We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Screw Around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe San Juan to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Gaspar Hernandez km. 18, Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rio San Juan
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wedding Screw Around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I went to the Bahia Principe from Feb 3-10 2013. I was down with a very large group for a wedding. 2 parts to this review.

1 - For Weddings: The Bride and Groom had a hell of a time. Everything they were told they got was more or less taken away from them and there were extra costs all over the place. Extra charge for the minister, extra charge for pictures, put into a crappy room with no view, broken shower, broke AC, it was awful! They did get moved after many complaints to a better area - where they should have been in the first place with a nice view of the beach. They never got any of the extras in their room they were suppose to have. If it wasn't for Annie - their entire wedding experience would have been a complete flop and they probably would have not bothered at all! I would not recommend this resort for a wedding.

2 - My own vacation. Everything with the wedding aside I had a great time. My room was nice and kept clean. Close to the main hall/pool/beach. Room 1111 section A - main level. Yes it can be a bit noisy at first but the activities in the main areas wrap up around 11pm so if you are one that must have everything quite get a place further away. The food in the buffet was great, lots of choice. Things did get a bit repetitive but no major complaints. The a la cartes - Italian is GROSS, we were told the pizza was amazing. - BLAH! The best BY FAR was Mediterranean, was the best food ever! There were lots of chairs available by the beach and pool. Always some form of entertainment going on. I went snorkeling with a group of people - through the beach vendor - and had an AMAZING time! The maids / fridge-filers were great. Give a few dollars with a note in the fridge of what you want and they were sure to accommodate. The beach vendors just off the resort were a bit aggressive, but if you stand your ground you can get a great deal. For my first time away I had a great time.

There were some sand flea bites if you were on the beach as night/as the sun went down. If you don't want them, wear long pants and shoes/socks while walking on the beach at night.

At lot of the really bad reviews seem to be because they went during off season.

Room was very clean, no gross bugs. Some bugs come from the flowers they put in your room.

I left my clothes in my suitcase just to make sure no bugs got in my clothes from the closet.

Beaches are not white sand - but there are some white sand beaches around the area you can visit on an excursion.

Room Tip: - Higher floors can have a better view of the beaches - but lower levels are good too. - Turn off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service Manager at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay at Bahia Principe San Juan.

We deeply regret to learn that the hotel did not fully exceed your expectations regarding the wedding. In Bahía Príncipe San Juan we have very clear that only by listening carefully to the comments of our guests we are able to assess and evaluate our performance. I want to clarify that unfortunately the wedding service is an extra charge, minister are not included. However, this is explained in our packages. Besides, I have to add that depending of their package they had an amount of pictures included, if clients wish more they need to pay it. I regret so much any inconvenience caused on this matter.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially the service provided by our housekeeping staff and the food at the buffet.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Bahia Principe San Juan to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kind regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    1,267
    564
    351
    257
See reviews for
719
1,242
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

First I would like to start off by thanking all of the Staff at the Bahia Principe for a wonderful Vacation! I have never written a review on Trip Advisor yet and I have been down south 6 times, That being said I read many bad reviews before coming to this hotel. Do not let the bad reviews turn you off from coming to this hotel as there is nothing to be worried about. I travelled here between Feb 2nd-8th with my boyfriend and another couple and we had no complaints! I have actually even stayed at a few 5 Star resorts in dominican and none of them have topped this resort off for us.

The grounds are incredible on this resort, just stunning! As for the beach, yes the sand is darker but the beach is still so beautiful! If you are worried about sandfleas like we were when reading the reviews, just dont go on the beach early morning or at dusk and you will be fine! Between the four of us I think we had a total of 2 bites.

The staff at this resort is amazing! They are so friendly and helpful!! On Thursday the 7th there was a heavy rain fall around 2 in the morning as we walked back to our rooms, I called the front desk to ask to have food delivered to our rooms (thinking that they wouldnt) and to our surprise the nice man on the phone said yes ill be right there! This made me really happy because our rooms were on the other end of the resort and it was quite the walk up to the snack bar!

Rooms: very clean and beautiful view from our balcony! The maids did an excellent job making sure we got everything we needed :)! We stayed in room 1255 on the other end of the resort and enjoyed being there!

