We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back of Beyond - Kahandamodara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Back of Beyond - Kahandamodara to your Saves list
Back of Beyond - Kahandamodara
Warnakulasuriya Mawatha, Galagagoda | Kahandamodara, Ranna, Kahandamodara 001, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Truly Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Having been to other Back of Beyond locations at Pidurangala and Dehigaha-ela, Kahandamodara was next on our list. We were warmly welcomed to this lovely hideaway by the friendly staff - Nimal and team. We had a truly wonderful time at this place, the food was really great with chef Nimal whipping up all kinds of scrumptious village style food....the seafood barbecue we had for dinner was also really nice with the biggest lagoon prawns ever :).
It was our son's birthday and we were delightfully surprised when we were presented with traditional Sri Lankan sweetmeats and a birthday cake. Our little one also had a great time exploring the surrounding wilderness, playing in the sand pit and also checking out the animals that are reared on the mini-farm. There are also lots of other activities such as kayaking, boating, night fishing etc that are very enjoyable. The adjacent beach was clean and really lovely and we were able to witness the drawing of the nets in the morning. There are also several archaeological and historical places of interest in the area. All in all it was a wonderful holiday for our family and we are really looking forward to going back again in the near future!!

Room Tip: Choose the one with the plunge pool, lovely to cool off after all the outdoor activity!! Plus the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galle, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice Place Near Ranna.

10 mIn travel distance to Kalametiya Bird Sanctuary.
Exellent for Bird Lovers.
< 500 m distance to beach.

Lagoon Boat Rides Also available.
Excellent Meals.

eco friendly cottages. in our cottage can accommodate 2 -3 families.

for more details visit http://www.backofbeyond.lk

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband (German) and I had had enough of CMB and family delights and just wanted to speed away on the expressway to a secluded beach and that's exactly what we did. Backofbeyond has a great formula and it works for us: 2 kids who need to get to grips with slow vacation pace, nature in their face, cosy cottage just big enough for us four gave us time to talk to each other and unwind. Best of all Nelson and his 2 comrades made sure that our every need was met in style without hanging around and crowding our style. The beach nearby is deserted and if you wanna dive into the sea walk up to the right or just go to Tangalle bay. We loved our local veg and greens and the company of Sandy the dog. Great stuff! We stayed at Pidurangala too and this concept works for us!

Room Tip: Bring an inflatable pool for kids and good binos - nature abounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Back of Beyond has just opened a new place on the beach at Kalamtiya about 1.7 miles down from Kahandamodara. It is simple, but more than adequate, clean, well tended, lovely location. The house, with two bedrooms and a bed in the living area, sleeps five easily. Food was terrific, all the string hoppers and curry we could eat. They even gave us a special free breakfast on New Year's morning, complete with string hoppers decorated with multi-colors. We spent much time in chairs under the palm trees looking at the ocean or walking along a beach that goes forever. One of our favorite activities was taking a boat to go bird watching in the lagoon. The trip, arranged through Turtle Bay, Tagalle, the hotel next door, was guided by Gayan, who did a fine job of showing us through the water hyancinth and islands at sunset. His number is +94 777 060 920 or +94 71 41 43 527. Give him a call. It was a wonderful evening. This is a fine place to relax, read, walk on the beach, eat well and plentifully, admire the birdlife.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Kahandamodara consists of three separate villas - one sleeps 9, the other sleeps four and the third sleeps two. We went with a party of 11 and booked the large and medium villas which while being close to one another wouldn't have interfered with our holiday if it had been booked by complete strangers. The villa that sleeps four has the best but the large villa had a comfortable but rustic sitting area which is perfect for gathering at any time of day to chat, chill or reflect.
The food is excellent. The eastern meals we had were sumptious, varied, from much of the land, and tasty.
I had three senior citizens with me and the large villa was perfect for them, as it didnt involve many steps and was close to the dining room. it is definitely a place i would visit often.
It is located for a day trip to many places of interest - Hambantota, Kataragama, Ussangoda, Bundala and is a ten minute bike ride to the sea.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Back of Beyond Kahandamodara, hidden away in a tranquil village off Tangalle is an amazing place to relax and unwind. It is my "go to" place to treat friends and family with an outing. The place is not the easiest holiday place to get to due to the distance from Colombo (takes 3-4 hours if you go down Southern Expressway), and the access road is narrow pot holed. But certainly, that is part of the rustic appeal in this place for me.

As soon as you get there, couple of things strike you... First it feels very cut-off... As much as there are many place like Kalamatiya Nature Reserve, Ussangoda planes, Kataragama etc can be visited from here, travelling about is not very compelling. This is also due to the other things that strike you. The main bungalow, cottage and the new villas are spread across vast areas of trees and shrub and (paradoxically neat) lawns. It is an absolute treat to sit out and absorb the views, the sounds of the birds, observe various other forms of wildlife like peacocks etc. Of course, a cold beer would enhance the experience. There is plenty of space to for kids (and adults alike) to run around and play. There are also some monkey ropes somewhere in the garden where kids can literally hang around and play.

Then there is the food! The Nelson and the staff dish out phenomenally delicious food meal after meal. They will not hesitate to make any specific item you would fancy, but their menu by itself is simply awesome. Fresh fruit and vegetables produced in the premises add to the delight of the food experience. Barbecue outdoors in the night is an event not to be missed. Quite apart from the taste, the entire experience of seeing the preparation and ambience in the barbecue area is part of the fun.

