We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tana dell'Istrice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Tana dell'Istrice to your Saves list
La Tana dell'Istrice
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Unita d'Italia, 12, 01020 Civitella d'Agliano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“This hotel is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Lovely hotel with a warm and inviting staff. Tha food is to die for and the wine is incredible. The owners are always on site and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location is perfect for day trips and the hotel owners have connections to great guides in the area that will make your trip unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Come to this lovely town and be greeted at this villa by Allesandra, your charming hostess. Enjoy wine dinners, as award winning winemaster Sergio pores his own old world crafted wines, cellared on the premises. This is total comfort and serenity. The wines are fantastic. We will surely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Good friends have raved about this perfect small hotel that is ideally located an hour north of Rome. Everything we had heard about La Tana exceeded our expectations. Sergio and Alessandra welcomed and treated us like family. The rooms are large and very comfortable. And don't even think about asking for a local restaurant. The food is superb and Sergio is generous and enthusiastic in pairing each course with his award winning wines. There aren't enough "stars" on this review to adequately rate the food and personal service. Alessandra will arrange for personal guides in Rome or other towns throughout the area. Day trips to towns in Tuscany and Umbria are easy to plan and make, with the evening meal a treat to end a wonderful day. We started saving for another visit to this wonderful hotel the moment we returned home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our stay here was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. This classy B&B hotel is located in the peaceful old central square of the beautiful, tranquil little hilltop town of Civitella d'Agliano near Orvieto. It's perfectly located for visiting sights in Tuscany and Umbria and enjoying many outdoor activities. Our suite was lovely and spacious. We slept and ate like kings and were treated like family. Our hosts, Alexandra and Sergio, were very warm and gracious, making us feel right at home in their elegantly restored sixteenth century manor house of medieval origin. The breakfasts were excellent and the dinner was a gourmet's delight. The magnificent feast included several tastings of Sergio's award wining wines, perfectly paired with each course. We highly recommend this magnificent place to everyone who enjoys friendly people, beautiful surroundings and great food and wine! We didn't want to leave and we're looking forward to going back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

We first visited La Tana over 6 years ago and fell in love with the place.

We have never stayed anywhere so welcoming and the food and hospitality is unrivalled in our experience.

We cannot recommend La Tana highly enough and Sergio and Alessandra are the best hosts you could possibly wish for !

Unspoilt, ideally placed to visit so many places and the best food and wine you could wish for !

http://www.weekinitaly.com/

www.motturasergio.it

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to Italy. This was our favorite place and it is because of Sergio and Alessandra (the owners) that you feel like you're staying with family.

We were on a tour with six other people and this was our last stop before our tour of Rome. I was so sad to leave after three days I was thinking of asking for a job so I could remain!

You will experience the best food, wine and accomodations at La Tanna! If you really want to experience Italy this must be a stop you make!

  • Liked — The Owners...
  • Disliked — It was perfect...
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

I have been meaning to write this review for over a year, because this is the type of place you can't wait to tell everyone about. My boyfriend and I stayed at La Tana dell'Istrice for 3 days (not long enough!) in September 2005. We planned our trip to spend 1/2 a week in Rome, 1/2 a week in Umbria, and a full week on the Amalfi Coast. In Umbria, we had no idea what town we wanted to stay in, we just knew the experience we wanted to have... tuscan-like countryside, vineyards, "agriturismo", off-the-beaten-path charm, local foods, etc. I did a lot of research on tripadvisor and also read about La Tana dell'Istrice in a book called "Special Places to Stay" - it absolutely was a very special place to stay. I was so concerned about my expectations not being met, and this place, including the family who ran it, completely exceeded my expectations. We stayed in a beautiful suite on the second floors with windows that opened into the quiet town square. The converted villa was charming, elegant and authentic, yet you didn't feel as though you were staying in someone else's home. We walked through Sergio Mottura's vineyards and strolled around the town, which feels very much like going back in time. It is a sleepy town in an endearing way. You don't go there to "party" - my boyfriend and I did that in Rome and Positano. At La Tana, our party was a bottle of wine in the villa, champagne toasts in La Tana's very own champagne caves, drives to Lake Bolsena, and food/wine pairing at dinner. Being from San Francisco, we consider ourselves "foodies" and truly appreciate a great meal. Again, the restaurant at La Tana, far exceeded our expectations. It was worth far more than the price we paid. Our perfect evening dining there started w/ a tour of the champagne caves far below the ground under the hotel. Sergio walked us down the stairs and we we mesmorized as he described all of the mechanics that go into bottling a great champagne. After we came back up out of the cave, we were treated to more bubbly as well as THE BEST fried squash blossoms you could ever dream of. If they are in season, I recommend that you beg Sergio to pick the zucchini blossoms out of his garden and prepare them for you - bene! After "happy hour" as us crass Americans like to call it, we went to the dining room for dinner. The Mottura family ate there as well (which I loved) and there were a few other couples - one also staying at the hotel and one who had rented a villa nearby came for dinner. We had course after course of produce and sauces fresh from the garden, pasta fresh from the dough, meat fresh from the farm, cheese fresh from the cow, and wine fresh from the cellar - lots of it! This is the type of place you actually feel a little sad leaving. Even over a year later, my boyfriend and I are nostalgic for La Tana dell'Istrice and can't wait to go back someday to visit.

  • Liked — The family who owns it, Food, Wine, Location, Charm, Elegance at great value
  • Disliked — That we didn't stay longer
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tana dell'Istrice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tana dell'Istrice

Address: Piazza Unita d'Italia, 12, 01020 Civitella d'Agliano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Civitella d'Agliano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Civitella d'Agliano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Tana dell'Istrice 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your La Tana dell'Istrice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tana dell'Istrice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.