Nightlife: I enjoyed going out on the "strip" alot! We had an excellent time and met some of the most amazing people here! We enjoyed the karoke bar alot it was a really good time!

Pool: BEAUTIFUL AND ALWAYS CLEAN!!!!!!!!! as for the people writing comments saying that the pool was closed for 8 hours due to health concerns... It was...but isnt that a good thing that the staff go to these measures to make sure the pool is clean? It didnt bother us one bit, we walked down the beach and went to the other pool :)

I could write a million other things to say about this resort but I think you get the point. We had a wonderful vacation and I would go back to this resort! Thank you to all the staff at the Bahia Principe for making our Vacation one we will not forget! Cheers to you all miss you already!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1255 and had a beautiful view of the ocean! its further away from the main pool bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from Bahia Principe San Juan, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Resorts as your holiday destination.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to all our staff.

Once again, thank you so much for your observations and we sincerely wish to welcome you soon to our Hotel Bahia Principe San Juan. We will be at your disposal for whatever you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you are planning to return.

Best regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have stayed at Bahia Principe's 10 times in 3 different countries, and this was our 5th trip to this resort.....we will not return. We had been there 4 years ago and found it getting a little shabby, but heard that the resort had been closed for 8 months for renovations. When we arrived, there was absolutely no change to the resort. Apparently the upgrade they had done was to repair the electrical....well, that wasn't exactly a success, since sometimes our lights in our room worked and sometimes they didn't. We had a power outage one day for a few minutes and then later that night, while we were in the lobby, the power went out for 40 minutes. We sat in the dark lobby and no one offered to escort us to our room.

When we arrived, they told us we were automatically upgraded, and we expected to stay in the Diamond section, but we were put into the smallest room we have ever stayed in, at any Bahia Principe!! The room was tiny, and the bathroom even tinier. We NEVER had hot water for a shower. Our coffee maker and remote control for the ancient television did not work. I asked repeatedly at the front desk for replacements and did not receive them. I finally asked our maid and she replaced them. The maids were the only ones who gave us great service. Our room was always clean and towels replaced. We went for a walk to the Diamond section of the resort, and none of the rooms are in use, the pool was closed, the restaurants in this section were also closed. There were only 3 a la carte restaurants to choose from and they were only open certain days, so we mainly had to eat at the buffet. The one restaurant that was air conditioned smelled very musty. Could hardly eat there. The Mexican restaurant was terrible. We ended up at the buffet that night too. The buffet would run out of food for breakfast....unless you were there early, you didn't get bacon or orange juice.

We stayed at the quiet pool and went there at 6:30 or 7:00 am to reserve our chairs, but if we went for breakfast, something would be taken when we returned....either our towels or the umbrella over our chairs. The bar at this pool was always running out of ice or water and the bartenders were very rude.

We usually go to the shows every night, and the entertainment was the same every single night. Same dancers, same dances, just a little different music. I was so disappointed!

There was a large presence of security at the resort this time....so why was that??? Made us a little nervous.

I had 93 flea bites when I returned!!!!!!! I will NEVER BE BACK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our Guest perceptions are the most important to us; therefore we appreciate your value time to share your experience and comments with us. It is through communication of this nature that our guests give us an opportunity to reevaluate our performances, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort in order to give them the proper attention.

Please allow us to clarify that we do not have rooms bigger in our hotel, all our rooms are same size the different from one room to other are the services.

Regarding the Diamond Club, I have to state that all facilities that this club provides are properly operating, Diamond Club is been relocated closest to the main lobby since 2 year ago, we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We deeply regret to learn that we did not fully exceed your expectations at all. We would love to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future to change any misperception that you may have about us.

Regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had a great time ! The grounds and the service at this resort are tops.many staff working very hard to keep this resort in great condition.Witnessed many cleaning the beach and common areas at all times. Common rest rooms always had someone cleaning and mopping. Never had issues with hot water or sand fleas and we had 12 of us there 6 rooms. The weather was very hot so the sand fleas may not have been active ? The main pool was closed one afternoon for a safety concern but i would rather they did the RIGHT thing instead of letting people continue using it--we met some nice people at the other pools anyway. Hats off to Jaun(buffet),Marcus(Security) and Wandy(bar staff) among others for doing there part in making this a great vacation choice! If you like a late night try the Kareoke and the disco, if the right crowd is there you will be in for some good times ! Thanks Again !!!

