We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid hotel & close to a fine sandy, clear water beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yakinthos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Yakinthos Hotel to your Saves list
Yakinthos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A splendid hotel & close to a fine sandy, clear water beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed for two weeks & found this establishment to be very good. The staff were friendly & helpful. The breakfast buffet was extremely plentiful with a wide range of choice & of good quality. Our room was comfortable, somewhat basic but ideal for the excellent hot weather we enjoyed. The air-conditioning was essential but very effective. The attractive pool was clean, well maintained & ideal for family use. Within a short walk was an excellent beach - especially for families (which was not our case). The several tavernas within walking distance were a treat to visit with cheerful and attentive staff providing first class cuisine. Chania is very worth a visit by the bus which runs frequently with tickets available at the hotel reception. One 'down' issue for the Yakinthos is the main road which is close to the south side. We would advise a room away from that busy street. Otherwise - well done all at Yakinthos !!

Room Tip: North facing room would be preferential away from the noise of the main road. Worth paying for Air-c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    70
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
126
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Clean room, bathroom is basic, but ok. I gave cleanliness a 4 because of the bathroomplumbing (water coming out of the hole in the floor when you flush out your sink. According to the personnel it is 'greek plumbing' :-). Do not let it stop you from going here. Staff is wonderfull, nothing is to much! Clean pool, even quiet during high season. Great breakfast and the beach is just 100 meter away. The rooms on the streetside are to noisy if you like sitting on your balcony. If you are away everyday like we did, It will not bother you. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Cheap and fairly nice hotell, close to great beach (50 meters) with bars, restaurants and sun chairs. Lovely pool and VERY friendly staff that helps with all your questions. "Maria" is awesome! :) Bustickets for 1.50 euros (bought from reception) take you to center of Chania in 20 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just spent two superb weeks here,excellent rooms and a breakfast that has to be seen to be believed. Niki, Maria and the rest of the staff were very friendly making sure we enjoyed our visit especially in the evenings when Maria and Niki would bring nibbles with our methos. Would visit again no problem

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a fantastic little hotel the staff could not do enough for you, the rooms were spotless clean. The breakfast was a buffet with lots to choose from hot and cold the best choice we have ever had. The pool was lovely with plenty of shade (it was 43 a couple of days we were there).Maria is lovely girl always pleasant and smiling.There is free Wifi and computer in reception to use. There are plenty of places to eat we tried the one next to hotel name is in greek Ouzion think it means Olive good home cooked food the Moussaka was the best I have had. We also ate at Ozon, Sirroccos overlooking the beach lovely sunset from here and great Chocolate pudding ,& Flamingo,all good meals our favourite was the Italian Nesaki up the road in Kalamaki great seafood. another favourite was hotel Talos the food here was great some of the best we have had in Greece.
The same as previous report we went on Iguana beach lovely little beach with bar, toilets,first aid tent & lifeguard the loos are worth a visit all trimmed up inside. All the beaches have great sand and shallow water.We went on the little train twice once to Grand Canyon and also The Pleasures of Crete 2 great trips. we did the hop on hop off bus trip round Chania didn't stop many times for you to hop off but worth the ride to see parts of Chania you would never see. We had a great holiday and would love to go back someday.

Room Tip: quiet rooms at back of hotel or overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just returned from two weeks at this hotel. What a lovely place it is! It is extremely clean and fresh (something not always available in Greece). The bedroom was spotless and the bed crisp, clean and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast offers something for everyone - again more than the usual marble cake and eggs we have previously encountered! Try the warm rice pudding - not usual for breakfast admittedly, but absolutely scrummy!
The staff are very polite and helpful, although it was sometimes difficult to get lunch or drinks at the poolside bar as it was, more often than not, unmanned. That said, the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The temperatures were abnormally high for June - got to 43 degrees at one point - so the air conditioning was a welcome relief. Not noisy either. A very comfortable room.
The pool is also kept clean and there are comfortable sunbeds. You can always find an available one, no matter what time you arrive at the poolside.
It is also only a short walk down to the beaches with lots of excellent tavernas. Although the cost of a sunbed on Iguana Beach is a little higher than the other beaches, it is well worth it. The beach is clean and well managed - it calls itself the "ethnik beach" - easy to see why. We would highly recommend - Piato's, Talos and the Italian, Nesaki - facing Bamboo Bar. Had the best ever Arrabiatta there!
A trip into Chania is a must - it is gorgeous! Go in the evening to see it lit up - amazing. Also try the Italian restaurant up the side street - Veneto. A really lovely meal served by a really nice chap with a pony tail who doesn't play the saxophone! Again, excellent food.
Regarding trips, have a look at the trips offered by the train station (the little road train) situated by Iguana beach. Went to the Grand Canyon on this little train and it was really good - though a bit of a bone shaker.
All-in-all we had a fab holiday here at the Yakinthos Hotel and would highly recommend it. Just one thing to be aware of, it is situated on quite a busy road.
Definitely a good find!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will be noisy due to the traffic on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have just returned from a most wonderful two weeks holiday in Crete helped in every way by our stay at the Yakinthos Hotel. What a gem of a place! Greeted with orange juice we were quickly checked in and shown to our room which overlooked the pool.The room wasn't luxurious but had everything we needed. A proper hairdryer for a change too instead of one of those silly things attached to a wall in the bathroom! We found it was too hot to sit on our balcony on a morning but by midday the sun had moved round and it was a joy to sit out there, sometimes eating lunch, sometimes just taking in the peace and quiet that oozed from the hotel and always having a chilled glass of wine there before venturing out for our evening meal. I can echo Mick and Sue's comments (who we met - hi there!). The staff were the best we've ever come across in a hotel, breakfast was the best we've ever encountered in a Greek hotel of this standard and our holiday was one of the best sun/sea holidays we've ever had. It was lovely to sit on one of the very nice sunloungers in the shade of the magnificent bouganvillia in an afternoon.
Being on B&B gave us chance to sample the many local restaurants and tavernas around the area. Piato was definitely our favourite followed closely by 'the restaurant next door' (whose name was in Greek). We also walked down to Kalamarki on a couple of occasions with restaurants right by the sea. There were plenty of others too further towards the sea.
Chania is a short bus ride away. Tickets are 1 euro 50 which you can get from reception, or failing that from the supermarket next door. A beautiful city and worth a few trips and an evening meal in the back streets of the old town.
The hop on/hop off bus is definitely worth doing as it takes you outside the centre of Chania out to Souda Bay.
We also went on one of the little road trains which pass the hotel. There are a number of trips to do on these. We did 'Southern Comfort' which took us along the coast to Maleme and the German war cemetery and then up into the hills. We arrived back four hours later! Well worth 17 euros.
Just a word of warning. Most places want payment by cash, including the hotel. We'd put drinks , safe etc on the bill to pay at the end but they still wanted cash. It wasn't a problem for us but best to know.
The free wifi was brilliant but having the free use of a computer is certainly unknown to us. Just another sign of a fantastic hotel.
Will we go back? Definitely! We rarely go back to the same place twice (lots to see in this world) but I think we'll be making an exception in this case! can't wait! Thank you! Elaine and John :)

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool or at least at the back of the hotel away from the main road would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Yakinthos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakinthos Hotel

Address: 1 Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#4 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yakinthos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHANIA HOTEL YAKINTHOS Near city and only 50 m. from the clearest sandy beach of Agii Apostoli. Yakinthos is very good solution for those people who want to enjoy their stay away from the crowds but still very close to all sights of interest and the resort hot spots of Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Yakinthos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yakinthos Hotel Chania
Yakinthos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yakinthos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.