We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hermes Hotel to your Saves list
Hermes Hotel
Chora, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chora
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, amazing views, service and atmosphere. The pool area and bar are also highlight. We extended our stay for another 3 nights as we couldn't bring ourselves to leave!! The hotel is located between the village and Myoplotas beach both of which are easily accessible on foot..although the trek up the hill on the way back from the beach is a bit of a stretch..This is an excellent hotel for those looking for the party atmosphere, Nikos the owner, runs regular bar crawls around the town which are not to be missed! The hotel hosts a BBQ on a Thursday night with a local DJ and excellent food. Will be back next summer for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    15
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
9
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After working at Hermes Pool Bar 2 years ago for the summer and returning every year since i have to say Hermes is one of my favourite places on the island.Hermes is run by a Greek family who are absoultley lovely and Niko is awesome he will pick you up from the port, tell you what you need to know about Ios and is always up for a night out on the town to show you around the bars. Ruth who works in the pool bar is an absolute ledgend, she cooks up a storm like there is no tomorrow, you MUST try the Ruth Salad you will not be disappointed!! The rooms are lovely and are cleaned each day and they have air con and most have an AMAZING view. The pool area is great to chill out by no matter what time of day it is and the view from the pool is to die for. Even if you dont get the chance to stay at Hermes you should defs make the time to go and visit Ruth try some of the awesome food from the menu, have a cocktail or 10 and embrace how awesome Hermes is! Hermes is about a 10 min walk from the Village on the way to the beach, its an easy walk and defs worth it when you wake up to the views that you have at Hermes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was the perfect location, only a short walk to the beach , So we had the option of sitting by the pool or a short stroll down to the beach if we fancied. It was only a 5 minute walk to the town too. The staff and family of the hotel were so friendly and very helpful. Niko was very helpful and organised quads for us and lifts to and from the port! The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed for our time there (including a fridge to keep the drink cold :) ) The pool area was great with fabulous views, and the pool bar food was definitely some of the best food in ios. We looked at other accommodation in ios before we decided to stay in Hermes, and it was by far the best we seen, and most definitely had the friendlier staff! We loved ios and hermes hotel so much that we decided to skip travelling to another island so we could prolong our stay! Thanks Niko and family for a great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in the Hermes Hotel in mid August 2012, and had a truly fantastic time! When we arrived we were picked up at the ferry port by Niko in his van and taken directly to the hotel, and then shown around the pool area by Kyle. The hotel has a unbelievable view of the beach below and coastline, we couldnt believe how great the pool area was when we arrived. Ios itself is one of the best party places I have ever been to, guaranteed a great time. although it is great for partying, Ios is truly a proper Greek island with white washed buildings and blue window shutter etc. It has the best of both worlds. The hotel owner Niko is brilliant, he meets you on nights out and gets you into the clubs for free and is a good laugh. there is a fantastic beach about 20 minutes walk away (however it is down a steep slope) with watersports etc. The rooms in the hotel are lovely, great air con and fully furnished bathroom. All in all if you are staying in Ios, dont look any further than the Hermes, you wont be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is just a fantastic hotel on Ios. On the outskirts of the town center (Chora) and on the way to the most fantastic beach (Mylopotas). The hotel is family owned and they are just soo incredibly friendly and helpful. There is a bar by the pool and it also is great fun, specially its owner, always ready with a joke! The view of the caldera from the hotel is just breathtaking!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel has a great location ,amazing pool and bar ,a bit far from town center (clubs bars etc.....the rooms are not that good, poorly furnished and the beds so hard.,the staff nikos or nick the greek has an atitiude big time .i wouldnt stay their again unless they improve the bed rooms a lot ,(the view of the agean from the pool side is breath-taking .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicosia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Is the 2nd time i have been in Hermes hotel @ Ios (first time was in 2003) and the reason i have choosed it the second time was for the great view and the very good sense it left me. The hotel is half distance to Mylopotas beach and the main village (Chora). From the hotel you have the most astonishing view of the island as it is build on an edge and you can have view of the agean blue. The Hotel is a family run business and the people they r working there they look to love what they r doing and they are always friendly and available to help and guide you. The pool area is very nice although some of sunbeds are broken. I was dissapointed from the rooms as i beleive that they should make renovation to the toilet, room furniture and balcony furniture. Although room was basically clean it offers no facilities. However for such a price i would be amazed if i had something more than basics. I would highly recommend Hermes hotel for young people who have limited expectations regarding room

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Chora, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Ios > Chora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hora, perched on the slope of the hill that overlooks the port, is one of the most beautiful villages in the Cyclades, with its whitewashed houses and steep narrow lanes, its small squares and churches. The famous beach of Mylopotas, the largest in Ios with more than one kilometre is 2 km away from Hermes Hotel. In the evening, if you are in for intense moments, visit Hora, and find out for yourself what nightlife in Ios means... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Ios/Chora, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.