We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agii Apostoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa
Save
You added Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Kalliston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing with great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Returned a week ago from the Atlantica Kalliston and thought it was worth giving this hotel a review. We had booked to go to Egypt but decided against it and swapped to Crete which I must admit was a good move. When we arrived at the hotel we were met with a lovely cold drink not long after we were shown to our room which had been upgraded to an Executive Suite - we have never been upgraded on anything so my husband and I were really pleased. The room itself was comfortable clean and were in room 701 which overlooked the sea and the pools which was great we had a very large balcony and would sit there and just watch the world go by. We had been to Dubai earlier in the year and stayed at The One & Only on the Palm and knew that whichever hotel in whichever country we stayed in would never compare but was pleasantly surprised with the Kalliston. The only negative point for us is that the bathroom did seem dated and needed refurbishing. When we had a shower the water would run along the side of the screen straight onto the floor. Also the bath seemed quite high to get out of onto the floor which was fine for us but we had noticed that nearly 85% of the residents were definitely over 70!! which may cause a problem for them. Saying that because this was a couples hotel it was really quiet with four pools so there was always a bed to be found. You were not able to put a towel down before 9.30 and if you did the management would take it away which I think is a great idea and should be put into practice for all hotels. The highlight of this holiday for us at this hotel was the amazing food. We were half board and the breakfast and evening meal was absolutely fantastic the chef needs to be complimented on this. The only gripe we had was that we didn't mind paying for beers wine etc but felt if we had a coke or lemonade we still had to pay for this also water which I find really bad. If they sorted this out this would be a wonderful. We had a small meal for lunch once at the pool bar and also at the bar by the swim up pool and these were very good too. All in all I would recommend this holiday for couples but if you are under 50 maybe this would not be for you as there are no water sports etc. We did travel into Chania by bus and found this to be great. A beautiful little harbour with lots of shops and restaurants. A tip is don't eat on the harbour go into the little back streets the food is delicious and half the price.

I hope this review is helpful and if you are thinking of going to Crete don't think do it!!

Room Tip: 701 as I said is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    66
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
333
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We came to Crete in May this year and stayed at the Elounda Village, also part of Thomson's Couples holidays, so comparing the two really. I emailed the hotel and asked for a jacuzzi room. We got one and it is massive with the largest balcony I have ever encountered (room 344). Only problem is that 1. It backs onto the noisy main road 2. There is no privacy whatsoever and 3. The jacuzzi is freezing. However, I did manage to bear the temperature today the neighbours got intrigued and were testing the temperature of their jacuzzis thinking they had suddenly been heated. Nope, I had to try. Once in and used to the temperature it isn't actually that bad. Anyway, the food and service is fantastic and on par with the Elounda Village. It has a beach which is wonderful whereas the Elounda does not. The setting for the Elounda Village outweighs the Kalliston though by far. Overall, this is a fantastic hotel and if you fancy going then definitely ask for a sea view with balcony and then Email the hotel and say you want one nearest the beach. The non sea view rooms have a balcony facing the road and it isn't the most picturesque view either! Would we go again? Yes, without doubt.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from spending a superb 14 night holiday here. Everything was really great from the champagne on arrival ,the upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony, champagne , fruit and pastries in the room(338)
The staff were friendly and attentive, the food at breakfast and in the evening was excellent with plenty of choice and with speciality nights as well. Stelios at the swim up bar deserves a special mention for his friendly service and wicked cocktails. The entertainment was good and the Thomson team again were superb.
Being a couples only hotel it was quiet and relaxing.
The management team were in evidence from morning till night making certain everything ran like clockwork.
This somewhere we will definitely return to and have a swim up room facing the poolbar

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent a week at the Atlantica Kalliston from 3rd September for our honeymoon and had the most amazing time. The food was perfect in all restaurants, always fresh and tasty. The starter at the Greek restaurant was a surprise with around 15 different dishes for four of us! We had a swim-up sea-view room with was luxurious, the bed was huge and soooooo comfy! All of the staff were helpful and friendly - especially the lovely Elena! The beach was clean and the waiters made sure you never went thirsty ;-) I can't recommend this hotel enough it was just perfection!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from Kalliston Spa Hotel, had a lovely holiday.
Food was the best that we have had at a hotel, we ate at the Italian one evening which was again lovely food and roof top location.
Waiter service was exceptional, particularly Andreas and Maria. If Andreas was on waiter service on the beach during the day he would go out of his way to provide excellent service, strawberry milkshake were our day time favourite.
The sea was the warmest I have ever been in and so lovely and clear. Lunch time food at the Taverna was good with wine, water or beers available however I did find the food a bit the same every day, not much variation, evening food in main restaurant though was exceptional.
Entertainment was low key with resident duo The two of Diamonds, I did enjoy the music though especially down on the beach, Greek dancing was also good.
In the day on 2 occasions we caught local bus to Chania for 2 euro each way, we took ride on horse and cart and a drink at harbour side bars.

