We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of God's beautiful creation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omah Alchy Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Omah Alchy Cottages to your Saves list
Omah Alchy Cottages
Jati Kerep Kecataman, Karimun Jawa 59432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Malang, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A taste of God's beautiful creation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Without doubt, my holiday in Omah Alchy has been one of the most pleasant holidays I've been. Being born in the cool climate city, i've never been much a fan of sticky hot weather. But after spending 5 nights in Karimun Jawa, staying in Omah Alchy and interacting with the wonderful and helpful staffs, the whole trip has changed my whole perspective of ideal beach holiday.

The view is foremost amazing. At night, we can see endless stars. That was the best view any human can get. It was magical and surreal. I don't think I've seen so many stars before my eyes scattered beautifully from one end to another. And during day time, we spent much on island hopping and visiting mangrove. Each island is unique but they share the same thing: crystal clear water beach and beautiful corals. The management knows that after doing lots of activities, we surely get hungry and we want it fast. The food was amazing and it was made with lots of TLC.

So should you visit Omah Alchy and experience the beauty of Karimun Jawa? Most definitely, YES. Plus, you can get to know the awesome owners and wonderful staffs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Omah Alchy is the perfect choice of place to stay, if you're the type of person who like nature at its ultimate raw, and quiet & tranquil surroundings. Besides the view and all the nice facilities (hot shower, AC, Wifi, Private jetty, etc.), the people working there are amazing. They transform service into a better form; CARE. They are your friends whom you can count on, to make your trip to Karimunjawa priceless and unforgettable. It's even possible you feel like you don't want to leave ;). My only advise is to book very early, at least two months before the planned trip. They have a very high rate of occupancy.

Room Tip: each cottage has its own specialty, the choice depends on one's preference of surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We love Karimun Jawa and Omah Alchy helped sweeten the experience. If you want no tourists, this is your spot. If you want an authentic Indonesian experience, this is your spot. If you want a taste of natural beauty, this is your spot. If you want delicious local seafood/food, this is your spot.

This hotel (homestay: it seems the staff lives on the premises) is surprisingly attentive with unexpected thoughtful details in the service. Nino and Aris and all of the staff take wonderful care of you during your stay. However, this is an "island" type of experience. Meaning life is slower, service is very relaxed, and the over all ambience is chill.

Our favorites of this island and hotel were the delicious meals at Omah Alchy, sunset dinner on the pier, day boat trip to the islands and picnic lunch, snorkeling by the coral reefs, sipping hot coconuts while sitting at the park square with all the locals eating and chatting, renting a motorbike to explore the island and lounging all day without a care in the world on the hammocks.

Please note: this experience is for the traveller that is ok with a really rustic and authentic travel experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I've stayed few days in Omah Alchy and without dubt it was my best time in Indonesia.
The place is settled very near the harbour and the little village but in a quiet spot by the sea side. There are two cottages (other two are under construction): they are wodden made, simple and typical from outside but with all conforts you need inside (TV, A/C, DVD player, sofa). The two greatest plus of Omah Alchy are the wonderful view of the Karimun Jawa landscape from a and the superb cooking. The staff was more than friendly and helpful and they help us organising trips around the islands and our time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful Island, beach, cottage and the services is very very very good......thaks for mas Andre and Mas Aries.
Food..............absolutely fantastic....when we arrived, they serves us with 2 big fish, some vegy and all delicious. Don't miss with fish dendeng.....omah alchy fish dendeng....MAKNYUUUUSSS...
Sure....I'll be back again with more people and sure more fun......... :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visited Karimunjawa Islands last week, stayed in Omah Alchy for two nights before transferring back to Semarang. The large cottage can fit up to 8 person, which is very spacious for five of us.

Omah Alchy is located at the west side of the island, so you’d get private sunset view every day. The cottage itself is placed just by the shore, but it’s not a beach, just shallow. The shores isn’t dirty but the sands are pretty dark with lots of seaweed and dead coral reefs.

Omah Alchy has just added a small pier just beside the cottage so visitors with arranged trips using boats can easily board the boats directly. The pier itself is also a great spot for hanging out, also great as a photo subject especially on sunset.

One thing that impressed us was the food. The dishes they served were top class, more like a 4-star hotel cuisine served in a modest hut just beside the cottage.

Room Tip: The large cottage has one room equipped with air conditioning. This room normally can fit up to thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Wunderful accommodation in traditional Javanese Joglo. It's a very quite place and the sea is direct to your feet. Beautiful to spend some relaxing time. I stayed with friends in the bigger unit and is was very comfortable and spacy. You can swim to wunderful coral reefs which are located in front of the beach. The guys are very amusing as well as courteous and support you with each wishes you have. The house lady is cooking tasteful traditional sea food and you should not miss to order traditional wild sea weed salat, delicious and only available on this island. The owner has some interesting water sport equipment which you can rent for fair rates per day. I can only recommend this place and in case that the wind blows me again to Karimun I will stay at this place without any doubt. I had a very good time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bigger Joglo Unit which was very spacy and comfortable. The cottage has another sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omah Alchy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omah Alchy Cottages

Address: Jati Kerep Kecataman, Karimun Jawa 59432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Karimun Jawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Karimun Jawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Omah Alchy Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omah Alchy Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.