We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed, will NOT return to THAI ON THE FLY!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thai on the Fly

Thai on the Fly
# 6 2676 Fairway Hills Rd., Blind Bay, British Columbia V1E 2M1, Canada
250 675-5060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Blind Bay
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Family run Thai Restaurant. The best Thai food outside of Thailand. Incredible food, good prices.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed, will NOT return to THAI ON THE FLY!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I decided to try "Thai on the fly" in Blind Bay as we just moved to the area! We love Thai food & eat out quite often. The establishment is under new management & ally should not have opened. From the moment we ordered, the waitress seemed unsure of our orders. We could hear the manager teaching the cook how to make our food! We ordered completely different meals however ended up with two plates of the SAME meal. All the overcooked veggies were swimming in sesame oil, no wonder I ended up with a stomach ache. Horribly run, overpriced restuarant with poor customer service. This is NOT thai food, I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    2
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bonus find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The food and service here are excellent. We go here about once a month just for something awesome that isn't home cooked. Worth the drive for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fit to be Thai-ed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great Thai food by authentic Thai chef. Deceiving location in a modern mall setting... should be in an outdoor stall on a crowded, busy street, loud with bicycles and car horns. This place really pulls it off from Pad Thai to fried ice cream. Nothing like it in the Sorrento (Shuswap not Italy) area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprise find for such a small place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We didn't even know about this place till we spoke to the owner of the Blind Bay Camping Resort, thanks Bonnie.

Myself and my husband, my sister (who's a 'foodie') and her husband were delightfully surprised with this little restaurant. The service was good, the atmosphere was nice and the food was great.

We will definitely go back when we return to the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I gave this place a second try after not being impressed on a first visit and it was no better. I had heard all good reports from friends etc but we had very poorly prepared items. All meat was tough although the sauces were ok. Not planning to go back

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai on the Fly also viewed

Blind Bay, British Columbia
Blind Bay, British Columbia
 
Sorrento, British Columbia

Been to Thai on the Fly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai on the Fly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.