Room Tip: We were in the H area short walk to almost everything !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality & Customer Service Manager at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel as your holiday destination and also for taking the time to share your comments with our Trip Advisor community regarding the experiences you had during your stay in our Resort.

We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our services and facilities. We would like you to mention that this kind of review help us to improve and raise our service. Also, we appreciated your comments about our staff regarding their attitude we are aware that it is only with their effort that we are able to achieve our goal- the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you very soon once again at our hotel to continue providing you the most memorable experience and surpass your expectations.

Kind regards,
Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a good time overall. The 2 things that turned us off this hotel, were the sand fleas and no hot water for showers.The only time we got a hot shower was at 10 pm.
The sand fleas weren't only in the sandy areas, they were at the pools, on our balcanies, everywhere. Between 2 of us, we got over 100 bites. We were told by people who had visited this resort previously, this was the 1st time they'd seen these bugs. Maybe due to unusally wet weather, they were present.
The food was good, the staff was great. They were very busy at the lobby bar, but they always had a smile for you, and fast service. The entertainment staff at the pool were excellent.
Our room was renovated, clean, but small. Maid service and beer guy were great.
The resort itself is very clean. They'd rake the beach daily and come around and pick up garbage constantly around the pools and beach area. The beach is not white sand, but very nice, with plenty of sun and shade.
We didn't get our al a cartes, as they were booked up, but we were happy with the buffet. The snack bar wasn't bad for lunch.
Plenty of lounge chairs at the main pool and the beach. If you wanted the quiet pool, you had to save your chair.
2 beach bars were closed, so you had to use the pool bars.
We had a great vacation at Bahia Principe.

Room Tip: We were close to everything. bottom floor 2302
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality and Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, please allow us to comment you that your opinion is very valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left in your memory a pleasant stay. Also, we would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate the impressions of your vacation with our TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate your positive comments about of our facilities and services. Comments such as like yours are what we strive for following every day in order to improve the quality of service we offer.

We are very sorry to hear about your inconveniences with hotwater and insects bites. However, be assured that your comments have been taken into great consideration as we looks daily for ways to improve our services and advoid any kind of dissatisfaction to our clients in all aspects.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahía Príncipe San Juan in a near future and to thank you in person. Please feel free to contact us whenever you are planning to return.

Best Regard,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just a quick review to say what a great time we had at the Bahia Principe in San Juan. We booked for a b-day celebration/graduation for our daughter and when we got to the hotel the room was filled with a welcome arrangement and other special features to welcome us. The Customer Service Manager Johanny Arvelo ensured that on our daughter's actual birthday, the room was filled with balloons and she had a fruit basket and t-shirts to celebrate. I can't say enough about the staff. You can't beat their attitude and helpfulness. The resort, while older was clean and overall we had a great vacation. Thank you Bahia and an extra special thank you to Johanny for making it a wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Golden Club and I would recommend it for sure. We had an upper room with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality and Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review of your stay at Bahía Príncipe San Juan in our Tripadvisor web page and share with our fans your experience with us.

You can be sure that there is no biggest reward for us than to get a message like yours knowing that we have exceeded your expectations. We are delighted that your daughter and you have enjoyed your holidays as much as you were expecting. We are a family hotel and we do everything possible to make feel our guests like part of this great family.

We are looking forward to welcome you again to our hotel in a near future.

We are always at your entire disposal,

Johanny Arvelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overall great experience. Could use some improvement on the bland food offerings at the buffet but this was a minor problem. Treated like a king by all of the staff!! Very friendly and accomodating!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Quality and Customer Service department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are so happy that you have enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay in our hotel. We appreciate your observation regarding our food, please rest assure you that we have forwarded your comment to the Food and Beverage Manager in order to take whatever appropriate measure.

We hope to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe San Juan. Please do not hesitate to contact us whenever you are planning to come back.


Kindest regards,

Johanny Arvelo
Jefe Calidad & Customer Service Bahía Príncipe San Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Address: Carretera Gaspar Hernandez km. 18, Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, Minigolf, Football Pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 4 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 548 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.