We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed golden club” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe San Juan to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Gaspar Hernandez km. 18, Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Rockland, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointed golden club”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

don't buy golden club the only thing you get is a robe and sleepers in your room , there was a golden club pool at the beach now all bracelets cane go there , there is no chairs or cousins left. . and the vendors down the beach are nuisance they all stand there for free drinks and ask peoples to get them drinks... the beach is very good to walk or run but the water the ocean is not clear at all muddy ... the a la carte reservation was impossible to get they only add 8:30-9pm was to late for us ...at the buffet very limited variety same every day . there was a convention wen we were there RD medicals supplies we got pouch around at the buffet there was no food left they would eat 3plates of foods don't know wuy the hotel would mixt vacationers with RD convention people

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on our Tripadvisor community regarding your experience in our hotel. In Bahía Príncipe San Juan, we put a greatest interest on our client’s opinions, both positive and negative.

We regret so much that you did not enjoy your holidays as you were expecting and the fact that we did not meet your expectations regarding the hotel premises. Please allow us to clarify that we do not advertise the Golden Club with a private pool nor the tour operators do, we regret so much if this caused you any inconvenience.

Once again, we regret so much we could not fulfil your expectations regarding our facilities and services. We can assure you that the situation what you explained it is not similar of our overall service. Please be aware that your comments have been taken into great consideration and have been forwarded to the Hotel Management in order to take appropriate measures to improve in all aspects.

We sincerely hope that regardless of your experience you can give us another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel Bahía Príncipe San Juan to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services & facilities and change any misperception that you may have about us.

Best wishes,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    1,359
    599
    372
    270
See reviews for
783
1,339
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I go to this place 2014 February 7 to February 14 with my friend. We like the Bahia Principe Hotel Chain. This one was the first to open.

When we arrived on Friday evening, the air conditioning did not work. We immediately reported at the lobby to Angelo. he gave us another room immediately. But we were much further and the next day we asked for a room closer to everything. We got room 2803 which on the second floor. This room was perfect for us. This was our only problem we really had with this hotel. All the rest was perfect.

The rooms are very clean, no bugs in the room, the beds are comfortable, the water pressure was normal. you must expect about 3 to 5 minutes for the hot water to come for the shower.

The pool is very nice and clean. The beach is clean but not super nice as Punta Cana, Cuba or Playa Grande because the sand is dark brown and a tangled water. We go to Playa Grande which is 15-20 minutes from the hotel. A very very nice beach with nice waive and blue water.

The People at this hotel is very friendly and cool. The Geo is fun too. Thank you to Angelo (lobby), Danny (Animal Picture), Magdalena (Geo) and all the staff.

The food was excellent. There is always some good things to eat in the buffet which is very good. We were entitled to 3 restaurants a la carte for our stay. The Mediterranean is the best, then it's Italian and Tex Mex. We do not like Mexicans, so we returned to the Mediterranean without problems :-)

I recommend this hotel and will be going back next year! For those who were not happy Go to an Hotel at $3,500 and you will probably be better and even then, you'll find bad things to say. For a trip under 1,000, it was great and at our taste.

Thank you Bahia Principe !

John Peter

Room Tip: Take Room around 2803 to be near to everything... If problems with your room, Ask Angelo to the lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience with us. We work very hard to accomplish with our goal-the total satisfaction of our guests.

We are pleased you have enjoyed in general your stay and we are happy to hear that the service from our staff lived up to your expectations. It would be a pleasure to receive you again as our guest at Bahia Principe San Juan in the nearest future.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for your winter holidays in Dominican Republic.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

1st trip to DR
Liked the write ups for this Resort.
Evening Arrival. Changed Room next Day to better location. B4 block close to every thing. Some problems but quickly fixed by staff.
Paid 800 Cdn for this trip . Worth it.
Food from Buffet and all 3 a la carte excellent. Service great.
Nightly entertainment superb.
Great Drinks to try. My favourites Pina Colada and local Beer.
Resort provided for good shopping and social amenities eg..Disco; Casino; etc.
Unfortunately; rained everyday; had to compensate.
Simply make the best with what you get on these trips.
Tip for great service; never hurts.
Nice people working on Resort; always willing to please.
Average Beach.
Did not care for treatment received by Customs when leaving; the less said about that the better.
Take US$'s.
Found things expensive in the DR.
Not our best trip; but good enough.
We will go back to the DR again; but will go somewhere Different; before going back to Bahia; perhaps.
Go and enjoy; just make the best of what you get.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for A or other Blocks. Take a regular room close to everything as we did with B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay at the Bahia Principe San Juan. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your review. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels Bahia Principe in a near future, especially either of one of our Gran Bahia branch or Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service and superior rooms.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent a week in February 2014 at this resort. Overall, a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. Staff was generally very polite and ready to help. The beach is quite nice and very long, which lends itself very well to spending private time with your loved ones. I lost my sunglasses at the first plunge and couldn't find them because of the dark sand. Don't buy the cheap 10 USD sunglasses at Pueblo Principe! Mine lasted two days.

Our room was average, nothing fancy. TV reception was not very good and the mini-bar was leaking but they fixed it quickly. No iron in the room, you have to ask for one. Safety box costs 4 USD per day.

Food was great, lots of variety to choose from! Of the three a-la-carte restaurants, I liked La Orquidea (Mediterranean) the most. Gym is included in the price but the accessories are in poor shape. Spa is not included.

The resort is very safe and it offers different excursions. Try the snorkeling trip for 45 USD. Not the best snorkeling I have ever done but great to break the daily routine.