The rooms are very earthly with a very eco theme. The rooms, beds and other facilities are meticulously clean. There is no air-conditioning by design, but the rooms are airy and comfortable, even during the hotter months of the year. The open air wash rooms are a real treat, which some visitors may need a little getting used to!

A must do at Kahandamodara is a trip to the beach down the Uruboku Oya (river) on the pontoon available there. It provides you with amazing opportunities to appreciate the beautiful flora and fauna of the Kahandamodara mangrove. The 15-20 minute ride down the meandering Uruboku Oya takes you to the estuary where you are greeted by a pristine beach. If you are adventurous (and fit!), a Kayak ride takes your engagement with the environment to an entirely different level. There is hardly anyone there other than a few friendly local fisher folk, and it almost feels like a private beach!.

If all these fail to knock you off your feet, the service by the team sure will. From the moment you arrive at the location, the team makes you feel very special, which sometimes wonder if you are the only guests they ever had! They are extremely polite and are flat out to spoil you. They will never hesitate to help you out, advise or make you comfortable in every way.

This is a very unique hide out for those who love nature.

Don't go there if you are:
-looking for comforts like air conditioning, or entertainment like TV, DVD etc.
-scared of occasional creepy crawlies - given it's location and design, it is not unusual to have uninvited guests like insects and frogs sharing your space!
- watching your weight - The food is amazing... You WILL over indulge!

I have been there four times with friends and family and certainly and will go there again. I love this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Back of the Beyond - Kahandamodara is off the beaten path, but that is a large part of its appeal. It is situated roughly half-way between Matara and Hambantota. We were led to it while searching for accommodation near Hambantota and the Yala National Park. We ended up not going to Yala and its crowds, and enjoyed the more peaceful offerings of Back of Beyond - Kahandamodara. We were the only guests there during our stay and we were treated royally by the staff. As we had no private transportation and there are no nearby restaurants, we opted for the full board option. And we were very glad we did. After our first lunch, we left the choice of our menu to the staff. The meals were terrific: simple but fresh and featuring mostly local fare such as fresh fish and seafood. My particular favourite was the buffalo curd made fresh each day from milk provided by the very local buffalo herd. Topped with a little local coconut or pineapple honey, it was a taste delight. I am an avid birder and spent a morning on a guided tour, arranged by the Back of Beyond staff, in a person-powered two-hulled kayak of the nearby Kalametiya Bird Sanctuary, where there were many wonderful birds and only my boat and a few small fishing boats. A beach is in walking distance, good for bird-watching, beach combing and watching the local fishermen at work. It was a bit rough for swimming, although a short walk up the beach led to a quieter cove, where clothing appeared optional. We stayed in the cabana, a simple but fully-equipped architecturally interesting thatched-roof structure. We met Yohan, the owner, whose gave us a history of the design and construction of the facility and whose sincere desire to offer a different guest house experience was clear from the outset. In summary, Back of Beyond - Kahandamodara is an excellent choice for a couple or small family looking for great food and peaceful surroundings, save for the strident calls of the stunning neighbourhood peacocks. One caveat. There is no air-conditioning, our room being cooled by the open eaves and a fan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Back of Beyond - Kahandamodara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back of Beyond - Kahandamodara

Address: Warnakulasuriya Mawatha, Galagagoda | Kahandamodara, Ranna, Kahandamodara 001, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Kahandamodara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kahandamodara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the South Coast of Sri Lanka, 15 minutes from Tangalle and a 10 - minute walk from the beach, Back of Beyond Kahandamodara (Monera thenna) is named after the flock of peacocks that strut across this land. This 10-acre property lies on the eastern back of a river that flows out to the sea around 500 m from the property. The lodge consists of a 3 bedroom bungalow, 2 bedroom villa and a single bedroom cottage. These units can be booked independently or together for large groups. This retreat has been built mostly out of locally available materials including large mud bricks, bamboo, thatch for roofs etc. In keeping with our environmental policy and energy minimization, no AC nor swimming pools are available. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms with hot water showers. The rooms have either king-size double beds or twin beds. All rooms have ceiling fans and mosquito nets. Due to the thick clay brick walls, high ceilings and maximization of natural ventilation and tree cover, the buildings are very cool and airy. Most toilets have an open to air area (all are enclosed) to enhance the natural experience. The large open spaces and lawns around the buildings make this retreat a favourite for children to run around and cycle. The property has around 300 m of river frontage and kayaks are available for rental. The areas around the property and adjoining village roads are excellent for cycling and bicycles are also available for hire. A lovely wide and secluded beach is only a 10 minute walk from the property. Guests can help fishermen draw in their nets in the morning, or enjoy fishing in the nearby estuary. The Kalametiya bird sanctuary is only 15 minutes from the property. Bundala and Yala National parks are also 1.25 Hr and 2 hr from the property. A well-stocked library with books on archeology, history and fauna and flora of the area is available in the bungalow. A separate kitchen, staff quarters and drivers quarters is also provided. Most fruits and vegetables are grown in-house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Back of Beyond - Kahandamodara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back of Beyond - Kahandamodara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.