especially).

Service was great, and the resort as a whole has a pretty laid-back vibe. The water sports station adjacent to the resort, run by the very helpful Anton, is great. Anton organized a fantastic snorkel trip for us. Use of kayaks was also free, and Anton guided us to kayak into the nearby mangroves, which was an incredible trip. All of the staff were accommodating and helpful.

Wi-fi was spotty, but I think that had more to do with the Seacom outage (a ship apparently hit an underwater cable that delivers internet to much of East Africa - sounds made up, but it's not) than with the resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. Stayed in room 24, which is on the second floor. This had a direct vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Because of our flight delay we arrived late in the evening and without luggage. The owner was waiting for us and arranged a toothbrush, toothpaste and a few beers on our room. The room was specious, clean and cool. The staff was very friendly, the food excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Michamvi Sunset Bay has everything you need after a long working season. I have been here already a couple of times to relax and unwind. The location is breathtaking. Chwaka Bay with its calm waters, long beaches and stunning sunsets offers everything to put your soul at ease. The sunset bar invites for drinks with Simone and Brad, the management - always up for a good laugh :).
The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable and cozy. They have an art project with local painters and show their paintings in the rooms - very creative!
I really enjoyed the snorkeling trip I once did with Dutchie! The underwater life is truly magnificent.
Service and management have always been very friendly and amiable. That was definitely not my last time at Michamvi Sunset bay :)!

Room Tip: I really like the rooms on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week from 16th to 23rd February 2013 as a party of 6 - 4 adults and 2 teenage boys (2 families). The resort delivered on so many levels - Anton was a mine of information and his enthusiasm rubbed off on the boys too! He taught 2 of us to snorkel in the hotel pool, made sure all of us were completely sorted and took us on a memorable snorkellin trip and made sure we all got to see the dolphins on a trip to swim with them, including the least confident swimmer. The boys also took advantage of the PADI dive centre next door, scuba diving while the rest of the party snorkelled from the same boat in the lovely Blue Lagoon - the staff at the PADI centre are also friendly and accomodating - highly recommended. The resort staff are friendly and helpful, both while we were there and before we arrived - thank you Simone for answering all our queries about money, vaccines, potential airport problems etc. No request seemed toomuch, even our last minute requests for fruit for our marine trips. Taxis were produced on time, suggestions for trips and constant, unobtrusive care and attention to detail. Dinner venues moved around the site, the food was good but our last night Swahili buffet served on the beach will take some beating - gorgeous....what a romantic setting. The beach is as good as private for as far as you can see - approx 1 mile. We lived in swimmers from morning til night, casual clothing for dinner, read, relaxed, swam and enjoyed the hot sun with gentle breezes while others froze in the extended British winter.....no-one could ask for more!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

In October 2012 my wife and me spent our honeymoon in Tansania. 10 days safari + 2 days Stone Town + 8 days chilling out at Michamwi Sunset Bay. We booked the hotel in advance and as soon as we got there, we knew it was the perfect choice. Our room was lovely decorated with flowers and we had a warm welcome with drinks and fruits. All in all Michamvi Sunset Bay is a very cosy place. The hotel has only twenty rooms and the staff takes perfectly care about the guests. Whether you just want to chill out at the beautiful beach or want to go snorkling - everything is possible. When we were there, Michamwi actually was the only hotel on the beach.
Not to forget the dinner: each day we had dinner at another place within the hotel area. One day we had dinner at the beach - the other day besides the pool - the other day in the open air restaurant. And it was always sensational (the seafood was just topping it all).
To put it in a nutshell: this place is the perfect place to have a relaxing vacation at the beach!!!

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean view - from the upper floor you have an even better view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is a 'must' if you want a completely relaxing holiday. White sandy beach shaded by palms, warm dazzling blue ocean, comfortable modern accommodation, good food and outstanding service, this place takes some beating. We arrived here in mid December 2012 feeling tired and jaded after an extremely busy year, we stayed five nights and left feeling completely revitalised and years younger. Brad and Anton were outstanding, they went out of their way to ensure that we had a good stay. It is true to say that nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel so welcome that all our cares and woes just fell away in the first few hours of arriving. We have no hesitation in recommending the Sunset Bay Resort to anyone and can't wait to return which we hope to do on a regular basis.

Room Tip: take the sunset cruise in a dhow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Address: East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel Michamvi
Michamvi Water Sports Hotel
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.