We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best couples hotel ever - only one remark ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Kalliston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best couples hotel ever - only one remark ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place was simply great for us as a romantic summer getaway. We stayed for 3 nights mid July.

The service was great and they really made sure that we were supported in any way.

When we arrived they had made a little heart on the bed and a bottle of champagne.

Fitness/gym area was top.

Restaurant for both dinner and breakfasts was great.

Recommendable is the beach tavern just at the end of the resort - the lunch buffet is great.

The only thing that could improve was really the wireless connection in the rooms - connectivity was ok but the internet speed was VERY low.

Overall great stay, we are coming back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
July, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It will really encourage us in order to make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the Mediterranean.

We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team. Moreover, it is only by listening to your constructive criticism that we can get better and better.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.14% in overall guest satisfaction.

I definitely look forward to seeing you back with us in the future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Warm regards from sunny Chania,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    65
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
326
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pressath, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I never been to adult only hotel, didn't even know I had book one, I went off reviews and what I saw. This was the best 12 days of my life on this vacation. I arrived very late, after 23:00. Security met me at the bus and took my bag. Escort me to the lobby and I checked in less than 5 minutes. Knowing I was a late arrival, i had additional bread basket and salad plate in my refrigerator. Besides the fruit basket. Great first impression. I walked the area that night before heading to bed and what met me downstairs was the most beautiful sight I seen at night for a hotel. I could not wait until morning to see it in the daylight. They have a very nice main pool, large jacuzzi with a beach bar. Then there is this lagoon pool, which has the coolest aqua bar in the middle. You sit in the water on chairs and can drink you heart out. The whole layout is very well set up. No crowding, only so many sunbeds here, and there, no shoved in. Plenty of room to relax. The food was great, much to choose from, I never got bored. Dinner, "MEN" must wear long trousers, no exception, they will turn you away. However, the best part, was the hotel staff and management. The GM and Operation manager you saw from morning to night. Always stopping talking to guest. The staff are well manage, those managers treat their employees with respect and humor. All interacted professionally but also joke with each other and that reflected down to the guest they served. If I return to Crete, this is where I will return hands down.Now, not hotel related, DO NOT waste you money on any of the lagoon cruise or bay trips. The travel agents push it, again, don't do it. Over crowded, rude staff, glad I only did one. Heard the bay trip, which is a pirate boat, that was over crowded. Many at the hotel guest return and then get on it. Lost their money, but no regrets. Best thing, 4x4 trip is fun as hell, great lunch included. Also, rent a car, I did, and go to Elafonisi, its beautiful lagoon beach area, I spent the day there. Get the Mini Cooper S, its a convertible :-)

Room Tip: Beach towels included, safe in room included, bottle water daily included.....can only recommend ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
July, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It will really encourage us in order to make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the Mediterranean. I am sure we will have the chance to spend together more than 12 days in your life.

We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.14% in overall guest satisfaction.

I definitely look forward to seeing you back with us in the future. Let's make those 12 days..120...

Thank you for your time and support!


Warm regards from sunny Chania,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our 3rd 2 week visit to the Kalliston in just over a year and we would go back again if the hotel wasn`t fully booked ! There were a few improvements since last year, for example the outside dining area in the main, Deep Blue restaurant had been extended and the outside area at the Greek Taverna had been improved with more shade provided, but, even without these additions , this is still an absolutely fantastic hotel. What makes it is the wonderful staff from the General Manager to the cleaning staff. You are made to feel special as soon as you enter the hotel and, as returning guests, we were greeted like friends. The food, as always, was outstanding both in quantity and quality. The bar staff are all brilliant- they work exceptionally hard and still manage to be friendly and prepare excellent cocktails! We must mention the lovely Tasha, Events Coordinator, and the very talented and versatile Kyla+Nick( The Players) who worked tirelessly day and night providing the appropriate entertainment required. Also, Jo, the Thomson`s Rep who was always on hand and helpful and surprisingly, like Tasha , in her first season with Thomson. We would be here forever if we mentioned staff individually but suffice to say we have already booked for 2 weeks next year ! Can`t wait to return! ( We have booked 2 weeks at the Atlantica Imperial in Rhodes this September and only hope it is half as good as the Kalliston ! ). If you have been thinking of booking your holiday at The Kalliston then book it-- you won`t be disappointed and they are booking up fast for 2015.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best.Try to avoid road facing rooms.Go for the best you can afford its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
August, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was great to have you back with us for a third time and that you enjoyed yourself. Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It is very encouraging and inspiring for all of us. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.7% in overall guest satisfaction.

