We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agii Apostoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa
Save Saved
You added Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Kalliston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
London
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

All the great things being said about this hotel really are true! Thank you to all the staff who made this or best holiday! The beach, location, rooms, surrounding scenery, food, swimming pools, bars, entertainment were all exceptional.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting our services in order to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”.
The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

I look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    59
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
298
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool uk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at the Atlantica at the end of the season ( we were the last guests!) and whilst the Hotel was only about 25% full the staff made us feel very welcome and the service and quality of the food was excellent .Would go back in a heartbeat and are looking forward to our next stay .Some tips :
* Don't bother with your own towels you get these every other day
* wi fi bit patchy but promised better next year but you have free internet access in lobby
* You get a free bottle of water in your room every day and tea and coffee making facilities
* use your fridge see found drinks expensive ( although wine in the restaurant wasn't and very good)so buy some drinks from local supermarket and keep in fridge

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of hotel as this seemed very slightly better than the refurbished par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests; your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team to keep up the good work in order to achieve our ultimate goal: to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award 2013 which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,

Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just back from the Kalliston- we were the last group of guests to leave before the hotel closed for winter. The only sign that the hotel was closing was the reducing number of guests, seemed to be more staff than guests!
This hotel is a Thompson Couples hotel- great for those with a grown-up family.
The rooms are excellent with good sized bathrooms.
The wifi coverage is amazing- we were able to use our smartphones everywhere, even on the beach!
We were half board, and took up the option to have inclusive drinks (24€ pp per day). Pretty sure we were ahead of the game by the end(!).
The staff are very friendly and helpful, from the management to the room cleaners.
Thompson reps were in attendance at the hotel every day, which was a nice change from relying on their (UK based) telephone helpline. We booked an excursion to walk one of the gorges, but 12 hours ahead, they cancelled it. Reason?- not enough people had booked! Very disappointed with this attitude- they should have arranged a minibus and driver to take the half dozen guests to the gorge and pick them up later, rather than cancel at very short notice. Not impressed with Thompson.
The slight downside at the hotel was the evening entertainment- pretty much the same stuff every night. One performer was excellent, the other must have been told he was a good singer at some stage, but was thankfully swamped by his backing music. This was made worse by the lack of local places to wander to in the evenings, it was the hotel or a bus ride to Chania.
Overall an excellent holiday, and judging by the number of people on return visits, they're doing things very well. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.
The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on working hard in order to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

I look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day holiday in this hotel from the 15th to the 25th of October. We travelled with Thompsons who were great, but the hotel staff were fabulous also. Nothing was too much trouble and we were upgraded to a ground floor swim up room which was the ultimate in luxury and relaxation. The food at this hotel is second to none and you can relieve your guilt by partaking in the yoga, pilates, body-stretch, tai chi and meditation classes along with a workout in the fully equipped gym. If you possibly needed anything at all it was just a phone call away to reception and your request was met within minutes. My husband and I found Manilos (I don't know if I've spelled his name correctly) particularly helpful and so kind and understanding. The town of Chania itself is absolutely wonderful with a bus running regularly right outside the hotel which only takes about 10 mins into town. The town has everything a cosmopolitan visitor would want. The other thing to avail of is the wonderful spa treatments at the hotel where the girls work their magic on mind and body. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone from old to young couples. The beach is also beautiful and you can have your feet nibbled for free by the little fish around the rocks. Don't forget to pay a visit to the little church on the hill to the right of the hotel which has lovely views. I could wax lyrical about this holiday for ever, but please just go and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the ground floor swim up ones are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests; your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team to keep up the good work in order to achieve our ultimate goal: to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award 2013 which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day All Inclusive holiday at this wonderful hotel. We had a first floor room which was enormous. Super-kingsize bed, settee, small table and chairs, should we choose to have room service and then a reasonable sized balcony with a sea view.

The gardens are well kept and the rooms spotless. It is on lots of different levels and finding your way around is a bit of a puzzle at first. Having said that, following a very pleasant welcome with a delicious cold drink and an icy cool towel to refresh us from the journey (the temperature was 27 degrees when we arrived), we were shown to our room by one of the very friendly ladies from reception. Shown how everything worked and invited to go for lunch, in the taverna style lunchtime restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble.

The reps from Thomson, Nita and the entertainment host Shanee were kind, helpful and informative.

There were, I understand, good Spa facilities which I did not use, and Al a carte restaurants, which again I did not use as the main buffet restaurant was so good. A tremendous range of foods available for both breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is straight onto the beach with masses of sunbeds both on the beach and the swimming poool areas. Towels for swimming can be changed each day. There are plenty of rooms with pools but I have to say that I could see no advantage and they certainly were not private. They all looked very nice though.

We celebrated an anniversary whilst we were there and we received a delicious cake and a bottle of wine along with an arrangement in the shape of a heart. All very nice and unexpected.

All the staff were friendly and helpful without exception. Local buses to Chania stop just outside the hotel and cost just 1.50 Euros each way. It is a lovely old city with oodles of charm.

