We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of tranquility to nurture a harried soul.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Eagle Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nkhotakota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge
Save
You added Fish Eagle Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Mbalame Village | Sani, Nkhotakota, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Nkhotakota B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility to nurture a harried soul.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

The accommodation is comfortable. The service good and unobtrusive. We were well catered for with excellent food. Vegetables are from their organic garden. Contacts to the bush telegraph enabled us to buy diesel. Cammile is a godsend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Betty's Bay, Western Cape
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed on our way north to Kande Beach & had a lovely time. The lodge has self- catering options or B&B & is very quaint. Camille, Anchen & the staff were very helpful. The rooms were neat & clean right on the lake front, there is no electicity but they do have a generator which goes off at about 10pm with a battery operated light if you need light after 10pm. No electricity means a great view of the stars. Unfortunately the Mwera was blowing so the lake was pretty rough but had the weather been better Fish Eagle has yachts & kayaks etc. for fun in the sun. We booked in again on our way back & had a lovely dinner after taking a beach walk to Nkotakota Pottery for a bit of retail therapy, bought some great gifts at the Pottery without the hectic pressure from the vendors.

Room Tip: All rooms right on the lake. Self catering cottage is great if you are in a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I did a whistle stop tour of the lake and Fish Eagle bay was recommended to me by a friend in Lilongwe. I was not disappointed! It was clean, friendly and rather quaint. If I lived in Malawi I would make it a regular getaway from the city as it is an easy drive from Lilongwe and so peaceful and serene. Thank you to Camille and Stanley

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed here twice on our trip round Malawi and both times found the owner and staff really helpful and friendly. The accomodation is clean and comfortable and the location is outstanding. Stanley the cook produces really good meals and all the staff are welcoming. When we returned on our way back it was like meeting old friends! Thoroughly recommend this place for a quiet stay after the busier southern lakeshore and the rough interior roads of Malawi. We will go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malawi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This would the best place to relax and enjoy the beach or take a swim in crystal clear water.
The staff is friendly and very accommodating.
Order your food from the menu or stay in self catering chalets.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fish Eagle Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Eagle Bay Lodge

Address: Mbalame Village | Sani, Nkhotakota, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Nkhotakota
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nkhotakota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish Eagle Bay is a tranquil lodge situated on the magnificent Lake Malawi in the central region near the historic town of Nkhotakota. Kayak on the lake and experience the friendly people of the warm heart of Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fish Eagle Bay Lodge Malawi/Nkhotakota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Eagle Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.