We all value your views and it is only by listening to you that we can improve our products and services.

Thank you for helping us and hope to see you soon!


Warm regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel lived up to the expectation, not really much to add other reviews. We stayed in a sea view room 113 which was just a few steps right from the lobby. Room was excellent but didn't have a couch or armchairs, just basic wooden chairs. View from room was really really nice, although we stayed near lobby bar, so there was music every night. This was okay for us but perhaps early sleepers wouldn't like. balcony was huge but didn't have sun beads, just chairs and a small table. Everything was spotlessly clean and worked fine. Bead was great but pillows too high for us. The fridge was bigger than normally. Water was brought twice a day by maids. Decoration was contemporary, nothing Greek to it.
Hotel had a small mini market, and there were more of them when you walked left from the hotel. Gym looked nice too, but we didn't visit there.
We stayed half board which was fine. Food was absolutely delicious and a lot of variety every day, we didn't get bored for the choice at all during the week. You get through the day fine with late breakfast and early dinner. At dinnertime the best tables (those at the outside terrace) are filled early. Service was really good.
Beach area was really nice and clean. You had to be quite early to have sun beads for shade. There were enough of them but best places were booked early. Some sun beads were booked for the whole day and people came as late as in the afternoon, which was quite rude for other guests. Nice wind came from the sea, which helped with the heat.
We took excursions to Knossos and Elafonissi beach, can really recommend both. Elafonissi was stunningly beautiful beach, but really crowded too.
Best at this hotel was its situation in the beach and near everything, food, service and nice garden. Will be going back someday!

Room Tip: At least take a seaview room, view is fantastic. I would choose swim up room next time, they seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
July, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It will really encourage us in order to make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the Mediterranean.

We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.14% in overall guest satisfaction.

I definitely look forward to seeing you back with us in the future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Warm regards from sunny Chania,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

could leave just a one liner which would be along the lines of "first class","brilliant","service second to none","great location" etc etc but will go into a little detail,
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very special and this lasted until we got on the coach to leave when the finishing touch was the management taking time out of their busy day to wish you a safe journey home and hoping to see you again. The staff just cant do enough for you and by staff I mean every one of them as normally you have your favourites but honestly you would never be able to choose as they are all simply fantastic. The hotel is in another league to other hotels and while you are there you are made to feel part of this very happy family. The hotel is spotlessly clean 24 hours a day, the rooms are fab and the beds are the most comfortable yet. The beach area is spotless and the sunbeds are sooo comfortable and modern. The food was always spot on and the choice was superb every time. The drinks were of excellent quality and presented to the highest standard.You simply cannot fault this hotel in any way, in the evening a lovely housekeeper comes around with bottles of water and sweets for your room if you are not there she does a turn down service and leaves your water and sweets at the side of your bed. The day before you leave you are given a gift from the management team of olive oil and soap with a lovely card. what a finishing touch! Simply cant say enough about this hotel you just need to go there and have the same experience as we did and you will most definitely agree with this review and want to go back. Fantastic describes it in one word. Well done to the whole team and thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
July, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It will really encourage us in order to make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the Mediterranean.

We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.14% in overall guest satisfaction.

I definitely look forward to seeing you back with us in the future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Warm regards from sunny Chania,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We came on a 7night holiday and Wished we could have statyed longer!. We were very kindly upgraded from a sea view room to a swim up room in the newer part of the hotel, as it was our silver wedding trip. We are so happy they did this, the room was perfect for us, a large terrace with chairs and sun beds and of course the direct pool access . This is something that if you can afford it just go for it!.
The room was very bright and modern with a super bathroom all done in concret, plenty of space, bathrobes etc.
Only negative was the wifi was hopeless , so slow and almost impossible to have 2 iPads on the go at the same time.
The pool areas are superb, but as high season impossible to get 2 sun beds anywhere without putting your towels out before breakfast.
The breakfast was plentiful and a lot of choice, nothing was except fresh orange juice ,which shouldn't be so hard to fix in a 5 star hotel.
As mentioned in other reviews the management are always on hand and roaming around to make sure your content, and this is a huge plus for the hotel.
The evenings are not too rowdy, a nice twosome who sing really well, pleasing all nationalities and ages.
Speaking of ages, the hotel attracts all ages and caters very well indeed for all.
We stayed on B&B, suited us fine as we could go into Chania or explore the local restaurants , all much of a muchness, Greek food isn't of Gourmet standard , and one can eat through the menu in a week.
We did try the buffe and the Greek restaurant at lunch time and it does have a very pleasing atmosphere and a lovely sea view.
The beach was sandy, and just a few stones to get passed to get into the water , christal clear and warm. Just across from the lifeguard it's easy access.
Would we come back, yes I thing we would , we were really happy and chilled here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It is very encouraging and inspiring for all of us. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.7% in overall guest satisfaction.

