We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flycatcher and Pickled Onions - a winning combination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal

Save Saved
You added The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal
Corner of Hwy 261 and Calle 20, Santa Elena 97841, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Flycatcher and Pickled Onions - a winning combination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

I think the negative reviews must tell you more about the people writing them than the place itself. I can only agree with the good ones!
We had a lovely stay and found the owners very helpful and interesting.
We opted for air conditioning as it was July but it was rather noisy and perhaps we should have tried using the two fans and through air instead.
The room was bright and beautiful. Breakfast is served in their own house and we had no reason to find fault.
We ate twice at the Pickled Onion and the food was the best!

  • Liked — The cleanliness and light in the room.
  • Disliked — Noisy air conditioning.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
94
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

Stayed in the Nutmeg room, which was very clean. The bathroom was good and the shower had great water pressure and hot water. The air conditioning worked well, but was loud. There was a local wedding down the street Saturday night and there was loud music until 4:00 am. But thankfully, since the a/c was so loud, it drowned out most of the heavy bass thumping so we were able to get some sleep. Sunday and Monday were very quiet. However, you can hear the distant sounds of chickens, pigs, roosters, dogs, etc. early in the morning. Enjoyed fresh fruit, eggs, and bread for breakfast. This is a good location for visiting Uxmal, Edzna, Puuc Route, and others in the vicinity. We ate dinner at the Pickled Onion a few times and the food was very good. We checked out other restaurants in Santa Elena, but they didn't look as clean as the Pickled Onion so we did not eat there. The owner Kristine was helpful with tips on visiting the nearby ruins.

  • Liked — Clean room, AC and hot water
  • Disliked — Saturday night wedding nearby
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

While traveling around the Yucatan with friends we came upon the Flycatcher Inn in quaint Santa Elena. After exploring the beautiful grounds and lovely accomodations we decided to check in since there were openings that night. We were a party of 3 couples that had been traveling for the better part of a week. The Inn was a wonderful place to unwind and have a bit of a Mayan experience. The hostess was most helpfull in suggesting sites to see and a place to eat, The Pickled Onion (fantastic desserts). The village was very interesting to explore and the church a must see. If you are into birding this is a most rewarding area. The Pu'uc sites are fantastic. Regarding the post about the hard beds... I travel extensively in Mexico and hard beds are the norm especially if you travel off the beaten path.

  • Liked — The overall ambience
  • Disliked — nada
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

Was a great base of operations for several days. Very helpful hostess. Would stay there again. One down side was that the AC in the room didn't get cool enough for me on the one really hot day.

  • Liked — Location and fresh mangos for breakfast (and eggs too)
  • Disliked — Lack of AC power.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raerae12, owner at The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal, responded to this review, August 5, 2007
We were made aware of the AC problem in this room by another guest, and found that the gas used in the unit had a leak, so the unit functioned but did not cool properly. It has been fixed, and we thank people for notifying us. Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

PROS: easy to find & convenient location between Mayan ruins, spotless room, lush grounds, fair value for $

CONS: we were surprised (& dismayed) to find the owners very aloof and basically disinterested in us, the bed was the hardest that we've ever encountered, close proximity to the highway and village can make it noisy

Would we stay here again? Possibly, but would check out other alternatives first. Also, had 3 wonderful meals at the nearby Pickled Onion restaurant - it was almost like having our own personal chef - so be sure to go here.

  • Liked — large shower
  • Disliked — very hard bed
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raerae12, owner at The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal, responded to this review, August 5, 2007
We are currently waiting for our shipment of new "pillow top" mattresses to arrive, which will be in all the Nutmeg Guest House rooms. These mattresses were not readily available when we first opened, but are now.

Most of the time the village is quite calm and peaceful, but it is a native village, and they have their own various ways of celebrating events and happenings.

During some monthes of the year, highway traffic increases for a short time due to the field harvests of corn, which is taken from Bolonchen area to Merida, sometimes passing through the village at night. otherwise the traffic is almost nil.

We found that one of the AC units had become ajar in it's holder and created an unpleasant vibration. We have corrected that situation, and we thank people for telling us about the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

We visited the Flycatcher on our trip through the Yucatan over Christmas after staying at the Cascadas de Merida. It was hard to accept the heavy pricetag on this place considering the state of the rooms, the LOUD music that played all night, the lack of air conditioning, and the TERRIBLE service. The hostess was downright rude and she recommended a restaurant (the Pickled Onion down the street) that made us sick for 6 weeks and ruined part of our trip. When we told her we got sick from the food she didn't believe us and continued to recommend the restaurant. Uxmal is well worth a visit but I would stay somewhere else- even the great location don't make it worth it. Avoid it if you can.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

While I agree with others who have provided reviews of this B&B. I must admit I found the owner, who claims to have lived in the Santa Elena area for the past 15 years, lacks any useful knowledge of the area. She had no idea of where laundry could be done in the area! I've been to Mexico countless times and cannot think of a place I have stayed where there was not a small laundry service. Anyway, my wife and I located a small family run "Lavenderia" not more that 20 minutes from the B&B. It had been there for years - funny the owner of Flycatcher was not aware. Next, we were given very bad advise about the cenotes in Cuzama. The owner stated don't waste your time and go to the third cenote along the trail. Turns out the third cenote was the most spectcular of the three. I'm just glad I did not heed the owners advice as I would not have wanted to miss it. Finally, when we asked about other hotels in the area, we were told, no other hotels existed worth staying in. Again, the owner was wrong, as we found two excellent hotels in nearby Ticul. I believe the Flycatcher B&B may be in some sort of financial difficulties, as time and again I heard the owner tell others that they were fully booked up and if they did not reserve for additional nights they would not find anywhere else to stay. I found this odd, as we stayed three nights and were practically the only ones there. In addition we found lots of other places to stay nearby which were just as good as the flycatcher and quite a bit cheaper and with a lot more practical advice on what was available in the area.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean
  • Disliked — attitude of owner - unhelpful & lacked any local knowledge
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal

Address: Corner of Hwy 261 and Calle 20, Santa Elena 97841, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated bed and breakfast boutique hotel, 10 minutes southeast of magnificent Uxmal, a perfect base for exploring central Yucatan. Family/owner operated, guests treated with personal attention, situated on 3 acres of gardens and orchards, walled secure parking. 5 separate rooms and 1 large suite and 2 private cottages, all with their own private entrances and private bathrooms complete this lovely boutique hotel. Immaculately clean and modern rooms decorated with authentic Mexican and Mayan arts and hand made wrought iron furnishings. Pillow-top beds and fine bedding. Complimentary full breakfast of tropical fruits, great coffee, and homemade breads start your day. Extensive expert local knowledge tourist information available. Transportation and Merida airport pick up on request. Plan 3 days minimum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal Santa Elena, Mexico - Yucatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.