We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

At the Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort one is feeling really at home.
Perfect setting - Great beach - Stunning sunsets - Great snorkling.
Very friendly and helpfull staff - Professional management - Bar and restaurant along the beach with stunning bay views - Delicious food.
Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
82
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had the most incredible week at the Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort. The resort itself is beautiful and is lucky to have a great beach position will a full view of the setting sun and spectacular bay. It is close to great snorkelling sites and we spent our time moving between the turquoise sea to the sparkling pool.

Nights are balmy and relaxed. The resort has a newly built bar next to the beach – perfect for sipping on a cocktail and listening to the gently lapping waves.

The staff are friendly and efficient. They went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed. A special mention and thank you to Brad, the resorts manager who arranged everything we needed and treated us like family.

I cannot say that we have ever had such excellent service while on holiday. Cannot wait for our next holiday there!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms are the best :). All have airconditioning and are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my second visit to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort. This, if possible, was better than the first. The renovations to rooms and amazing bar really set this resort apart. The bar overlooks the amazing coastline, with the most spectacular sunsets over the ocean, night after night. The staff are like family and no request is too much to ask for. The manager Brad, really goes the extra mile to 'make a difference. The people of Zanzibar, coupled by the Island's magical charm make Michamvi a place I shall visit for many years to come!

Room Tip: All rooms amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've travelled to Zanzibar several times over the years and stayed in different resorts but none has come anywhere near to Michamvi Sunset Bay.

The resort is managed by Brad Cousins who is one of the most accommodating and affable people I have ever encountered in the hospitality business. From the onset Brad (and indeed all of the staff) made our comfort and enjoyment a priority.

Anton arranged trips and excursions (snorkelling, visiting the Colobus monkeys, swimming with dolphins etc.) at the drop of a hat and at very reasonable rates.

The staff were pleasant and efficient at all times (especially Ally the barman!) and the service in general was excellent.

Combining this with the most beautiful sunset display, this is a resort not to be missed if you are holidaying in Zanzibar.

Thank you everyone at Michamvi for making this holiday one of the most pleasent and memorable ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My fiancé and I had a wonderful time in Zanzibar because of our stay at the Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel in October 2012. As this was our first trip to Zanzibar, we really didn’t know what to expect there. We were met at the airport and whisked to the hotel. Once there, Brad and Anton met us with drinks and showed us around the amazing property and told us about all of the activities available to us around the island.
The small size of the resort – twenty rooms – and its’ gorgeous location on the beach really made this trip special. All of the rooms have an ocean view and were extremely comfortable. Each day, Brad, Anton, and Simone helped us to plan our excursions or just make sure we had a wonderfully, relaxing day at the resort.
I was worried about the meals each day, as breakfast and dinner were included. My experiences at all-inclusives in North America left a lot to be desired! I was happily surprised how diverse the menus were each day for a picky eater like my fiancé. The food was amazing, and they changed the location of dinner each night so it felt new and special. We especially enjoyed our last night eating on the beach!
The staff made sure every trip we took was unique and tailored specifically to our needs. Our snorkeling trip arranged and led by Anton was the best snorkeling trip we ever had! Even the famed Safari Blue paled in comparison to our trip with our personal guide Anton from the resort!
Our week spent here was unforgettable and we will definitely be going back! We thank all of the staff for their friendly and amazing service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvongo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hospitality and personalized service is what makes Michamvi Sunset Bay stand out from the rest. Being small and intimate I think is its magic, as well as being set in the most beautiful, unspoilt and natural tropical surroundings... from the first step you take from your room onto the private beach!!! Such a huge selection of places to visit and experiences to dive into... go for the boat trips and snorkelling ... every day, guys!… and an absolute must is to "swim with the dolphins"! (thank you Tony). Stone Town nearby, is an enormous wealth of history, spices, trade and culture, well worth a visit! The wonderful thing is, you can choose absolute peace, tranquillity and pure solitude… or join the busy social vibe and party as much as you want to. The warm, friendly and experienced staff really go out of their way to make a stunning holiday come together. The food is excellent (especially the braaied slipper lobster!) and is all so well prepared and presented with exquisite detail. The rooms are great …air conditioned, quiet and private. You will enjoy the friendly locals too. Then, after this amazing and enchanting gap… its back to the real world!
Thank you to Brad, Simone, Tony and all your wonderful staff for an amazing touch with Zanzibar!

Room Tip: All very well placed , but ground floor probably better for us as the rooms are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I can only second the many positive reviews this resort has achieved. After a great, but hot and dusty safari through the southern parks in Tanzania, nothing could be better than a few days relaxing at Michamvi.

The staff was excellent, the service superb and nothing changed when we became two of six people remaining at the Michamvi. Same great, friendly service, same great selection of food, same excellent maintenance of the facilities - even the beach sand was raked each morning.

Is there any way this facility can be moved closer to the west coast of North America!!??

Room Tip: Some people suggest the second floor rooms for their views. We enjoyed the ground floor with easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Address: East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel Michamvi
Michamvi Water Sports Hotel
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.