Overall, it was a good and relaxing experience. I would come back in the future as long as I can find another good deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for your feed back about your recent holidays in our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially because of the attentive of our staff, the room and the variety of our food, we are very happy to know that we have been able to exceed your expectations.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels Bahia Principe in a near future, especially either of one of our Gran Bahia branch or Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just back from a week free of snow Feb 8-15! We had awesome weather my husband and I truly had a great time at this resort. First off we know how hard these people work and for wages that you or I would never settle for at home. Our expectations were not the Toronto Hilton and we were not expecting Gordon Ramsay at the à la carte etc.

We did upgrade to the golden club and must say it was well worth it for the added perks it was appreciated. Our trip from the airport was comfortable and our driver took the time to explain all the towns/villages we passed along the way. Check in was speedy and the staff very welcoming. We were in E section ground floor with an ocean view and close to the pool. With the exception of the water pressure there was never an issue with either the hot water or bugs which was my concerns when I read the reviews. The housekeeping staff were great and again never had an issue we were also sure to appreciate all their efforts.

Until the "Reading Week" kids showed up there was never any issues with noise which we also knew to book around. Most people were respectful walking in the evening around the room areas of the resort. The disco, casino and little shopping district was kept out at the front of the resort and not near to the rooms which was appreciated. Compared to other resorts I found the local vendors were very minimal and once you let them know you were not interested would leave you alone. If you did go to their little shop area than yes they do try to "get you to buy" but they are no worst than some of the vendors here they are just trying to make an living.

The cleanliness of the resort was outstanding. The staff were always cleaning, disinfecting even when you walked into the buffet with hand sanitizer at the ready. The restrooms were maintained hourly as well as the pools, beach and ground. Security could be seen throughout the resort at all times of the evening and it made you feel comfortable whenever you were out.

The food was good you always could find something to enjoy. The à la carte we had 4 were good and the Mediterranean one was outstanding so did it twice. The staff was always attentive offering you a beverage and clearing the plates etc. Remember we are in their country and they may not understand everything you are asking/saying which is to be expected especially new staff so give them a break. You may notice that your server at the 7am breakfast was also your server at your 7pm dinner so take the time and get to know them it may help you understand. We never felt the need to go to the snack bar but did hear it was good food.

For a bigger resort we never had any issues with finding a spot by the pool or on the beach plenty of chairs and shaded places if you needed. No long lines for either food or at the bars which was a nice change over some resorts we have been to. There were not so many people jammed into the pool that you could not move or take a swim it was really nice just to sit back and relax we met so many nice people from home and abroad.

The nightly entertainment was yes cheesy but what can you expect it was still fun to go and get to know everyone. We did not make it to the disco or casino we are early birds but it did sound like fun.

As mentioned until the younger Canadian kids showed it was very peaceful and relaxing. Yes I know they were from a couple of the Canadian Universities I did talk to a few of them; they are great kids proud of where they came from and who just wanted to party however I am glad that we only had one night to deal with it. Just note that you cannot fault the resort for their antics as it was not the staff running around naked loosing their bathing trunks, puking all over the washrooms and other places but it was the staff right behind them clean up the mess they made. We had two kids run buy wet and screaming to go to the other bar who ended up hitting the floor. Another one my husband caught before he hit the ground to put him in a chair and looked like it would have been his second fall by the goose egg already on his head.

If your looking for a relaxing, quiet and really nice vacation I would recommend this resort however I would avoid reading week or March break as the resort does cater to this crowd at these times.

Remember where you are going, go with with the intent of having a good time not nitpicking or looking for the negative. Reviews are very important but subjective so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: We were in room 2128 E5 Section view of the pool and could see the ocean, ground floor never had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. This serves to acknowledge you that your opinion is very valuable for us; therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We especially appreciate your comments about the hotel cleaning, the room, food and the nightly entertainment. Comments such as like yours are what motivate us as a team everyday to improve the quality of service that we offer and fulfil our commitment with customer satisfaction.

Hoping to see you once again to our hotel Bahia Principe San Juan or to any of our hotels Bahia Principe in a near future.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went with 6 wonderful friends..and we had a he'll of a time the staff were friendly always had a smile on their face no matter what time of the day itwas ..shoot out to the security guards who were always there to make sure we got to our rooms safe after the club.and to the bell hop junior,Luisfor getting us frm point A to point B...And last but not least our special server Johnni and Raphael at the buffet restaurant for always making our table was ready for whenever we arrived for breaky,lunch and dinner..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We are glad to find out that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we sincerely appreciate all your compliments to our staff, we are aware that it is only through their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our main goal-the total satisfaction of our clients. Your opinion is very valuable for us; therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels Bahia Principe in a near future.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterville, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A fantstic resort great food, excellent service, extremely clean and most of all the loving and caring friendly staff to meet all your needs to make your vacation as enjoyable as possible explanation of resort and saftey done by samuel in such great english we cant thank you enough samuel and tour guides for the most amazing trip to the jungle and ziplining very peaceful in the evenings and great entertainment not only for adults but so adorable for children this was our first time to the dominican for myself and husband highly reccomend they really came to us with open arms to make us feel safe and secure at the begining of the day and at the end of the day we love you all tons and will come back to see you soon, regards cindy and doug

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. We work very hard to accomplish with our goal-the total satisfaction of our guests.

Your opinion is very valuable for us; therefore we are pleased to know you have enjoyed in general your stay and we are happy to hear that the service from our staff lived up to your expectations.

It would be a pleasure to receive you again as our guest at Bahia Principe San Juan in the nearest future.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Puerto Plata.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Bahia Principe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Address: Carretera Gaspar Hernandez km. 18, Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, Minigolf, Football Pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 4 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 548 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.