We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've visited so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Kalliston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've visited so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The breakfast buffé is a dream. The staff is super nice and really take good care of you. You are always met by a smile from everyone from the cleaning staff to the management. We complained about the wi-fi in our room. The next day we had a repeater put in our room and problem solved.

No children under the age Of 16 are allowed, so it's really a quiet and peaceful place well suited for a romantic pair holiday!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
August, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It will really encourage us in order to make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the Mediterranean.

We hope to see you soon back with us.


Thank you for your time and support!


Warm regards from sunny Chania,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    65
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
326
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have been back one week, and wish we were back at the Kalliston. The hotel, staff cannot do enough for you. They work extremely hard, but are all happy in their work. When we arrived we were greeted with a refreshing drink and towels to freshen up with. our cases were taken to our rooms, we were then escorted to the rooms and shown around. The couple we were holidaying with found the 'long dress' hanging space insufficient, but without even asking hooks were supplied and gratefully received. The food was both varied and plentiful excellent choice..Management were always on hand and always acknowledged you..with a cheery smile, wave, or friendly word..

Room Tip: We had sea-view rooms, excellent. Our room was on 4 th floor, just above the bar, and although guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
August, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and feedback which gives us strength to work harder; we all really appreciate your nice words. It was great to have you here at the Kalliston and we hope to see you soon.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.14% in overall guest satisfaction. We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

It will be great to have you back with us in the near future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We've been back from the Kalliston for nearly a month now, so I've had plenty of time to reflect on the week. I can honestly say I cannot find one fault with this hotel and can't say anything different to what other reviewers have said already.

We had a swim-up room (112) which was fabulous. If you can afford a little extra to get one of these rooms, I would highly recommend it. A sea view is a must as a minimum!

As other reviewers have said, the staff really make this hotel. They are so friendly and can't do enough for you. We also liked how the two mangers were very present in and around the hotel making sure you would having a good holiday.

The food was top class with plenty of choice. The location was always spot on as the hotel isn't far from the airport and a short bus ride away from Chania, which is worth a visit on a cooler day (if there's such a thing in July and August!).

I don't often say I would return to hotels, but the Kalliston was so fantastic that I seriously would consider it. Thanks to all the staff, especially Jo the Thomson rep, and The Players music duo, for such a great week!

Room Tip: Go for a swim-up or sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
August, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It will really encourage us in order to make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the Mediterranean.

We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96. 4% in overall guest satisfaction.

I definitely look forward to seeing you back with us in the future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Warm regards from sunny Chania,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a fantastic hotel and resort. Welcomed with a nice drink and refreshing towels whilst waiting to be checked in. The staff here are fantastic and so professional, especially the waiters in the restuarants and bar areas.The food is both good and plentiful at both breakfast and dinner. The evening entertainment had plenty of variety during our 11 night stay, and the daytime activitys was just right.Lovely beach area with plenty of beds,only downside we noticed was the same serial sunbed baggers who secured the same beds every day especially on the lawn near the gialos taverna towards the showers,and they were English we noticed.Why go on holiday to set the alarm to get sunbed is a mystery to us.Chania is a short bus ride away and wonderful in the cooling evenings with plenty of small shops in winding narrow alleyways.We don't ever visit the same hotel or resort twice as life is too short and the world is too big,but if we had to revisit one of our previous hotels this would be right up there,and on that note if its on your shortlist, book it as you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
August, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It will really encourage us in order to make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the Mediterranean.

We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96. 4% in overall guest satisfaction.