I can't praise this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We were in 612 which was quieter than some areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests; your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team to keep up the good work in order to achieve our ultimate goal: to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award 2013 which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

Thank you for your time and continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel spoilt by shutting down while we are still here which has spoilt our holiday we dont want to be lying where we are told to we found a lovely pool area to find this morning with 4 days left of our holiday that the sunbeds and cushions have been taken away reason why the cats !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

I understand your comments and slight frustration and I can assure you that no staff member of Atlantica Kalliston was informed to do so and if you felt that the hotel was in the closing process I apologize on behalf of everybody here at Kalliston; it was definitely not done intentionally. The whole team has been informed accordingly of the matter.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests; your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team to keep up the good work in order to achieve our ultimate goal: to exceed your expectations.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal and TUI Nordic guests awarded us with the silver medal of the “Blue Awards”. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award 2013 which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all wish our guests to be happy and to see them back in our hotel over and over again.

Thank you for your time and your continuous support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yate, null, United Kingdom
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had like, everyone, scoured trip advisor well before I booked my holiday. My partner and I both work in a hotel, so when we read reviews there are some things that we read that we can understand why things are done the way they are. We see reviews and think it's probably not that bad people are just exaggerating, we understand how it works behind the scenes.

So looking at the reviews of the Atlantica kalliston we were very pleased. It all looked perfect and relaxing and there were hardly any bad reviews if any.

We booked with Thomson for all inclusive for 7 nights, we chose to go for the sea view room choice because yes the road was noisy but hey it's a sea view not a bad life!
We also booked with them to have a stay at gatwick airport which included airport parking for the whole time we were away, much cheaper than booking separately.
When we arrived in Greece there were 3 Thomson ladies, very easy to spot, who where there to help us get to the hotel. They were welcoming and helpful, asking us about where we were staying and then told us what number our bus to the hotel would be.
On the bus we were given a registration form, which we filled out before they started moving, making our lives much easier when checking in.
When we arrived at the hotel, the bus driver found our luggage and brought it in for us, where we we're meet with a welcome drink and hot towel to freshen up.
We went to our room and dropped off any excess luggage, just in time for lunch.
After popping down to the Greek tavern for some very good lunch, lots of choice, we arrived back at our room with our suitcases waiting for us.
After unpacking we went for a wonder around the beautiful hotel and beach area.

At the hotel during check in, we were told that there would be a welcome talk the next day. At the welcome talk we were offered a drink (orange juice or an ouzo cocktail like sambuca) and a little sample of one of the two of diamonds, a very talented young man. There they explained about excursions and places nearby to visit.

We stopped off the in the bar before dinner and every night we were greeted by the happy face of 'Elina' she was a pleasure to talk to and very hospitable. As we were all inclusive, we didn't pay for the many piña coladas I had or the mojitos my partner had. However there was never any pressure to tip, but because of the prompt and brilliant service we received, we were more than happy to tip on many occasions.

We tipped in the main restaurant, which may have been a bit odd for some people as it was all buffet service, but 'Alexis' was so on the ball with drinks and always keeping your wine and water glasses topped up, that we happily left tips in the box on the way out of the restaurant.

Now I read a review about someone complaining about the lack of drinks on the menu for the all inclusive choice, i found there to be A LOT of choice and I will be uploading pictures of the menu. Every item's price that has two ** next to it are inclusive which is a lot with a wide variety. It includes lots of cocktails, spirits, brandy, rum, liqueurs, soft drinks, Pepsi, lemonade, juice, water, bottles of wine! Etc.

I didn't use the spa area but it was always tidy and clean.

Now the pools, yes they are colder than you'd probably prefer, but when the temperatures are 28°C or higher and you're just sitting in the sun soaking up all the heat it'll feel even colder. My advice, there are showers by the pools stand under those until you feel a little chilly then the pool feels quite nice. Or alternatively jump in the pool for a couple of seconds then go straight to the sea and the sea becomes lovely and warm, a bit like having a bath. The sea was clean and clear, I could easily see all the little fishes swimming around us.

We ate in the Italian one night and that was delicious, the environment was romantic and relaxing. The food was incredible and you could see the pizzas being prepared and then cooked in the pizza oven.

All in all this was one of the best holidays I have ever been on. I think Thomson helped a lot with making the holiday as good as it was. The staff and food also helped a lot. I took €380 with me and came back with €300. I had no need for money aside from tips and the occasional non inclusive drink.

I wish i didn't have to leave but unfortunately real life beckoned and we finished up our best holiday until the next time I can get back to the kalliston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review and feedback, which we will use constructively in an effort to perfect our services even more and make Atlantica Kalliston the best “adults only” resort in Crete.

The Atlantica Kalliston Resort and Spa team strives daily to present personalized service to all its guests; your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team to keep up the good work in order to achieve our ultimate goal: to exceed your expectations. It becomes even greater when it comes from hospitality colleagues like yourselves.

In 2013 TUI UK guests awarded our accommodation services with the Gold Medal. The TripAdvisor reviewers that visited Atlantica Kalliston in 2013, rated it at 96% in overall guest satisfaction. That is why we were awarded with the Travelers’ choice Award 2013 which is given to less than 1% of all the accommodations listed on Tripadvisor.

We all look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Thank you for your time and honest support!


Best Regards,


Dimitris Perrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa

Address: Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Kalliston)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kalliston Hotel Agia Galini
Kalliston Nea Kydonia
Kalliston Hotel Nea Kydonia
Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.