We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masseria San Domenico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Masseria San Domenico to your Saves list
Masseria San Domenico
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Strada Litoranea 379 | Savelletri di Fasano, 72015 Savelletri, Fasano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Savelletri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved San Domenico. We had a Garden Suite, which was lovely, and had dinner 1 night in the hotel--first rate. we liked the hotel so much that we spent a day relaxing there, instead of the planned touring. It is certainly expensive, but we thought we got good value for our money, and we were there at a time when it was too cool to swim--the pool is said to be the largest in Italy. The gym is also excellent, unlike the facilities in some other 5 star hotels. If you can afford it, we would encourage you to consider it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    24
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
15
78
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Surrounded by olive trees, pomegranate trees, vines, wild rosemary and thyme, the masseria is simply wonderful. Our room (upgraded to suite upon arrival) was very spacious, two bathrooms and a nice balcony overlooking the pool. The grounds are impeccably kept. The pool area is gorgeous and so is the SPA which we had the chance to enjoy during our staying. The service is discrete but top level and very attentive and helpful, including the shuttle service to the private beach area. Breakfast was rich and excellent. The bar tender was super-friendly and offered us flights of "passiti" - a real treat. Perhaps the restaurant doesn't live up to the rest of the place. Being such a high-end place one would have expected dishes that re-interpreted local food while staying truth the flavor profile. Great wine list with many local wines and other great Italian and French wines. Price is to be expected for such luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

One of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in, on par with Sirenuse, cirri anti, etc. The grounds are magnificent, and the pool area in particular was simply stunning. It is a seawater pool which adds to the charm and experience with adjacent hot tub. The food we had was certainly not the best of our two week trip, but it was still quite good and is served in a wonderful setting with terrific service. The same is true with breakfast as well as dinners. Golf course is forgettable itself, but the experience of playing was charming. Staff is brilliant at every turn, anxious to accommodate. Overall really wonderful and memorable. If you visit, go for dinner at mazza or coccaro nearby, also terrific.

Room Tip: The recently refurbished masseria deluxe suites are fantastic with two full baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked a golf package at the Masseria for three nights/two rounds for two, which was good value even before we were kindly upgraded to a junior suite upon arrival. We had a super trip and San Domenico management gets a lot of the credit. Thank you.

I have rarely encountered such helpful, courteous, and professional staff anywhere, they made our stay a real pleasure. The other major impression was how spacious and peaceful the property was, and I am not just talking of the pool area which was impressive.

You could lose yourself in the large grounds, even before leaving the property on mini-trips by bike (you can take a buggy or shuttle if you prefer) to the hotel's private seafront unit and of course the golf. The room was very quiet. Our stay coincided with a largish group of "senior cyclists" who seemed to need to party hard after a hard day pedalling, but they were mostly kept at a decent distance, one or two terraces away from us ordinary mortals- the Masseria is big enough, and has a low enough room density, that things like that work out when they could be a pain in other properties

The golf course was very pleasant (not a really tough course, but then we were not feeling that competitive!), with great views all around and a very informal atmosphere, the barest minimum of etiquette. We were never rushed and hardly ever held up. I would definitely recommend it to medium to high handicappers.

The San Domenico Mare seafront annex with its charming fish restaurant was an unexpected gem. I wish we had known about it earlier and maybe switched one of our evening meals to it, but the sea was still warm enough and a great wind-down after golf. Again, super-helpful staff.

It has some "grown up Club Med" advantages, like no need for money, charge everything to your room at three different locations, which added to the feeling one was a VIP..

So it seems churlish to criticise anything after such a great getaway, but a couple of things could of course still improve. They both concern the food service, in different ways.

The evening meals (part of our package) at the Masseria were very elaborate, probably too much so, both in the number of courses and in the number of ingredients for many dishes. The extremely helpful and charming Maitre D' told us on the third night, when our eyes glazed over at one particularly Gothic pasta dish description that he could see we were not up to, that if we wanted we could also order something simpler off-menu, and we both did, to excellent effect. I wish I had known that earlier!

