We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local country pub with great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Waterloo Road, Felpham, Bognor Regis, England
01243 865308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Felpham
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: The Fox Inn is a traditional English village pub with oak panelled walls covered in historic pictures of village life and a large beautifully kept beer garden. If you're a real ale lover than you won't be disappointed, as there are six real ales on offer and a cask cider. There is also five lagers and over a dozen wines available by the glass, so there should be something to suit everyones! As well as good beer this pub is known for it's food. It serves great traditional pub favourites for between £6 and £12 plus there is a specials board where the chef can show his creative side. If you are looking for a traditional pub that is not a chain or gastro pub then look no further.
New Forest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely local country pub with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The menu and food quality was great. Good range of beers, nice fires and good atmosphere. We had a baked Brie to share, a seafood risotto and port belly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    52
    30
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“traditional friendly pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

warm welcome, vast menu to suit all tastes, good selection of beers
a must visit for anyone who is in the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Really good quality meal and value for money. Friendly atmosphere too. Within walking distance of Hayley's Corner where we stayed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Posh Pub Grub !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had lunch here Thursday, 07/02/2013, & 13.45. We pre-booked a table for 3, plus 2 dogs, to check the dogs were welcom, and we were well received. The staff were friendly & proffesional. The atmosphere was as I hoped, warm & friendly old style pub-like, the only noise was the soft conversation between patrons. The menu was more than ample, unusual and reminded me of a recent trip to Bali, where we had meat still cooking on a griddle pan brought to the table. The food was very good quality and a decent amount for the price. Just be prepared to be patient and wait for the food to cool down a little as it was too hot to eat straight away.The local beer went down a treat, and reasonably priced. We will certainly return again soon, many thanks to our hosts & best wishes for the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pub ok, awful food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited the fox on a sunday lunchtime, not long ago this pub would have been full of diners at this time but not now, we should of taken this as a warning. I ordered tempura vegetables which contained the thinnest strips of tastless veg i have ever had, all i could taste was the grease of the batter. My husband had a chicken burger which was over cooked and very dry in a dry bap, the side of coleslaw had a very strange tang. My 2 young children had egg, peas and chips, the peas were luke warm and the chips very hard, they seemed to be old like they had been cooked twice. To finish on a positive note the ice cream was ok!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxFelpham, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We’re really sorry to hear your meal was not very good and have passed your feedback onto our chefs who have taken it on constructively. With regards to being quiet, now we’re doing food all day at weekends we're finding people are tending to come later for lunch on a Sunday. It is also traditionally quiet during January and February but the bad weather in January did hinder us more than usual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

 
Bognor Regis, West Sussex
Bognor Regis, West Sussex
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.