We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna di Umberto

La Taverna di Umberto
Via Ticino, 2, Savelletri, Fasano, Italy
0804829105
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 restaurants in Savelletri
Cuisines: Chowder
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Do you love fresh fish? That's the place. Honest prices, very good quality and taste. I'll come back for sure. Few tables, remember to book your table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    34
    37
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you like seafood this is the place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Crowded with limited seating - even with reservations we almost didn't get seated. Understaffed and a bit slow, but the food was excellent. Pasta was ok, but seafood was highlight. Neighboring table saw me admiring their baby sea urchins and brought me over one to try - locals in the area were the nicest and most helpful folks I met in Italy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Food out of this world. My kids learnt to like shell food and fresh sea carpaccios! Eating outside is best in summer of course, but the ambiance inside is also very cosy. Shame for the long waits... but -hey - at least they are worth it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ordinary taverna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We have had lunch there. Taverna was full. Staff wasn't really friendly. Seems to be they were tired. Snack were not tasty. Pasta wasn't bad.
Anyway taverna isn't expensive and worth its prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had antipasti misti for two people, pasta and fish as secondo. The quality of the food was okay. I have had so much delicious food in Puglia that I became quite spoilt. La Taverna di Umberto was okay but not outstanding.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di Umberto also viewed

 
Savelletri, Fasano
Savelletri, Fasano
 

Been to La Taverna di Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna di Umberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.