We all value your views and it is only by listening to you that we can improve our products and services.

Thank you for helping us and hope to see you soon!


Warm regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Have to say what a wonderful holiday we have just had here at the Kalliston, absolutely fabulous!
Firstly the staff here are amazing and all so very friendly, but I must just say a BIG thank you to the managers for their immediate response and help when my wife had a nasty injury involving a sun lounger that required hospital treatment, they couldn’t have been more helpful or concerned….I MUST reiterate that this was not a faulty sun lounger or the Hotels fault, yes it was unfortunate but an accident none the less and after a day we did not let it affect our holiday too much and we still had an amazing time.
Thanks also to Jo the Thomson rep who was also really helpful and on-the-ball with her job, despite being her first season as rep she is one of the I have ever come across.

We had a swim up room that was just perfect, maybe just a little smaller than we usually have on holidays but then we generally always upgrade to the top rooms, however we fancied the idea of a sea view swim up room this time, we were not disappointed and I would book the same again. (room 117)
Lovely comfortable bed very clean room with a good size patio leading to our shared pool, perfect for us.

The swimming pools were fabulous, the main pool by the beach bar also has a large Jacuzzi with beds in and a high power water jet and water fall, spent a lot of time just relaxing in this and it was a godsend as my wife could not get her injured fingers wet.
We loved the pool with the swim up bar, 4pm was `Cocktail` time for us and a huge BIG thanks to Stelios who ran the bar as he made this a real fun time, really decent guy too!
This pool is slopped like a beach so you just wander into it….lovely!

Lovely sandy beach that stretched around the bay for a nice little 15-20 min stroll, no stones getting into the sea either so no need for sea shoes etc..

Plenty of sunbeds around the pools and on the beach, the odd few sun bed snatchers in the morning but there really is no need for this as you can get a bed at any time, the staff did take of towels in the morning a few times and pile them up, and this did put a smile on my face!.

The food is lovely and plentiful, I cannot see how anybody can complain about the meals as there is a lot of choices for everybody and always something you can eat. The Greek and Italian restaurants are well worth going to.

Entertainment is now with resident duo called `The Players`, a really talented duo with a vast range of music for every taste, Kyla is on keyboards and lead vocals she has a really lovely voice and Nick is on guitars and also vocals, they play various sets and genres to fit the theme of that particular event, eg acoustic sets at lunchtime/afternoon, party theme with backing tracks at the Black and white night…..

As for the Black and white night, this was a nice evening but not many of us dressed in Black and white which was a shame as when they did this at the Grand Nastro Azzuri hotel in Sorrento it was a fantastic night with a great ambience..

Chania old town is amazing, really loved walking through the little lanes to the old port, plenty of bars restaurants there if you want to eat or drink, the old port is very pretty.

Wi-fi is available more or less throughout the hotel, I even received it by the pools which was great for me as I still had to keep an eye on the business.

Overall a most amazing, relaxing and lovely holiday, WE WILL BE BACK..!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
July, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review and feedback. It will really encourage us in order to make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in the Mediterranean.

We, at Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa, strive daily to present personalized service to all our guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments really make our efforts worthwhile and I will share them with the whole Kalliston team.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that have visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013-2014 have rated us at 96.14% in overall guest satisfaction.

I definitely look forward to seeing you back with us in the future.

Thank you for your time and support!


Warm regards from sunny Chania,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa

Address: Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Kalliston)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kalliston Hotel Agia Galini
Kalliston Nea Kydonia
Kalliston Hotel Nea Kydonia
Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.