We had a Junior suite, free upgrade room overlooking the beach.

The staff and management at the hotel were all introduced to us on the last evening followed by firework display on the beach, all in all a lovely holiday relaxing on the beach or by the pool each day with excellent service by the staff, I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Email hotel hotel to request free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from a second wondeful two week stay at the Kalliston. We were there also in May. The service is excellent in both the restaurants and the bars. We never had to wait long for drinks even when the hotel was full. The quality and choices of food in the main buffet was amazing. We chose this time to have half board with the drinks package which was good value as we got two days for free. It meant we could have as many drinks as we wanted, including cocktails, wines and spirits and there is a lot of choice.

The hotel has a sun-beds policy, which they do adhere to. Any towels on sun-beds will be removed after 9.30am if the sun-beds are not occupied. It works really well which means that there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone around the pool and especially on the beach.

The entertainment was, as expected, low key, but very good. Two of Diamonds (aka Cassie and Connor) are very talented singers and provided different types of music each time they played. There was also a Greek Night with local musicians and dancers and another duo who played and sang very well. It is not the kind of hotel that has shows or nightclubs or noise. It is for a more relaxing time although there is opportunity for dancing.

There was a good mixed age group not at all mostly over 50. Everyone we spoke to was having a wonderful time.

The rooms are lovely. We had a jacuzzi room which was very spacious and we used the jacuzzi several times, as did our neighbours. The pools are lovely and although not heated were not cold and I did a lot of swimming since the weather was so good. The sea was lovely.

The Kalliston is a hotel of quality, and we have travelled a great deal, and is one of the best we have stayed in. The staff are friendly yet respectfull.

Just a few special thanks to Stelios in the Aqua Bar, Andrey, Maria and all the other bar staff.

We look forward to returning next season.

We had an excursion on the 'Fun Train' (Pleasures of Crete) which we can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Sea views are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District - Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Over the years we have been very fortunate to have stayed in some of the best hotels in Crete. Well, the Kalliston is up there with the best. Very slick on arrival, answered my email within two hours of sending it, good all round reception.

We required a high floor sea view room in a quiet section of the hotel, and on arrival were taken to room 340. Although accessed from the front of the hotel, the room extended on to a large sea view balcony with a small plunge pool jacuzzi. We had read some comments concerning road noise, but these rooms were upgraded, set bck from the front road and we experienced no problems.

Our room was well furnished in a modern style and had a very comfortable bed, nice bathroom with fitted shower, flat screen tv in the main room, fridge safe, etc.

Food in both the main restaurant and the lunch time beach restaurant were very good, no need to use the a la carte venues.

If you are a sun bed reserver this hotel is not for you! A brilliant system is in place that does not allow any reservation of sunbeds before 9.30am in the morning. We would have breakfast at around 8.30am and some people would be out trying to reserve sunbeds and then come in for breakfast. Not here, the pool man would very carefully remove all your towels, books, sunglasses, bags, snorkels etc and place them by the pool bar for your return at 9.30am to 10am. When you returned it was likely someone would be sitting on the beds you tried to reserve. Its a brilliant system backed 100% by the management, no greasy bed man taking back handers for reserving beds.

This is a couples hotel booked through Thomson in the UK and no children under sixteen are allowed here. If you are a young couple you may find that the guests are of a more mature age, in fact 90% I would say were above 50 years old, but it makes for a very relaxing holiday - no yobish behaviour in or around the pool or bar areas.

We stayed fully inclusive and looking at the half board prices for both food and drinks we were pleased with our choice. Some standard rooms without sea view are not recommended as these can overlook the road, but most room are well placed.

Great Hotel, great service - no worries here. Just book it and enjoy it! We are for next year!

Room Tip: Request a high floor sea view room - some standard rooms without sea view are not recommended as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa

Address: Glaros - Nea Kydonia, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Kalliston)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#3 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kalliston Hotel Agia Galini
Kalliston Nea Kydonia
Kalliston Hotel Nea Kydonia
Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Kalliston Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.