We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ammos Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Agii Apostoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ammos Hotel
Save Saved
You added Ammos Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Agii Apostoli
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

All the reviews we read prior to visiting the Ammos Hotel said it was a great place to go, but that didn't do it enough justice...it was much much better! The warmth of the greeting was exceptional, not over the top, just friendly and welcoming, we relaxed and felt at home immediately.

The hotel is immaculate, beautifully designed with simple style and quirky features. The location is about as good as you can get as it sits on the side of a small beach meaning that you go to sleep at night to the sound of the waves lapping onto the shore.

As for the service, well what can we say...WOW! Nothing was a problem and the team have found the right mix of friendliness, fun with absolute professionalism - they had a lot of patience and a sense of humour as we tried to learn one or two words of Greek...Efharisto (thank you) Poppy & Stavrola.

We stayed in room 19 which was perfect for the week, sitting on the balcony watching the sun set, drinking Gin & Tonic overlooking the sea was special. The food was excellent and we can recommend the Mezze for lunch.

Overall, thank you to Nikos and the amazing team for making our stay so enjoyable, we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view to add that little bit extra to your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    50
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
170
221
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north east england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

From the minute we arrived until the minute we left, we had the most fantastic service from everyone who works here.
The hotel itself is impeccably decorated with the most tasteful and quirky furnishings and is immaculately clean. The bedroom was gorgeous, comfortable and spacious with beautiful views of the sea. A lovely little balcony with table and chairs to enable us to enjoy the gorgeous views, with fresh fruit and flowers on arrival. Toiletries are lovely, organic and smelling fresh.
The hotel is situated right on the beach with safe bathing which is ideal for children. The pool area is just as the rest of the hotel, safely built with none slip surface of a mosaic made of pebbles.
However all of those positives fade into insignificance in regards to the standard of hospitality shown to us by each and everyone of the staff. The owner Nikos is always available and takes time to get know the guests and helped us celebrate our anniversary by giving us a bottle of wine as a gift. Poppy provides the most amazing presence, she is always bubbly, sociable and friendly but very professional. She really goes the extra mile to make sure we are catered for with our food and drinks (even provided cream to ease mosquito bites). Demetrio who works on reception gave us fantastic advice on where to eat locally, the other reception staff (sorry don't know all their names) gave us advice on where to visit, how to get there etc. etc.
I could not recommend this hotel enough it was the most wonderful experience and we will definitely be back. Thanks to you all. xx

Room Tip: Definitely sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is the little hotel by which all family-friendly accommodations will forevermore be judged. I didn't know until I went here that there were such places! Low key, relaxed, completely family-accommodating, AND CHIC! Great food, great people, loved it. If I could plant this place in other destinations, I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I really don't know where to start. It's just one of the most perfect little family friendly hotels we have ever been. First of all the staff are just simpley wonderful. From the moment we walked in, we felt like at home. Kids are No.1 for everyone working there. It is a bit away from the man roads, so it's really safe for the kids to run around. In the evening, there's always someone looking out for the kids that play outside, while the parents are truely enjoying their dinner. The food is great! In the morning you can endulge yourself on a fantastic breakfast buffet with a never ending joice. Breakfast is open till 11am, so even with kids, you can fully enjoy it after a nice lay in and a holiday like start of the day. In the evenings we wanted to go out so many times but always stayed in for dinner. We just did not feel the need on missing out on the Ammos food:)

We met lots of families with kids staying there, and sooner or later we all melted into one big family sitting together, laughing, discussing and getting served great food at the same time. Penelope (Poppy) will take very great care of you. Trust her advice on whats good on the menu! We have not been disappointed once. In the end of the evening everyone will sit around the table like a big family.

The facilities are perfect for families, the beach is 1min away from your room, a pool overlooking the beach is right in front of the hotel. The water in the sea is shallow, so really fantastic for kids. There's a play room for the kids. It's open all day and in the evenings there's professional care for the kids.

The rooms are very clean, stylish and well equipped. The qulaity of the mattresses and pillows is top. We slept so well. We stayed in a room with a balcony and a superb view onto the sea, so all we heard when falling asleep is the waves.

