We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff & hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ammos Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agii Apostoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ammos Hotel
Save
You added Ammos Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Heated pool
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Galway
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant staff & hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

From the moment we made contact with Nikos in relation to staying in the hotel, the service was superb. We travelled in April, before the school holidays - it is a very child/family friendly place and that wasn't something we necessarily wanted, going purely for relaxation and rest. There were a few families there with children but all remarkably well behaved and actually quite precocious and entertaining - as opposed to being a noisy army running riot everywhere!
The hotel is located outside the city of Chania easily reached by taxi or bus. In the area, I thought the restaurant in the hotel was the best. We didn't wander far.
Our room was on the ground floor, overlooking the sea and the pool. Air conditioning, wifi, kitchen, FANTASTIC shower in the bathroom with gorgeous complimentary toiletries. We had a small patio area and the entire complex was beautifully maintained - gardens, amazing cacti, restaurant area, public toilets - everything.
The hotel has sunloungers on the beach as well - and no charge either!
Cannot recommend this hotel and the staff enough - it was a superb relaxing break and I will go back - although I will make sure it's out of (school holiday) season. Thanks to all the staff there - just brilliant.

Room Tip: A ground floor room, facing the sea - simply step over the wall of the little balcony and straight i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    56
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
180
231
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We spent one week there early May and it is certainly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Perfect with a young child; the rooms are very clean, comfortable, the breakfast is amazing with lovely local produce, the location is fantastic and the staff so friendly and helpful, speaking English, good French and genuinely give their time to make your time there a real holiday and sharing their lovely island with you. We would definitely go back there and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a brilliant 10-days at Ammos in July this year. Couldn't recommend it more highly. The setting and decoration of the Hotel are brilliant. As a fan of contemporary art and furniture it really appealed. Despite this it is unbelievably family focused (NB: if you are a couple...go outside of school holidays, but you surely know that already?). The food is excellent and not OTT expensive. It works for adults and kids alike. The wine list is Cretan only, but that works for me as I want to taste the local stuff when I travel.

Despite all of the above, the thing that makes Ammos special isn't the setting, the decor, the food and wine...it is the staff. Nikos deserves high praise for his recruitment, because they are to a man/woman the most friendly and helpful people we've come across at a Hotel. Poppy, who manages the restaurant, is a delight. Just be careful of her Father's raki...excellent way to finish a meal, but don't have too many!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room...nothing beats waking to the glassy Med!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My 3rd visit, even better than before. No point repeating all the things that everyone else has said (amazing service, food, location, yadda yadda)...so have left some photos of one of the things I adore most about this amazing hotel....how it looks. Nikos has such an amazing eye and attention to detail, his love for this hotel is evident every time you turn a corner. Which is why I love it too. Thanks everyone for a wonderful fortnight, we miss it like crazy.

Room Tip: Room 37 can be seen from the restaurant - handy for leaving kids sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Yes, this place is as wonderful as all the reviews say! We spent 5 nights here in the garden suite, which was perfect for myself, my wife, and our 2 year old. When we arrived to find the bedding in our son's crib turned down with a chocolate mint on the pillow, I knew we were in for a special stay. The location is ideal as the pool is situated quite close to a beautiful beach with always available lounge chairs. The design of the hotel truly stands out as colours abound in the lobby and in the room. Breakfast was wonderful each morning, as we started each day with fresh squeezed juice from Chania's fantastic oranges. We also enjoyed room service for lunch and took the opportunity to sample from their daily menu of specials. What really makes this hotel stand out even more are the staff. What an incredible group of people. The front desk personnel are incredibly helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. Service in the restaurant, the cleaning service, the care at the little gym for our 2 year old son...everyone was always so attentive and friendly.
Nikos, the owner, was fantastic throughout our stay, beginning with our email exchange when he was immensely helpful and attentive when planning our trip. He also offered us excellent restaurant advice during our stay and his suggestions were perfect and helped us find many different wonderful dining experiences in Chania. There are so many little touches and features in this hotel that stand out and make it unique. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The most wonderful summer holiday so far! Small hotel with an absolutely perfect design. Every single thing works here. The rooms are nice, not too big, but you get everything you need. Breakfast and dinner are served mostly outside, but you always have the feeling of being "at home" and protected from the sun. Beach is ideal for children - sandy, protected from big waves, clean. Comfortable sun beds and umbrellas free of charge (beach towels as well). The most delicious breakfast: fresh salads, olives, cheese, cherries, water mellon, pears and other fruits, a yoghurt to die for, cretan honey, outstanding cakes, homemade ice tea etc... All super fresh, nicely presented and full of fantasy. Dinner is a la carte: reasonable prices (40 - 60 Eur for 2 adults and 2 children including drinks), day specialities, all fresh, genuine and tasty.
But the best thing about this hotel is the service. You always have a feeling that you are welcome, that you are at home and that you don't have to worry about anything. There is always somebody to help you and every single member of the hotel staff makes an impression that he or she loves his/her work. I travel a lot for my work but I have never experienced such a natural hospitality and care. From restaurant service to trip ideas. It is difficult to describe it, you have to experience it.
Many thanks to Nikos and his staff. If you are looking for a wonderful holiday, go to AMMOS. You will be overwhelmed, how a seaside hotel can be run!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent a lovely week at the hotel. The rooms are lovely, the staff are perfect and the location / beach is the best I have encountered. If you have children the of course he rooms next to the pool may be perfect. If you want a quieter stay then stay away from those. Whatever you choose you will not be disappointed. Thank you Nicos you gave us a week to remember.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Address: Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ammos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ammos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.