We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! A little piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow! A little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is a 'must' if you want a completely relaxing holiday. White sandy beach shaded by palms, warm dazzling blue ocean, comfortable modern accommodation, good food and outstanding service, this place takes some beating. We arrived here in mid December 2012 feeling tired and jaded after an extremely busy year, we stayed five nights and left feeling completely revitalised and years younger. Brad and Anton were outstanding, they went out of their way to ensure that we had a good stay. It is true to say that nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel so welcome that all our cares and woes just fell away in the first few hours of arriving. We have no hesitation in recommending the Sunset Bay Resort to anyone and can't wait to return which we hope to do on a regular basis.

Room Tip: take the sunset cruise in a dhow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
82
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I really loved to stay at this hotel. The food was excellent and the staff very nice. Anton that is responsible for the activities did a great job. We joined the snorkeling trip and the dolphin trip. Excellent!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

What an awesome experience in Zanzibar. This is a place that speaks to being at home in heaven on earth. From the absolutely awesome hospitality provided by friendly and interested staff to the kind, knowledgeable, caring and attentive management - Brad, Anton, James, you guys are awesome. In a tourist mecca, it's good to know that Michamvi Sunset Bay also focusses on sustainability programmes that empower their staff and care for the environment.

The food is good - even though there is always room for improvement. BUT, you won't go hungry, or get bored for choice, freshness (locally grown and/or harvested) or simple satisfaction. The slipper lobster is fantastic! The mango is perfect! Dinners served on the Sea Breezes deck are truly idyllic as you hear the water lapping at the shore and spot the odd hermit crabs scurrying over the white sands looking for their dinner.

The wine list is small but really good - featuring South African and Australian options across the different varietals -and fairly priced.

This resort is about personalized guest relations. It's small (20 suites), quiet & friendly. It's about azure blue beaches, lounging in the sun and appreciating the feeling of being at your very own beachfront home with friends.

Rooms are spacious, comfortable, air-conditioned, serviced professionally and daily. The King Sized double beds are great, and some rooms have double showers - really cool. All the rooms have good sea views - obviously balcony rooms are the best.

Highlights for us included the snorkeling along with the most beautiful tropical fish in the world and swimming with truly magnificent Dolphins. This is a must. Anton - one of the hotel's directors - personally oversees your trip and you couldn't ask for better care and support, enthusiasm and sense of adventure from this passionate adventurer. Not only will you have an awesome time, but to top it all, Anton will produce for you your very own DVD of your dolphin swim. It's the coolest record of your stay!

So if want unpretentious pampering, a great location with awesome hosts, Michamvi Sunset Bay is a must.

We're sorry to leave after 7 days...but that only means our return trip will be coming closer every day from this departure...

Thanks, Brad and Anton - you guys are truly stars!

Coming from South Africa, we did our booking through Shannon Pretorius from Travelability (shannon@travelability.co.za). Recommend you book through her - her family owns the resort, Brad her cousin runs the resort - so you guaranteed you'll get get great service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently went to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort for our company's year-end conference. After quite a long indirect flight, we arrived at the airport feeling hot, muggy and quite tired. As we walked out of the passport control with our trolleys, we were immediately greated by a super friendly driver waiting to take us to the resort. From the minute we climbed into the taxi - the paradise began. We arrived at the hotel and we were met by Brad who then gave us a wonderful introduction about where everything is and how everything works. Our company and Business Partners from all parts of the globe were there for 3 days of conference. We spent mornings in the conference venue overlooking the blue seas, white sands and sparkling blue swimming pools. The service was out of this world. The staff were so friendly - the best I have ever experienced in all my years of traveling. In the afternoons, we did so many fantastic activities such as snorkeling, having sundowners on the beach, going for trips on the dhows and ended off our final night with a party and dinner on the beach. Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort is by far one of the BEST holiday destinations I have ever been to and the 3 main reasons are FOOD, SERVICE and LOCATION!!! What more do you need!! :) :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There is a good reason why this resort has nearly perfect ratings on Tripadvisor, that’s because it’s nearly perfect.

After a long and difficult climb up and down Mt Kilimanjaro, we were lucky enough to recover in this quiet, quaint, lovely gem.

Located in the more low key coastal area of Zanzibar, the resort rests on a perfect strip of sand with palm trees. Beach position couldn’t be better, we were given the nightly gift of ridiculously beautiful sunsets of a calm enclosed peaceful bay.

Adventure is close by with access to snorkeling and other water activities, all facilitated by a friendly staff. Once we returned from our snorkeling adventures, we took a dip in the sparkling outdoor pool and slept under the trees on the beach.

Nights are extremely chill and very private. The resort has a sweet little bar next to the beach where we sipped Konyagi (local rum), played board games, and listened to the gently lapping waves.

There was a decent buffet style breakfast. We preferred lunch which you could order off the bar menu, and fell in love with their coconut fish curry over and over again. Other options were straightforward bar grill options, all quite food, not greasy. The dinners were very good, usually a mixed grill and a fresh buffet with an abundance of options.

The staff were an absolute highlight for us, all were extremely friendly, well trained and ensured we had everything we needed. Brad, the manager, and the team there did a fabulous job treating us like friends and family. In particular, Brad created a special memory of us, surprising and delighting us each day. It was our honeymoon, he arranged a sunset sailboat ride on a dhow (local traditional boat) where we were guided through mangroves and eventually led to a private beach were given a pre-prepared 8 course picnic with champagne. We ate, drank, laughed and watched the most beautiful sunset which was without a doubt the highlight of trip. The second incredible surprise was a beach side dinner on a private table under a canopy made of flowers, leaves and candles. There was a lovely fire burning next to us. We were completely spoiled with a grilled seafood platter full of lobster, squid, shrimps and more. It was truly extraordinary. These were just two of many features offered in the Honeymoon Package.

Finally, the rooms were just what we needed: big, clean and comfortable. Our sleeps were luxurious.

All this for what we consider was a reasonable price! There is a god!

We recommend this resort with absolute confidence and hope to one day be so lucky to return.

P.S. Brad, thank you for the free take home gift of local Konyagi rum. We’re still savouring it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

As lifelong seekers of unspoilt beach and diving paradises, we have visited many of the well known and internationally hyped beach resorts, all of which have their own special beauty and offerings. Michamvi has it all in one place. Private, unspoiled, beautiful, all rooms overlook the beach, caring service and genuine friendliness. Even the excursions are discreetly organised, affordable, no cash paid and go onto the hotel bill - tipping and negotiating made easy. Rare monkeys in natural rainforest, Stonetown accessible, fantastic and very safe snorkelling, and more adventurous dolphin swimming which we will remember forever. And you get, free, your underwater pics, taken by a pro! With all this you'd expect the room and food to at least be good - both world class. Oh, and reasonable bay sunsets too! And a vibey beach bar close by. Enough! Thanks Brad/guys, see you again in late 2013

Room Tip: they're all good - upstairs a bit cooler? But good aircon anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

At the Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort one is feeling really at home.
Perfect setting - Great beach - Stunning sunsets - Great snorkling.
Very friendly and helpfull staff - Professional management - Bar and restaurant along the beach with stunning bay views - Delicious food.
Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Address: East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel Michamvi
Michamvi Water Sports Hotel
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;