We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and spectacular views on Ios” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hermes Hotel to your Saves list
Hermes Hotel
Chora, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pickering, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location and spectacular views on Ios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I arrived in November and it was very quiet, I'm sure this place is happening in the summer. I'll be sure to check it out again in July or August.

Staff was nice, I wanted to leave early because there wasn't much going on in November and Nick let me off without a problem. He also gave me a ride back to the port.

If you want an excellent place to stay in terms of location and to meet people, stay here.

Room Tip: In general, if you're going to Ios island or any Greek island, you must go in the prime season o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    16
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
10
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hermes is definitely the place to be if you are planning a trip to Ios!
Its location is perfect: halfway to the beach and halfway to the village.
It has the best view you could wish for.
There's a lovely cafe bar run by a very nice and friendly staff (and the coffee is really good too).
The rooms are clean and well maintained.
Personal tip: ask for a room with a private balcony, it is absolutely worth the extra money.

Nick, the owner, is quite the host - he will give you good tips about where to go eat and what to do, help you with anything you need, and most important of all: he will treat you as a friend, not as a tourist, which is...let's face it, priceless.

My room was right underneath the cafe bar which can be a little noisy. If you are not an easy sleeper, ask for a room that's located elsewhere. Otherwise, put on ear plugs as I did and you will sleep just fine. I stayed there during October (low season in Greece) so the hotel was nearly empty, but if you stay there during summer I hear that getting some sleep will be the last thing on you mind anyway!

To sum up, the staff at Hermes contributed to make my trip the perfect vacation. I met amazing people, and if I ever get the chance to go back to Ios, I am going to stay at Hermes without a doubt.

Enjoy your stay! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hermes hotel was perfectly located between the town square and the beach, with an amazing pool and bar overlooking the ocean. Rooms were air conditioned and cleaned daily. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed there in August 2013. It was brilliant. Great location, right in between the beach and the town.
The views are worth the room rate alone.
Great staff, very friendly and welcoming. Free transfer to and from the port.
Room rates are excellent (we even got upgraded which I can't complain about at all)
Drink prices at the poolside be are very affordable with nightly happy hour discounts.
The staff organise pub crawls and BBQ nights also.
We met alot of friendly people and can't wrap this hotel enough. The only thing we did encounter which we weren't to happy with was the cleaner letting herself in to our room even though we said we were still sleeping. Other than that, it was a great stay..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hermes is fantastic and one the best hotels on the island great price, great location, great rooms, great service, great food, and one of the best swimming pool bars in ios and the view is amazing. Hermes is located perfectly between the main village and the main beach it is perfect for couples looking to relax or for a group of mates looking for fun. Hermes is a family run hotel and Niko is a legend who will look after all of your needs.

I have stayed there 3 times now and would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a week with a friend visiting from Germany, rooms are incredible, clean, ocean view and very very quiet which is nice after a long day of diving and being in the sun. Niko the owner is incredibly friendly and out going not to mention very laid back. The water was always hot, aircon and heating worked well and the beds are super comfy. Would easily recommend hermes to any one wanting the perfect stay in accomodation in Ios. definitely the place to be to unwind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is located a short walk from both the beach and the village which is perfect for when you head out at night and to the beach during the day. The pool bar at the hotel has a picturesque view of the ocean and the sunset from there is amazing. The owner Niko and all the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. They have a BBQ on Thursdays where a huge spread of food is put on. The pool bar has a great atmosphere and very affordable drinks and snacks. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. This really is the best hotel on the island, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Chora, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Ios > Chora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hora, perched on the slope of the hill that overlooks the port, is one of the most beautiful villages in the Cyclades, with its whitewashed houses and steep narrow lanes, its small squares and churches. The famous beach of Mylopotas, the largest in Ios with more than one kilometre is 2 km away from Hermes Hotel. In the evening, if you are in for intense moments, visit Hora, and find out for yourself what nightlife in Ios means... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Ios/Chora, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.