The second food quirk is that the breakfast, though served on a lovely terrace and well presented, was actually of at best middling quality, particularly in terms of fruit variety in a region that has much to offer, also lame cereal choices (no muesli etc). We have stayed in several hotels in Puglia and this was nowhere near the top in this parrticular respect. As others have remarked, it is also ridiculous in a hotel of this level to present guests with a printed menu offering fruit salad or cooked eggs (and some other pretty ordinary thing I now forget) as an optional extra for several euros more. San Domenico, please just be big enough to lose such trifling items in the overall price, it will cost you much more in goodwill to annoy the odd guest.. (We got over it in the general euphoria, others will not).

My wife was pleased by her spa treatment, but puzzled by the restriction of the use of the indoor heated pool only to those clients who have at least 4 treatments. That seems churlish, especially as that pool was empty-but it would deter us from coming a week or two hence, or early in thge season, when the outdoor pool was too cold.

Other than that, and we are clutching at straws here, I cannot really fault the place. It was great, and we intend to be back. Oh, it did help that the end-September weather was brilliant, but we will take our chances again!

Room Tip: Not worth bothering-all the rooms we could see were well-placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at one of the seaside rooms of this wonderful Masseria near the town of Salvalettri for five nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel has artificial grass tennis courts so I was able to take a couple of lessons with their tennis pro, which were quite fun and challenging given the heat of August. Their pool is larger than usual and quite pretty and has a poolside bar and their gym is comfortable and helpful to keep in shape. The staff were great and very helpful although we did have an issue with one staff member who advised us that it was necessary to first book a spa treatment before we could enjoy the spa facilities, a policy I felt was inappropriate. The staff were also kind enough to have provided us with some of their wonderfully home grown grapes upon our departure, which was a real and very much appreciated treat.

I suppose that the only downside that I’d mention is that the seaside room was very much over-priced at 500 Euros per night, but I suppose when you book at the last minute in Italy at the height of the Italian tourist season in August one can’t really complain too much.

The buffet breakfasts served at the main part of the Masseria are really quite wonderful, although I do think it’s silly to ask such high prices for the room and then have the nerve to ask for an extra six Euros if you want to have eggs with your breakfast. Certainly eggs should be included in the breakfast given the price charged fro the rooms.

The property is very nice to explore as well given that they grow their own grapes, figs and other items grown on site.

If you found this review helpful then please click the relevant link. Thank you and happy travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The ultimate place near Bari for a beach vacation - the private beach 5 min drive away by hotel shuttle or a bicycle. The hotel territory is huge, green and very well-kept, the hotel restaurant is very decent also.

Please do not forget to take swimming goggles with you - the hotel pool is much more than 50 meters long and up to 4 meters deep. 2 out of 3 Unesco cultural heritage sites in the region are also in 30' drive away. On the negative side are high rates and very basic breakfast (extras are for extra).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently had the pleasure of staying at San Domenico for four nights. It was truly one of the most beautiful places we have seen. The grounds and gardens are exiquisite and sitting down to dinner under an awning by the pool, with candlelight and music was enchanting. The food, service and ambience were outstanding. The pool was so inviting that we stayed there all day until 7 pm on our first day, without moving! The rooms were beautiful and we had a private garden area which was nice to relax before dinner. The whole experience was incredible and we did not want to leave! We would recommend this resort to anyone and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masseria San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria San Domenico

Address: Strada Litoranea 379 | Savelletri di Fasano, 72015 Savelletri, Fasano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Fasano > Savelletri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Savelletri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Masseria San Domenico 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Masseria San Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria San Domenico Hotel Brindisi
Masseria San Domenico Brindisi
Masseria San Domenico Italy/Savelletri, Puglia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masseria San Domenico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.