We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michamvi, the only place to stay in Zanzibar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Uvongo
1 review
“Michamvi, the only place to stay in Zanzibar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hospitality and personalized service is what makes Michamvi Sunset Bay stand out from the rest. Being small and intimate I think is its magic, as well as being set in the most beautiful, unspoilt and natural tropical surroundings... from the first step you take from your room onto the private beach!!! Such a huge selection of places to visit and experiences to dive into... go for the boat trips and snorkelling ... every day, guys!… and an absolute must is to "swim with the dolphins"! (thank you Tony). Stone Town nearby, is an enormous wealth of history, spices, trade and culture, well worth a visit! The wonderful thing is, you can choose absolute peace, tranquillity and pure solitude… or join the busy social vibe and party as much as you want to. The warm, friendly and experienced staff really go out of their way to make a stunning holiday come together. The food is excellent (especially the braaied slipper lobster!) and is all so well prepared and presented with exquisite detail. The rooms are great …air conditioned, quiet and private. You will enjoy the friendly locals too. Then, after this amazing and enchanting gap… its back to the real world!
Thank you to Brad, Simone, Tony and all your wonderful staff for an amazing touch with Zanzibar!

Room Tip: All very well placed , but ground floor probably better for us as the rooms are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
83
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I can only second the many positive reviews this resort has achieved. After a great, but hot and dusty safari through the southern parks in Tanzania, nothing could be better than a few days relaxing at Michamvi.

The staff was excellent, the service superb and nothing changed when we became two of six people remaining at the Michamvi. Same great, friendly service, same great selection of food, same excellent maintenance of the facilities - even the beach sand was raked each morning.

Is there any way this facility can be moved closer to the west coast of North America!!??

Room Tip: Some people suggest the second floor rooms for their views. We enjoyed the ground floor with easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besthesda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent place to visit. This was my second trip to Zanzibar and this resort is so much nicer that the first one I booked last year. The staff is very helpful and always welcoming. The rooms are in excellent conditions. The private beach is great for swimming and jogging around. The internet access is free and quite fast for the island. Menus are enjoyable with a great swahili buffet on Friday night. Highly recommended and we will return for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you want to relax and just enjoy the magical setting around you this is the place to be!
We had the most amazing time and would go back when ever possible! The rooms are beautiful, the food is amazing what more do you need! So if I where you, book your accomodation, the best views are on the top floor, and just sit, chill and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

HI i currently went on holiday to Michamvi Sunset Beach in Zanzibar, i would just like to say what a fantastic time my wife and i had . The staff are so friendly and the food is great, there mind blowing activities for young and old . i would recommend this destination for all who are looking to have a great time , Thank Brad Cousens ( manger) ,Anton a.k.a"Dutchie"( events manger) and to all the Michamvi staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My friend and I travelled to Zanzibar earlier this year at the end of April for a 7 night stay, we were lucky enough to be booked in at Michamvi Sunset Bay, it truly did give us what we were looking for in terms of beautiful surroundings, great value, amazing staff and a break from the hustle and bustle of city life. This was low season at the time and whilst there was rain we also had sunny days where the heat was bearable enough to wonder the island and visit Stone town, these were really hot days so I can only imagine how hot it is in season, the food was amazing and better than a buffet style setup, a set menu with a few choices is so much better than what you normally get at an hotel, we were treated to lobster, fish braai’s and some lovely local entertainment whilst we dined on one of the evenings.

Nothing was ever a problem for the staff and there was always someone close by to attend to any request, the hotel is located on the South East side of Zanzibar and is pleasingly peaceful, it is approx a 45 minute drive from the airport and Stonetown, we did however enjoy this as our days were spent appreciating the beautiful coastline and the city attractions were only a taxi ride away, the location also almost shelters the resort from the winds and the weather was always more favourable on that stretch, long walks along the reefs and coastline were amazing, we also snorkeled thanks to Dutchie having the patience to teach my friend who cannot swim to snorkel, that’s just priceless!! But its this sort of attention and service is that sets Michamvi apart.

The accommodation is well looked after and serviced daily very clean and just what you need for a good nights rest afterall you are on an island you should be outdoors. The hotel also enlists locals to work and used for supplies which is a great initiative and the staff are polite and well trained. We would go back in a heartbeat!! Brad, Simone and Dutchie you guys are legends thanks for making our stay so memorable, all the best, hopefully we will return soon enough!!! Lesley-Anne Stanley & Christine Bekker

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE TOWN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My friend and I visited the resort in the middle of July 2012. We were delayed. Instead of arriving at 10PM at night we arrived at 1AM in the early hours of the morning. The staff could not have been more welcoming at this ungodly hour. Food was laid on for us in our room. There are in total x20 units which can accomodate up to a maximum of x40 persons at one time. There were no more than x23 persons at one time while we were there. The weather was great. Its a picturesque location. Quiet. Peaceful. No Televisions or radios or telephones in the bedrooms. Great for a relaxing holiday! You are close to the swimming pool and the sea. You can switch off completely. As it is an intimate resort, and few in number of persons, the staff together with management mingle with the guests. They get to know exactly what your name is and what your activities are each day. The Resort lays on a Sunset Cruise and Snorkling. On the snorkling expedition an underwater DVD is taken of each individual snorkling amongst the shoals of fish. Unbelieveable! I wish I could go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same. there are x20 units in total. However the units are in the form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Address: East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel Michamvi
Michamvi Water Sports Hotel
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.