We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe San Juan to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Gaspar Hernandez km. 18, Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Brockville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Took our children 21,23,25, the weather was great, very clean beach,yes a few sand fleas but where there is sand! The staff were very very kind all around the resort. The rooms were clean not 5star but thats not what we paid for, We did go for the Gold package which I highly recommend. The pool was very clean,if you want a seat at the pool you have to get up early and put your towel on the seats you want to reserve,no one will remove your towel.The staff at the swimup bar are fantastic. Couldn"t believe the lobby's washrooms EVERY time we went in a lady would go in the stall and clean the toilet and the floor(we tipped her well) they did that in shifts 11 till 3, and 3 till 11. When we went to eat there was a lady at the entrance with a bottle of sanitizer she personally put it in your hands (great idea)You can't beat the price we paid . The shows were great,the karaoke bar just down the lane was so much fun.Over all the vacation was great we would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We were at the very end of the beach,long walk to the pool,but we like that ,was very quiet great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such good review of your stay at Bahía Príncipe San Juan in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us.

It is truly a pleasure to us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and we greatly appreciate your comments aboutour facilties, services, grounds and the friendliness of our staff; we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal – the total satisfaction of our guests. As well as it is only through this kind of communications that we can se the continuous improvement of our service.

Once again, thank you so much for your observations and we sincerely wish to welcome you soon to our Hotel Bahia Principe San Juan. We will be at your disposal for whatever you may need.

Best wishes,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    1,359
    599
    372
    270
See reviews for
783
1,339
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

In April 2011, we spent a week at this resort. It was an older resort but well kept. There were always people cleaning. The staff was attentive, the food was good, the entertainment was fun to watch.

The only downfall to our trip was that there were 110 University Students there as well. The good part of it was we had our area of the pool to ourselves until about 2 -3 in the afternoon. After that, it started to get noisy. But all in all, they were part of the entertainment and it was fun.

The food was good. The a la carte restaurant had a different menu each night. It was nice to eat dinner there and the rest of the meals at the buffet.

We had a great vacation and enjoyed the resort

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, please allow us to comment you that your opinion is very valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left in your memory a pleasant stay. Also, we would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate your positive comments about of our facilities and services. Comments such as like yours are what we strive for following every day in order to improve the quality of service we offer.

We are very sorry to hear if the students caused you any discomfort. We hope to welcome you again to Bahía Príncipe San Juan and to thank you in person.

Best Regard,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Bahia Principe San Jaun from Feb 23 - Mar. 02, 2013. We travelled from Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada with Air Canada Vacations along with another couple from Alberta. The resort is about 60 min. from the airport however we travelled in a huge motor coach and our tour guide on the bus even stopped to pick up some cold suds for those who wanted some.

The grounds were very well kept and well laid out. The rooms are somewhat dated and could use a little upgrade but they were spacious and clean. Plenty of hot water, good water pressure and the AC worked fine. We were in building C7 rooms 1628 & 1626 on the second floor.

The pools were great, always clean and plenty of lounges although one had to get out there early to get one. We never had a problem in getting a lounge all week. I would advise to get to the pool early and place your towel on the lounges BUT don't be any later than 9 o'clock going back to claim them. It's inconsiderate to reserve them and show up around noon.

The food was great both at the buffet and the Tex-Mex at noon but the Mediterranean restaurant was absolutely excellent both the food and the service. We ate there 3 times and were never disappointed. The food at the Italian restaurant was good but the service didn’t measure up to the Mediterranean. We had two reservations at the Mediterranean and when we were leaving the 2nd night we asked if we could come back the next night and they said no problem. We showed up the third night without a reservation and they greeted us and treated us like we were royalty, awesome restaurant, food and staff.

The beach was nice, always kept clean and NO sand fleas as so many people had reported.

The staff were excellent, very pleasant, helpful and always smiling. Check in went very smooth however the checkout was a little confusing.

The entertainment staff were super, full of energy and kept the guests involved.

Would I go back again---Most Definitely--- can't wait.

Overall we had a wonderfull 7 days and would recommend this resort to anyone. Let's face it , IT IS WHAT YOU MAKE OF IT.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel and also for taking time to share your comments with our trip advisor community. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service and facilities we put our greatest interest and value in our guest´ opinion.

It is a real pleasure to get your comment. We are glad that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your visit with us. Also, we appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guest. We are delighted to share your comments with all of them.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahía Príncipe San Juan and to thank you in person.

Regards,
Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have read some of these reviews and I highly disagree.

I went with my family, Mom, Dad and 17 year old brother. There were activities for all of us, and we all had a great time. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms, pools, bars and restaurants were all very clean. None of us got sick. I am a very picky eater but i managed to find food to eat. The drinks were okay, (if you find them too light you can tell them exactly how to make it and they will!)

Only downside was the food wasn't too great, but there were french fries and pizza and stuff to make up for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are so happy that you have enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe San Juan.

We deeply regret to learn that our food did not meet your expectations. Our restaurants were designed to cater the diverse of our international clientele. As there is no accounting for taste as different people has different preference, Iam not able to comment on this regard. We regret that our cuisine did not meet your expectations and you may feel assured that we took a good note of your particular observations.

Once more thank you so much for your constructive observations. We appreciate very much all your comments and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Bahia Principe San Juan.

Regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a great time. Grounds, rooms and bathrooms were very clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a golden club room steps to the beach with a lovely porch to sit out on and listen to the ocean. Pools were very clean, though not enough chairs. Food was good, nothing spectacular but enjoyable. There are sand fleas, make sure you use repellent as the bites are very itchy. The beach was lovely to walk along. Again, not enough chairs though. Free Wifi access in the lobby was nice to be able to contact family and check flights. The jeep safari tour was fantastic, highly recommend. I would go back. It was a great value for an all inclusive week of relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your recent stay at Bahía Príncipe San Juan in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us.

We are greatly appreciating your comments. Our goal it is achieve maximum satisfaction of our guests. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your holidays as much as you were expecting. In addition, we are totally agree with you, we are blessed with one of the most lovely beach in DR.

We would love to welcome you back soon in the near future whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and are are in or 50's we stayed at this resort at march break, we had a wonderful time from checking in to checking out, all staff were friendly, professional and would go out of their way to help. I would especially like to recognise Johanny from customer relations and Eddie in the main buffet restaurants for their much appreciated help and customer service.
We have travelled to Cuba over 30 times and this is our 4th trip to the Domincan but the first to this hotel. The food was amazing both in the buffet and the a la carte restaurants, there was just so much choice I defy anyone to say there was nothing they liked.
We had a beautiful room overlooking the quiet pool and beach, it was spotless clean and the mini bar service was top notch, please remember to tip the maid and the mini bar guys they really appreciate this.
The beach is not as nice as the Cuban beaches, but this didn't bother us as we prefer the pool area.
During March break there were many S trip students groups at this resort and while in many resorts this could be a huge problem, we found the Bahia to be totally organised giving these students their own section of rooms, they had their own section in the restaurant, their own bar and even their own disco at night.......
I would definately recomend this resort and we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the services from our staff. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments, we are a family hotel and we always do our best to fulfil our clients as part of this great family.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us and we would love to welcome you back soon in the near future please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you are planning to come back to visit us.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Apparently, you get what you pay for. We knew this as we booked the night before we left, but I figured since we had zero expectations that wouldn't be hard to beat, right? Wrong.
From the moment we got off our transfer it was off to a rough start. They said we could check in, but once we waited in the line for the front desk we were quickly waved to an indistinguishable area with other guests, and they proceeded to address the people behind us. We managed to get the attention of the girl who basically tossed us our envelope and said we could go. There was no smile, no greeting, no orientation to the property, and no clear indication of our room number. We basically figured it out on our own. Not a good first impression.
When we found our way to the room the door was wide open and the room was stuffy. The air conditioning wasn't too great, the tv didn't work, the phone didnt work, the fridge wasn't plugged in and there was hair on the floor of the bathroom.
We went to the front desk to get the key for the safe, which apparently didn't exist because the last guest never returned it. Great. We tried to explain our concerns with our room and they just kept saying to come back tomorrow. We were told this almost every day.
We went to get some food and the waiter came over and asked if I spoke Spanish. When I said no the smile dropped and he never came back to refill our water or ask us if we wanted anything to drink. Also not a good first impression.
The week we were there the hotel was overrun by a large drunken group of s-trip kids who were still served alcohol even though their white bands were proof that they were minors. They were loud and rowdy from mid-afternoon onwards and would be yelling and screaming around 2:30 each morning when the clubs closed. One night they were even screaming and banging on all the doors in our villa. Phone calls to the front desk were unsuccessful because it was never fixed in the first place.
When we told our early grievances to our air transat guide at our briefing he had nothing to say, but offered to send a bottle of champagne to an older couple who had the same concerns. When they left I tried to talk to him more but was met with a stare, and zero offers to try to compensate us even though our initial experience was worse than theirs. Overall he wasn't helpful, seemed like he didn't care, and his eyes were all red and bloodshot one afternoon when I tried to talk to him. The only time he was pleasant to us was when I saw him drinking at the club with the teens. Not impressed with him either.
The food was somewhat decent, albeit repetitive. The buffet had so many people frequenting it that the tables weren't always set completely and it took a long time to try to get a spoon or knife from the staff. Coffee cups and bowls were often in short supply. Some wait staff was very nice, some were indifferent, and eventually the one who walked away from me the first day was more pleasant. The women at the spa and chamber maids were the friendliest by far. Some animation staff was pleasant although I kept seeing the younger guys chugging beer and getting drinks before noon.
The best part of the trip was the weather and the small size. It would be great for families or groups because you can't get lost and everything is very close. This was the first time we were actually excited to go home from a vacation. The service was incredibly disappointing from the start and no one seemed to care. If the beds were more comfortable and everything was more organized I'm sure we would've enjoyed it more. Still, since excursions were limited we couldn't escape the resort so we definitely got the rest we needed. Wifi was great around the pool so that helped curb the boredom of seeing the same thing every day, considering that it's pretty much the only hub of action.
Overall we got to soak in the rays, but it taught me to never send my kids on s-trip and pay the extra money to go to a bigger resort with more variety, and ultimately, better service. I'm certainly glad we only paid what we did because it definitely wasn't worth more. Save your money and go to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your stay at Bahia Principe San Juan.

We deeply regret to learn that we did not fully exceed your expectations. Please allow us to clarify you that almost all stores at Pueblo Principe are autonomous and managed by external company and not by the hotel BP San Juan.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the matters the proper attention.

We really understand your regrets and we are awfully sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations regarding all our hotel facilities and services. In Bahia Principe San Juan we have very clear that only by listening carefully to the comments of our guests we are able to assess and evaluate our performance. I can assure you that your observations will be taken with the upmost diligence as well as I have forwarded your comments to the department involved in order to take immediately actions for improvement.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe San Juan in a near future.

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Address: Carretera Gaspar Hernandez km. 18, Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, Minigolf, Football Pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 4 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 548 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.