We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodations and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant to your Saves list
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
Carretera 261 Uxmal a Kabah | Uxmal, Santa Elena 98760, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Meal Plan
Ranked #2 of 2 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Bunnell, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Accommodations and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

There were six of us in my family from Florida.We all stayed together in the round hut comfortably.The hut was immaculate,beds comfortable,hot shower,fcold fridge and plenty of towels.We enjoyed the darkness at night ,and the morning village sounds.
The grounds were lovely I especially liked the white painted rock pathways.The pool was crystal clear and my grandchildren found it refreshing.
We were very hungry and the restaurant menu had a little of everything to choose from.We all ordered something different including desert.The portions were huge,delicious ,hot and served promptly .Service was excellent !!! Our FREE breakfast of FRESH fruit was amazing !!!

The bar was a Surprize I drank Sangria and mixed together So refreshing !!!
Valerie greeted us when we arrived also at dinner and breakfast.Her life story was so interesting i wanted to stay there with her for a few more days to hear more and walk in her shoes throughout a day.
We will Definetly return ...

Room Tip: Just pick one that fits your party's size ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your responce wow it was great! Also it was great having you here
Marllyn you can walk in my shoes anytime and maybe we can swop shoes .It would be fun
Again thank you
saludos de santa Elena
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    29
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
60
128
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the pickled onion for two nights, and we are sorry we couldn't stay longer. Our two girls didn't want to leave at all. The room was a lovely individual mayastyle house, with a modern shower. The place is colorful and the garden is beautiful. Valerie is a great host, never shy of a chat or lending a helping hand. We ate here lunch and dinner, just because it's delicious. It is very nice to dive in the pool to cool off after visiting the Uxmal ruins. If we are able to go to Mexico again we will return to The pickled onion, for sure. Thanks Valerie for your warm welcome! All the best from France.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Positives:
Clean, well-maintained bungalows with many amenities. In-room refrigerator and coffee pot (plus fixings!), electric hot-water, mosquito net above the bed and screened windows. Well-lit rooms with a good ceiling fan. Many comforts, ALL WORKING. Beautiful, well-maintained, landscaped grounds and the best, cleanest swimming pool I've seen in all of Mexico so far.
Very nice restaurant with good, affordable food and a large menu. Valerie is a great cook and hostess and goes above and beyond to make your stay an enjoyable one. Prices are very reasonable and a great value. Very friendly auxiliary staff. My wife and I plan to stay again at the first possible opportunity.

Negatives: none.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickMerida, Owner at The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments I really do appreciate your imput. I am so happy that you enjoyed this place and of course you are always welcomed back. Our latest addition is now up and running.... the bar.... the barman Ernesto comes with 10 yrs experience and is a whizz at making cocktails and the internet connection has been upgraded and also working like a whizz!!
Wherever you travel I hope you have many special memories and wonderful experiences.
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Dind´t sleep here as we had prebooked Hacienda Uxmal but had lunch after we did the ruins. Would definatley choose this for the next time. Lovey service, good food and somehow a warm feeling (not so much the case at Hacienda Uxmal).

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay in Valerie's new luxury cabana and it was top notch. Immaculately kept and done out really nicely, it was by far the nicest place we stayed in our 3 weeks in mexico. The food was very good too, Valerie is a great host and the swimming pool just topped it all off after sweaty days at the ruins. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the new luxury cabana is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progreso, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Valerie, a lovely British-Canadian has made Santa Elena her home. She built this lovely oasis from the ground up, starting with the restaurant and then gradually adding her bungalows. She uses local ingredients to prepare regional foods. The meals are delicious and well presented. She and her staff are friendly and efficient. The bungalows are spotlessly clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a FANTASTIC choice whether you are making a pit-stop from Routa-Puuc or spending a romantic getaway for Valentine's Day!! The palapas are cute & finely decorated with a comfortable feel! The food is scrumptious & Valerie is a wonderful host who took the time to sit with us and just talk about life and how sometimes we just need to leave the past behind and embark on the future. You got a one of a kind place and you inspire me....Thanks Valerie!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant

Address: Carretera 261 Uxmal a Kabah | Uxmal, Santa Elena 98760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Eco-Boutique Bed and Breakfast located close to Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil and Labnah. Quaint Maya style rooms, complete with private entrance, bathrooms, refrigerator ,coffe maker bottled water,toiletries, safety boxes, Wi Fi in all rooms ,clean, comfortable and secure, set in peaceful surroundings. Rooms are adorned with my own paintings. Beautiful gardens with labyrinth. Area for Yoga, Tai chi etc. Mini Spa.Swimming pool Excellent restaurant where you can taste some of the Yucatan cuisine. Located close to the village where you can experience Maya life as it really is.The bar awaits you for the best cocktails/margaritas in the area, as well as wine and beer.You have the luxury of Wi fi in all areas including your rooms .An artisan shop where you can buy items including locally made hammocks and snack shop if you want a small snack in-between meals. All the staff are local people from Santa Elena and all structures were build by local people too, including wood work, iron work etc I maybe a foreign owner but how good that work has been created for the local people who would otherwise not have an income. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant Santa Elena, Mexico - Yucatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.