We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lesser known pyramid site, but well worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tula Toltec Archaeological Ruins

Tula Toltec Archaeological Ruins
Near Tula de Allend, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Attractions in Hidalgo
Type: Ancient Ruins, Architectural Buildings, Cultural
Attraction details
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lesser known pyramid site, but well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Having travelled to seven different Mexican pyramid sites and counting, I'm impressed with the vast differences I've seen between all the sites. One of the most striking features of Tula are the "Atlantes," great statues which were originally erected as pillars to support a roof over the pyramid that no longer exists. The statues are stunning, carved in stone with great detail, and in amazing condition. They stand atop the main pyramid at Tula, which you are able to climb to get an up-close look at the marvelous details. The most interesting feature of the statues is that they are each holding in their hands what appears to be a laser gun. To me, this is evidence of the Toltecs contact with advanced cicilizations/aliens. I'll attach a picture to my review so that you can decide for yourself, or better yet, visit the site yourself. The site was built by the Toltecs, who preceded the Aztec civilization although like the Aztecs, clearly possessed a high degree of skill and knowledge. In addition to the structures on the site, I enjoyed the landscape: a semi arid climate with lots of desert vegetation. The site also contains a small museum with some really fabulous artifacts. Fee for entry was 40 pesos per person (~$3.50 US dollars). Well worth it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
342 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
“Unique but relatively small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I like the way we organized our visit: since Tula is very pretty but kind of small, it was our first step in a journey to Pachuca and Huesca.
Beware for not-so good walkers, it is a long stroll on a dirt-gravelly path, all flat.
Another tip: the vendors you see on your way to the ruins, are by-passed by the return way which is totally stupid - who wants to buy things before and carry them to the ruins?!
They should inverse the way they guide you in and out.
Actually we found sculptures that we had never seen before so we shopped, left our heavy stuff and went back the same way we went in (which is longer than the usual way out).

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Interesting Toltec archeological site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Very interesting to visit Tula and then visit Chichen Itza and see the influence of the Toltec culture there. Really amazing the amount of interaction between the various indigengous groups even ones living far away.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Interesting but too much walking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The "atlantes" in Tula are a great feature of this archeological site, however, too much walking to get there. People in wheel chairs or just old or tired, cannot make it and there is nothing like a golf-cart type transportation available. Also, indication on the roads to get there are contradictory and difficult to follow. Free on Sundays, which is good.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Before the Mayas, before the Aztecs....the Toltecs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

If you are interested in pre-Colombian culture, archaeology or architecture, you really need to head out to Tula, because the Toltecs were the precursors of the more famous Mayans and Aztecs. Many of the architectural elements and artistic details that are found in the later civilizations began with the Toltecs. This is not the most impressive archaeological site in Mexico, but historically it is very important. There is also a small but informative museum that is worth your time.
If you are staying in Mexico City, you can take a bus from the Terminal Central Norte, which is on the yellow line of the metro system. It is about a 2 hour ride. Once you get to Tula, you get a taxi in front of the bus station (or walk---about 25 minutes) to the site.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tula Toltec Archaeological Ruins also viewed

Tula de Allende, Hidalgo
Ixmiquilpan, Hidalgo
 
Santiago de Anaya, Hidalgo
 

Been to Tula Toltec Archaeological Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tula Toltec Archaeological Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.