We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive medieval style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Dei Mai Intees

Save Saved
You added Locanda Dei Mai Intees to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Dei Mai Intees
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Grappa 22, 21022 Azzate, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Azzate
Iver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Impressive medieval style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

An impressive hotel in the middle of this small town. It is a medieval style and different to all the other hotels.

We were welcomed by a small, cute dog wagging his tale. It is run by a family so feels extremely intimate. This is a 4 star hotel, but don't expect the same experience that you would get at a big hotel chain. It was a shame that it was quiet when we stayed but we were out of season.

The dinner was a highlight of the stay serving food of an extremely high quality in a fantastic setting.

We would recommend this hotel if you like your hotels with character and fine dining.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
29
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

We just came back from spending a night here. We previously read and laughed about the complaints about the cat and dog. Which 15th century house doesnt have a dog or cat? I'm not especially an animal lover but they simply stay near the fireplace where we spend most of the afternoon reading. Obviously they dont stay in the dinner or breakfast rooms and they dont bother anybody at all. I thought first that the cat was a statue because it / he / she didnt move for hours.

Regarding the presumed lack of light: these kind of houses have a different lightning than an airport. Its cosy and has perfect spots for reading.

Dinner was great. Nice improvisation for our small children. We loved our 4 courses. Pricing is in line with these type of elaborated dinners in these type of hotels. A pizza or pasta is clearly cheaper.

On the comments on breakfast: the croissants were one of the best we tasted ever. Coffee and juices are good. We werent able to finish everything.

The rooms are perfect. We shared the Junior Suite with our 2 children. They stayed below and we stayed up the stairs with a separate tv. The hotel also has free Wifi all over.

A suggestion for runners or bikers: do bring your gear because the house is very near the lake which has a 28 km path rounding it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Cliff, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Having looked for a hotel and restaurant near the Malpensa Airport, we came across this charming hotel. The upper village was appealing, but most importantly the hotel is owned by a warm family who have owned it for decades, they were very accommodating. The atmosphere was perfect for those who want to feel the old world ambiance of a hotel and restaurant. The food at the restaurant was superb, it rivaled any meal we had in our 8 day stay along Lake Como. We would highly recommend this hotel. An added bonus was the location made the morning drive to the airport low stress!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at a wonderful inn about 12 miles from Malpensa airport that we just loved. The rooms were absolutely lovely and charming. The restaurant was better than the Villa D'Este which we had eaten at a couple of nights earlier. I highly recommend staying here especially if you have a morning flight out of Malpensa. Sure beats a Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Despite mixed reviews on this site we thought we would take a risk and book a night here en route from Lake Como to Lake Maggiore as the hotel website made it look promising. First impressions of the building were good but unfortunately it all went rapidly downhill from there. We received a very lukewarm welcome from reception which consisted of ushering us to our room as quickly as possible without any attempt at conversation.

We had read about the smelly dog and indeed can confirm that he is still in residence and wandering about freely with the cat.

The hotel is reasonably clean but dark and dingy. With all this in mind we decided not to risk dinner at the hotel and instead chose to venture into Azzate where we found the only jewel of our stay - Hosteria da Bruno - delicious authentic food at a reasonable price with excellent service - highly recommended!

The worst however awaited us in the morning - breakfast. No choice at all. The waitress simply arrived with a small plate of cold toasted slices of the previous night`s stale, hard leftover baguette with jam and butter. Ten minutes later a few small biscuits (also stale) arrived. Clearly the hotel`s strategy is to spend next to no money on breakfast for their guests. We were not impressed!

All things considered, our overall advice would be to give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

discovered this hotel by chance. Wanted to be near the lake Maggiore. Discovered a charming and cozy hotel with excellent cuisine, frescoes, and extremely comfortable rooms. Even free wifi. Just a short distance from Lake Como

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We chose this hotel for its relative proximity to Malpensa Airport, as it is under 30 minutes drive if you don't get lost. The hotel is built into the shell of a very old building, the original home in the town of Azzate. Nobody knows the year it was built, but the present family has lived there for five generations. Modern windows fill the old arches and keep out the heat or chill depending on the season. There is a large gravel area inside the old walls around the property for parking (free), and a patio out back for use in the summer. The village outside these walls is inviting for strolling around the Medieval town. Or you can walk down toward the lake past fields and farms.
The original rooms had very high ceilings, and the current owners have made split level rooms to use this height to good advantage. You get a living room below, a very clean and modern bathroom at the mezzanine, and the bedroom is the loft. The mattresses are firm and bed very comfortable. The stairs connecting the levels have handrails but an unsteady walker might have to take it slow and hold on. There is an elevator between floors.
The cooking is excellent, you will love the dinner offerings, served by the gracious host, and the breakfast is served by a cheerful waitress as well. To address an unjust gripe in another posting, yes the family has two sweet dogs ( I wouldn't call them a pack) that you might encounter. Americans are often surprised to find dogs in places in Europe where they might not be seen at home, so this is hardly unusual. I think it adds to the feeling that you are guests of the owner.
The hotel is listed in several guidebooks as charming, unique, all of which are quite true. Some of those books have mostly five star type properties. Locanda Dei Mai Intees is a four star hotel, not five star. With that expectation in mind, you will be entirely satisfied, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Locanda Dei Mai Intees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Dei Mai Intees

Address: Via Monte Grappa 22, 21022 Azzate, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Azzate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Azzate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Dei Mai Intees 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Lake Maggiore, in the Medieval town of Azzate , the Hotel Locanda dei Mai Intees, formerly a 15th century private villa, is an exquisite and charming hideaway hotel. Beautifully restored with its combination of frescoes, antiques yet modern technology the Locanda boast 12 individually designed rooms and suites. A member of chef Alain Ducasse’s "Chateaux and Hotels Collection" , the hotel has a fine culture of cuisine in the Mai Intees Restaurant which serves regional dishes accompanied with a selection of super wines. Locanda dei Mai Intees is ideally situated with easy access to Lake Como, Milan, Lugano and nearby Milano Malpensa International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Locanda Dei Mai Intees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Dei Mai Intees Varese
Locanda Dei Mai Intees Italy/Azzate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Dei Mai Intees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.