We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one word - Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just one word - Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I recently went to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort for our company's year-end conference. After quite a long indirect flight, we arrived at the airport feeling hot, muggy and quite tired. As we walked out of the passport control with our trolleys, we were immediately greated by a super friendly driver waiting to take us to the resort. From the minute we climbed into the taxi - the paradise began. We arrived at the hotel and we were met by Brad who then gave us a wonderful introduction about where everything is and how everything works. Our company and Business Partners from all parts of the globe were there for 3 days of conference. We spent mornings in the conference venue overlooking the blue seas, white sands and sparkling blue swimming pools. The service was out of this world. The staff were so friendly - the best I have ever experienced in all my years of traveling. In the afternoons, we did so many fantastic activities such as snorkeling, having sundowners on the beach, going for trips on the dhows and ended off our final night with a party and dinner on the beach. Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort is by far one of the BEST holiday destinations I have ever been to and the 3 main reasons are FOOD, SERVICE and LOCATION!!! What more do you need!! :) :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
82
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There is a good reason why this resort has nearly perfect ratings on Tripadvisor, that’s because it’s nearly perfect.

After a long and difficult climb up and down Mt Kilimanjaro, we were lucky enough to recover in this quiet, quaint, lovely gem.

Located in the more low key coastal area of Zanzibar, the resort rests on a perfect strip of sand with palm trees. Beach position couldn’t be better, we were given the nightly gift of ridiculously beautiful sunsets of a calm enclosed peaceful bay.

Adventure is close by with access to snorkeling and other water activities, all facilitated by a friendly staff. Once we returned from our snorkeling adventures, we took a dip in the sparkling outdoor pool and slept under the trees on the beach.

Nights are extremely chill and very private. The resort has a sweet little bar next to the beach where we sipped Konyagi (local rum), played board games, and listened to the gently lapping waves.

There was a decent buffet style breakfast. We preferred lunch which you could order off the bar menu, and fell in love with their coconut fish curry over and over again. Other options were straightforward bar grill options, all quite food, not greasy. The dinners were very good, usually a mixed grill and a fresh buffet with an abundance of options.

The staff were an absolute highlight for us, all were extremely friendly, well trained and ensured we had everything we needed. Brad, the manager, and the team there did a fabulous job treating us like friends and family. In particular, Brad created a special memory of us, surprising and delighting us each day. It was our honeymoon, he arranged a sunset sailboat ride on a dhow (local traditional boat) where we were guided through mangroves and eventually led to a private beach were given a pre-prepared 8 course picnic with champagne. We ate, drank, laughed and watched the most beautiful sunset which was without a doubt the highlight of trip. The second incredible surprise was a beach side dinner on a private table under a canopy made of flowers, leaves and candles. There was a lovely fire burning next to us. We were completely spoiled with a grilled seafood platter full of lobster, squid, shrimps and more. It was truly extraordinary. These were just two of many features offered in the Honeymoon Package.

Finally, the rooms were just what we needed: big, clean and comfortable. Our sleeps were luxurious.

All this for what we consider was a reasonable price! There is a god!

We recommend this resort with absolute confidence and hope to one day be so lucky to return.

P.S. Brad, thank you for the free take home gift of local Konyagi rum. We’re still savouring it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

As lifelong seekers of unspoilt beach and diving paradises, we have visited many of the well known and internationally hyped beach resorts, all of which have their own special beauty and offerings. Michamvi has it all in one place. Private, unspoiled, beautiful, all rooms overlook the beach, caring service and genuine friendliness. Even the excursions are discreetly organised, affordable, no cash paid and go onto the hotel bill - tipping and negotiating made easy. Rare monkeys in natural rainforest, Stonetown accessible, fantastic and very safe snorkelling, and more adventurous dolphin swimming which we will remember forever. And you get, free, your underwater pics, taken by a pro! With all this you'd expect the room and food to at least be good - both world class. Oh, and reasonable bay sunsets too! And a vibey beach bar close by. Enough! Thanks Brad/guys, see you again in late 2013

Room Tip: they're all good - upstairs a bit cooler? But good aircon anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

At the Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort one is feeling really at home.
Perfect setting - Great beach - Stunning sunsets - Great snorkling.
Very friendly and helpfull staff - Professional management - Bar and restaurant along the beach with stunning bay views - Delicious food.
Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had the most incredible week at the Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort. The resort itself is beautiful and is lucky to have a great beach position will a full view of the setting sun and spectacular bay. It is close to great snorkelling sites and we spent our time moving between the turquoise sea to the sparkling pool.

Nights are balmy and relaxed. The resort has a newly built bar next to the beach – perfect for sipping on a cocktail and listening to the gently lapping waves.

The staff are friendly and efficient. They went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed. A special mention and thank you to Brad, the resorts manager who arranged everything we needed and treated us like family.

I cannot say that we have ever had such excellent service while on holiday. Cannot wait for our next holiday there!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms are the best :). All have airconditioning and are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my second visit to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort. This, if possible, was better than the first. The renovations to rooms and amazing bar really set this resort apart. The bar overlooks the amazing coastline, with the most spectacular sunsets over the ocean, night after night. The staff are like family and no request is too much to ask for. The manager Brad, really goes the extra mile to 'make a difference. The people of Zanzibar, coupled by the Island's magical charm make Michamvi a place I shall visit for many years to come!

Room Tip: All rooms amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've travelled to Zanzibar several times over the years and stayed in different resorts but none has come anywhere near to Michamvi Sunset Bay.

The resort is managed by Brad Cousins who is one of the most accommodating and affable people I have ever encountered in the hospitality business. From the onset Brad (and indeed all of the staff) made our comfort and enjoyment a priority.

Anton arranged trips and excursions (snorkelling, visiting the Colobus monkeys, swimming with dolphins etc.) at the drop of a hat and at very reasonable rates.

The staff were pleasant and efficient at all times (especially Ally the barman!) and the service in general was excellent.

Combining this with the most beautiful sunset display, this is a resort not to be missed if you are holidaying in Zanzibar.

Thank you everyone at Michamvi for making this holiday one of the most pleasent and memorable ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Address: East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel Michamvi
Michamvi Water Sports Hotel
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.