I definitely look forward to seeing you back with us in the future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Warm regards from sunny Chania,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A lovely stay. Book with confidence. You will definitely get a relaxing and peaceful break. It's important to know this when you are booking - this is a tranquil place for couples!
Check in was smooth, freshly squeezed orange on arrival, cases taken up to our room, we were escorted by one of the management. She was lovely and professional. We were upgraded (free!) due to it being an anniversary. We had an ocean view room. No criticisms of the room - spacious, comfortable, cool, and the most comfortable bed. Not sure what else they can offer with the room?! Turn down service each night, complimentary fruit on arrival and fresh water each night. Housekeeping staff work hard and are efficient. Problem solving within the hotel was good. Our black out blind wouldn't work and within 5 min the maintenance man had been to fix it. I requested an iron board and had it within half an hour. No complaints!
Pool side is clean and quiet. Personally, I agree with one of the others reviewers in that the beds are very close. There are, however, plenty of beds. No need to rush out in the morning to reserve (not allowed anyway!) we found a quiet pool near rooms 600-700 and this was PERFECT for us. Only 20 beds around the pool and very quiet with great views. I recommend this area. I feel there is some dead space on the lawns with canopes that are not being used greatly. These could be replaced with sunbeds perhaps - not more, but just spread some of them out.
Plenty of room choices - I got confused with the amount of different types of rooms. I loved ours - it was big enough and easy access to a quiet pool.
Food is great. Fresh and presented well. a little too oily at times for me, but seriously...no complaints. Defo check out the Greek and Italian.
Staff - fabulous, helpful, funny, smiley & professional. Can't do enough, they work hard behind the scenes and in front of house and never stand around. Poolside service was, at times, inconsistent but I observed they were so busy - solution is to consider more day time staff. This was not enough of a problem to annoy me though. Management are out a lot which I have seen more and more in hotels these days. The Monday night "Manager's Cocktail" evening was the best night - fireworks and champagne and a hospitable welcome from management.
All in all I don't think you'll be disappointed. You will get your batteries recharged for sure!
Thank you for our complimentary gift at the end of the holiday. Always thinking abut the guest.
Not sure we will return in near future as we have other islands to check out but we will keep this hotel in mind!!

Room Tip: Personally, if considering value for money I would recommend an ocean view deluxe room - plenty big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
August, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and feedback which gives us strength to work harder; we all really appreciate your nice words. It was great to have you here at the Kalliston and we hope to see you soon.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.14% in overall guest satisfaction. We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

It will be great to have you back with us in the near future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed in this hotel last September (2013) and we never, ever return to a place a second time, but we are returning this year and I can't wait. Reading all the reviews it seems that there has been some changes, but we thought it was wonderful last year, although the one downside was the people who dashed to claim their chairs. I hope the staff will be more vigilant this year in taking away towels that have been placed on chairs. Some people bag their chairs and sit on them and go into breakfast as soon as it is 9am. Apart from that, watch this space for another review on our return. See you soon Atlantica, Kalliston.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
August, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It will really encourage us in order to make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the Mediterranean.

We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

Thank you for your time and support and hope to see you soon again!


Warm regards from sunny Chania,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to this wonderful hotel and it continues to impress. From welcome to farewell the staff couldn't do enough to help you. In particular the restaurant staff with the two captains Amelia and the other lady, and waiters Tonia, Katarina, Vaso, Nobert and Ermina - they all provided meal times with relaxed yet professional service. One eyebrow lift and plates cleared immediately, the atmosphere was light and staff clearly enjoyed what they were doing with some good-natured banter between them all. Food was fabulous in every respect- variety, quality and quantity.
We went half board but upgraded for a few days to all-inclusive. My only negative comment being the restriction to only 2 wines (per colour) which meant you didn't really get to try the wide variety of local (and very good) wines available. If the hotel chain would like their guests to appreciate the variety and quality of the local produce then perhaps allowing a discount off these other wines on the list would help to enhance the guests experiences and boost sales too.
As for the hotel itself - spotlessly clean, great location with stunning views from just about every where, lovely beach and hotel pools. Can't say enough about how this hotel fully encompasses the joys of an adult-only experience.
Until next year...

Room Tip: Views from the older wing are probably better and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
August, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It is very encouraging and inspiring for all of us. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.7% in overall guest satisfaction.

We all value your views and it is only by listening to you that we can improve our products and services.

Thank you for helping us and hope to see you soon!


Warm regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa

Address: Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Kalliston)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kalliston Hotel Agia Galini
Kalliston Nea Kydonia
Kalliston Hotel Nea Kydonia
Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.