We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Programme of Attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ropetackle Arts Centre

Ropetackle Arts Centre
Little High Street, Shoreham-by-Sea BN43 5EG, England
+44 1273 464440
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Galleries, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ropetackle Arts Centre is a purpose built community-run arts venue that attracts some of the biggest and best performing arts events in the UK. Situated in the heart of Shoreham, West Sussex, our goal is to stage events for all tastes and all budgets for the good folk of Adur and beyond.A registered charity, and staffed almost exclusively by volunteers (including our Trustees), Ropetackle Arts Centre is run by and for the local community. Friendly, welcoming, diverse and fun, we guarantee a great night out at a fair price.Our superbly equipped auditorium performance space seats 220, or 350 standing. We have a separate mezzanine space (for small events or meetings), two well-stocked bars, plus a large light and airy foyer which houses our in-house cafe.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Programme of Attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The management have a really interesting programme of a variety of types of events here. Some well known names come here too. The cafe provides food including good coffee and cakes during the day. There is a bar in the foyer and another inside the auditorium. Often has good real ales and prices are reasonable. Popular events are best booked well in advance.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice little arts centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went here on Sunday for the Sunday Breakfast Jazz session which was excellent. The centre is a small venue with the main area set out to tables where you can sit and enjoy coffee and cakes etc for breakfast and listen to great jazz. There is a bar in the main area also so was a nice intimate and comfortable environment.
This centre is run, I believe, by volunteers and was well organised and overall a lovely experience.
There are lots of different acts on here and is well priced!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A great local Arts Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've visited this a few times over the last 2 years but never seen it on TripAdvisor until now. This place has some great acts - comedians, local bands, well-known folk artists, which we've seen and come away with good memories. The Centre used to be financed by the local authority but had its funding suspended during local cutbacks. Local volunteers stepped in and have kept it running - and good for them, they've done a terrific job! Seats are reasonably comfortable in the auditorium with its raised stage so everyone gets to see an uninterrupted view. The aircon is effective too - especially in some recent warm evenings. The 2 bars (one inside the auditorium) are good with a decent range of beers, ciders and wines - and the prices aren't too bad. Friendly staff and a comfortable outside bar area make this a good place to visit and support. I think Roger Daltrey (of The Who) turned up once to support a relative of his, so who knows who'll you meet! Keep a look at thgeir website or get on their emailing list and you'll find a wide variety of entertainment for the whole family throughout the year. Well done Ropetackle!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An excellent venue,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've been to the Ropetackle a few times now. Only on one occasion did I feel let down as I could not see the act at all because the act, not the management, insisted on using the low stage. There was no problem at all in refunding the ticket price and we left. Drinks are very reasonably priced, the bar area is welcoming and spacious.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Makes Shoreham aplace to see great shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have been several times to shows and exhibitions. They have great acts spread accross most tastes. Saw 3 Bonzo's which were not good but Spiers and Boden were simply fantastic as well as great art exhibitions a tasty cafe

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ropetackle Arts Centre also viewed

Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 

Been to Ropetackle Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ropetackle Arts Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.