We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Children's Playground"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Tree

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Crab Tree
Bycjubgham Riad, Shoreham-by-Sea, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Children's Playground"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have eaten three times now at this pub and although the food has always been good, especially on a Wednesday or Thursday when they have their "Special Meal & Drink" deals each time has been spoiled by groups of noisy children running backwards and forwards through the dining area. As this pub has wooden floors you can only imagine the level of noise from these screaming kids, their parents not taking any notice as they sit safely in the comfort of the bar area. Each time we have visited this pub we thought it was a one-off and we were unlucky so we did try again (Twice), however this will be the last time as there are plenty of very good eating places in the area who do not allow this type of behaviour and value their clients more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Children”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Well if you want a lunch where you can have a chat and enjoy your lunch and a drink. This is the last place to go.... Children running round and shouting (Can't blame the Kids it the parents)
There is a play area outside but when it is raining there is only one place to go... that's right where you are eating.

Food ok drink fine but will not be going again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food at very reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had a meal with friends and was surprised at the large and varied menu. I had a burger with coleslaw and chips and the meal was lovely. We didnt have to wait long for the food and there were 8 of us in total. All the food was brought out together piping hot and looked and tasted very appetising. I would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Beers are supremely over priced I mean who can afford a 375p pint?? Food is also grossly expensive with burgers costing more than the average hourly rate in this city. Clientelle are of the funny type dressing in strange items.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very tasty food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yes, the service is slow at the Crab Tree. There appeared to be only one person behind the bar and one in the kitchen, even though the pub was quite busy on this freezing Wednesday evening in January. However, the food was worth the wait. We both ordered steak and kidney pie from the "under £6" menu and it was really excellent, beautifully presented on the plate with a wonderful selection of vegetables including red cabbage and swede and carrot mash. I suppose they make their profit on the drinks: I thought the Fullers London Pride was expensive at £3.60 but it was a very nice pint.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Tree also viewed

Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 

Been to The Crab Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.