We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sacbe Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sacbe Bungalows to your Saves list
Sacbe Bungalows
Uxmal, highway 261, km159, Santa Elena, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Place, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in early January. Annette and Edgar were very helpful. We stayed in the house. It was clean, had a kitchen was very private and had parking.

The grounds themselves are beautiful to walk around and look at as well. The price was good and was well located between Uxmal and Kabah.

2 things I would recommend is a car to get around and to buy your food in a bigger town. The closest real store was in Tical, about a 20 minute drive away from Santa Elena, which has very limited selection and few choices to eat out in.

  • Liked — Very private feeling
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ONTARIO, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

We booked a room online originally for 4 nights, but stayed an extra night as it was a great spot to use as a base to all the Mayan ruins and areas we were traveling too.
Our bungalow was composed of a spacious room with a double bed, couch, night table, storage area for bags, shoes and clothes shelf with hanging rack.
There was also a very clean bathroom area, with hot water for showers, fresh towels and soap.
The weather was warm and we slept with our windows open all the time. There is a screen to keep the bugs out at night -bugs were very minimum. You have to expect some as you are located in a luscious tropical plant/fruit tree jungle, but nothing that you will notice. The birds are plentiful and cheerliy sing their songs.
The hosts Edgar and Annette were very helpful and friendly and speak English, Spanish and French.
If you are out late, remember that the front gate to the bungalows may be closed, but not locked. We suggest you get instructions on the gate procedure if you will be late back.
A nice, comfortable stay.

  • Liked — The quiet peaceful setting, cleanliness of rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merida, yucatan mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

This is a great place to stay and use as a base to visit Uxmal and the ruta Puuc (Labna, Kaba,etc) and Snta. Elena. We stayed one night with the 3 kids on our way to Campeche. The breakfast is good, real coffee and excellent honey for your toast.
The owners are nice folks, they speak English and French as well as Spanish.
We will go back.
Just a note, there are no restaurants in Snta. Elena, you end up eating along the highway at one of the over priced places there.
There is a new bed and brakfast up the road from here that we checked out but this place, while not so fancy is much better.
The gardens are incredable.

  • Liked — the place is clean, the staff wonderful and the prices are very reasonable
  • Disliked — the shower head in my bathroom needed to be fixed. no big deal
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Sacbe Bungalows for two nights in early Jan of 2008. During our stay there was noisy construction of a soccer field across the road. Otherwise, my only regret about staying there is that we were so busy seeing the sites/sights in the area that we did not have enough time to thoroughly enjoy the hotel's simple beauty.

The price was very good and the bungalow was spacious and clean. The owners were quick to respond to my email inquiries and sent excellent maps of the area. They also provide interesting, informative material about the area in each bungalow and will offer advice on what to see in each town, where to get laundry done, where to find Pemex stations, etc.

Breakfast was simple and delicious and served in lovely surroundings. We had the choice of omelet or fruit plate which was served along with toast, coffee, and juice. A previous reviewer was absolutely correct when they noted that the local honey provided at each table is outstanding. Breakfast is the only meal served but it is a short walk to two restaurants: Chac Mool and The Pickled Onion. Chac Mool has far better food but the Pickled Onion has a friendly owner and serves a Greek Salad and hummus which is something I did not expect to find in the Yucatan.

  • Liked — Situated among the trees and birds
  • Disliked — Construction noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2007

Great location and grounds and an easy walk to two restaurants (we stuck with the Pickled Onion, which was great). Nice and quiet with birdsong on sunny mornings.

The owners were really sweet and nice and had an adorable puppy. Excellent value and very charming. We had a great time here!

The breakfast area outdoors but covered is a super place to start the day and PLEASE don't omit the honey with breakfast, even if you think you don't like honey. Some of the best we've ever tasted and one of us was not particularly partial to it before we got there. Yummmmm!

We'd definitely stay here again, what a bargain and what a great place. Easy drive to the Uxmal ruins and to other area ruins as well, so perfect if you want to see it all!

  • Liked — Great location, great value, charming
  • Disliked — Solar power ran out and we got a cold shower the last day
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

We recently spent 11 days in the Yucatan, and of the 6 places we stayed, I liked Sacbe best, despite it's being by far the cheapest. Beautiful setting, lovely rooms, tasty breakfasts served on a beautiful garden terrace... I was blown away most of all, however, by how clean it was--absolutely spotless--as well as by how genuinely friendly and helpful the proprietors were. Three sizes of rooms are available, and if you get the largest (what we had), they're quite roomy.

  • Liked — Spotless & friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

We found that there still are some good deals left in Mexico! Especially if you are not on the coast. Wanting to ride our bikes to the various ruins in the Puuc hills area of the Yucatan, our friend told us about Sacbe Bungalows in Santa Elena Yucatan, and we selected it as our home base. Sacbe is just a short walk south of Santa Elena and is a great find! The rooms are small, but very clean and our rate was $250 pesos/ night($25USD)! The beds had good bedding and were pretty comfortable, each room had its own bathroom & shower. The owner Annette cooks breakfast if you want - it was like $40 pesos. There are restaurants in town within walking distance of Sac be, and the Kahbah Ruins are a 20 minute bike ride down the road. Great birdwatching and stargazing at night . Edgar, Annette's husband has labeled all of the trees and plants and that is extremely interesting too! Also they both speak good English. We have traveled all over Mexico and this little spot is one of our new favorites! If you are looking for economical lodging, especially near Uxmal, Sac be is hard to beat for the money! One thing though, we did have a tough time reaching them for our reservation, their webite is a Mexican one and you have to add mx to the .com.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sacbe Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacbe Bungalows

Address: Uxmal, highway 261, km159, Santa Elena, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annette & Edgar, your hosts, a French and Mexican couple, created the Sacbe hotel in 1991.SACBE is perfect for people who are looking for a quiet and pleasant place in contact with nature at affordable rates. Stay in one of our 8 comfortable and shaded bungalows. Each has a screen door and windows, ceiling fan, private tiled bathroom with 24 hour hot water shower. Each bungalow has a private porch with a table and chairs that overlooks the tropical gardens . We serve breakfasts in a pleasant dining area surrounded by a charming garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sacbe Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacbe Bungalows Santa Elena, Mexico - Yucatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacbe Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.