We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Memories for Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda de Taos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jalisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda de Taos
Save
You added Hacienda de Taos to your Saves list
Los Sauces, 46018, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Jalisco
Chapala, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memories for Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Last fall we had the opportunity to take our God-Daughter from England for a day out riding. It turned out to be so much more. Not only is the ranch/ride wonderful, but Celina is also. We were smiling and laughing all day long. We will be going back again soon-hopefully to stay the night in one of the adorable cabins. DO NOT MISS THIS, as part of your time in this area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Make sure to include Hacienda de Taos in your itinerary while in Mexico! It truly is the perfect ranch experience featuring: horseback-riding and riding lessons, as well as, camping trips and full moon rides. If you wish, cabins are available for overnight stays to extend the adventure! Celina is nothing short of amazing! It is obvious that her horses are well-trained and well-loved. Four of us had not been on horses in over twenty years... Celina gave us thorough instruction to ensure our confidence and safety before leading us out on a two-hour ride. Wonderful!!! Located in the Ajijic area, make the trip around Lake Chapala to Los Sauces part of the perfect experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hacienda de Taos is a great place to ride and learn about horses. It takes me back to my childhood growing up on a farm in Southern Ontario. I'm becoming a regular there. Celina is a gracious host and terrific horseperson and makes every ride special. My family likes to come also and we stay over in the cabins. They are simple but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Thanks Johan and Celina, w ehad a great time with you guys. Hacienda del Taos is great for an overnight trip from Guadalajara, Chapala, and the surrounds. Lovely to arrive to a wofking ranch with people who really care about it. We stayed overnight with our 2 kids, 6 and 4, and they really enjoyed feeding the animals, milking a cow, a great horseride, and even fishing in the resevoir. BBQ for dinner and a few beers hit the spot under the clear starry sky, really cool. Recommed you bring a warm jacket for night, some snacks for lunch or to bide you over until dinner, and leave all your worries at home. Very nice and relaxing for all, highly recommeded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

When I'm at Hacienda de Taos, I leave all cares and worries behind. I enjoy the landscape, the animals, and the overall camaraderie of the facility Especially the extra special attention given to me which makes me feel like more than just a guest. I especially enjoy the trail rides on the well trained horses. It's soooo difficult for me to say hasta luego, as I look forward to my next stay. And you will too.

Room Tip: All rooms are cozy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the ranch. Johann is one of the kindest people we've met, and Celena knows more about horses than anyone on the planet. I have learned more in a couple of days riding with her than I have in months of riding before. The cabanas are really lovely and if you like quiet, you won't be disappointed. There's a new mountainbike trail, too, so bring your bikes. My kids, 11 and 13, loved the rides, and all the animals. Finding eggs in the barn was a high point for them.

Room Tip: There are two cabanas. One has a slightly larger sleeping platform and would be great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Celina and Johan have done an amazing job at transforming an amazing piece of land into a stunning retreat of everyday ranch activities. Celina may just be the best horse trainer in Mexico and her confidence with her horses erases all of your own doubts about your ability to ride simple and challenging trails. The dinner by camp fire forces you to slow down and actually enjoy a simple but delicious meal. You can't miss the Pajaretes in the morning and if you're lucky, you may catch a fish at the lake. Be prepared for hot days and cold nights!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de Taos

Address: Los Sauces, 46018, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Jalisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HACIENDA DE TAOS is an authentic working Guest Ranch located south of Lake Chapala in the state of Jalisco in Central Mexico just over an hours’ drive from the Guadalajara International Airport. We are dedicated to the natural and organic ways of sustainable living and provide our guests an opportunity to commune with nature and enjoy year round activities with our horses, cattle, goats and a multitude of farm animals. Our donkey Cleopatra is always there to welcome you. In addition to our main offering of horseback riding ranging from 2 hour trail rides to week long camping excursions, we also offer horsemanship seminars, riding lessons and group events such as Artists/ Writers retreats, Women’s groups, Yoga, Meditation, and many other types of retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda De Taos Mexico/Jalisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda de Taos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.