One place to go back! Just WOW!!!

A big "Thank you" to the whole team on Ammos!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great staff, helpful, good buffet, very fresh ingredients, nice hotel and room design, good recommendations for further visits, nice beach, great scuba dive sites close to the hotel, best hotel which we had during our visit to Greece.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

When people say this hotel is perfect, they really mean this hotel is perfect. We had an absolutely wonderful stay here because of the terrific design, excellent food, and amazing service. It was our first time in Chania and Crete and wanted to stay at the beach rather than in the city. I’m glad we did it this way. The hotel itself was fairly newly renovated so you get the advantage of modern conveniences in an “older town”. I loved the design. It was contemporary and atypical, but definitely gave nods to its Cretan and Greek roots. Everything was well maintained and clean. I couldn’t believe we got such an amazing hotel at such a great price point.

Old Town Chania is easily accessible from the hotel by bus. The hotel even sells bus tickets so you can be ready at the bus stop and on your return. The bus stop is about 2 blocks away and a 15-20 minute bus ride. It comes pretty frequently as the road and area is a little on the dense side. I was actually a little surprised on how residential and populated the area felt, but in all, if you can look past all of the buildings around you, the scenery was just wonderful. The beach has loungers for guests only, and you look out to the beautiful sea. We never had a problem getting chairs. We were able to get a sea view room and it was utterly fantastic waking up and sitting on our balcony in the mornings. The restaurant was very reasonable for what you got, and the food delicious. It felt like someone’s mother was cooking in the kitchen that is how authentic the food tasted. The dinner menu changed very regularly so you won’t have to eat the same thing twice on your stay. I didn’t think we would use the kitchen very much, but there were a couple times when we had leftovers and just warmed it up for either breakfast or lunch the next day. The kitchen does come with a handful of essentials so you don’t have to worry about buying much. And if you do, there are several bodegas within walking distance. There is also a large grocery store about a mile away if you need it. The hotel is family friendly. While children do not and did not bother me, this was definitely not an adults only or sandals type of experience. You will see kids and their parents.

The Ammos is a small hotel amongst bigger ones that line the beach, however, I much prefer staying in boutique hotels where the staff get to know you. As for the staff, they will go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and you are spending your vacation how you want. My luggage did not make the connection in New York and the front desk took the time to follow up with the airlines while I relaxed on the beach to make sure it arrived ok. They also gave me updates so I had peace of mind that it was in fact in transit. (One travelers tip – pack a small day bag of stuff in case your luggage does not make the connection. There are only a handful of flights to Chania so it took my bag just over a day to catch up to me. Luckily I packed my bathing suit in my carry on along with a change of clothes so I was set.) I had signed up for a cooking class that was canceled upon my arrival and the front desk tried to book me on another class, and when that didn’t work, they spent time with me and my husband to work out another day trip and excursion. They listened to what type of restaurants we liked and pointed us in the right direction. They really deserve an A +++ in service.

In all, our stay was very relaxing, comfortable, and fresh. If that is the experience you are looking for, stay at the Ammos. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book early to secure a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the Ammos Hotel in August 2013. It was our first stop after Athens and we wished we had ended our trip there. It was perfect. From the moment we arrived the staff were so attentive, the rooms are beautiful, clean and modern.The restaurant was excellent as well, it was wonderful that we had everything we needed and wanted right there. Nikos, the owner, has done an outstanding job! The beach was beautiful and no matter what time of the day we went out, we were alway able to get an umbrella. They even have inflatables for the guests to use! Did I mention the divine, organic bath products? They have thought of everything! Nikos' final gift to us as we left was recommending an archeologist tour guide for Knossos. She was amazing and we would have never had the amazing experience we had with Stavroula had Nikos not recommended her to us. Our stay at Ammos was far too short and we were all a little sad to leave. We live in the US and our family is used to a certain standard of hotel, we frequently stay at high end resorts. Ammos was equivalent to any high end resort but with a homey, family feel. It truly was the BEST hotel we stayed in Greece.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ammos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammos Hotel

Address: Irakli Avgoula, Agii Apostoli, Chania Town, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Agii Apostoli
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agii Apostoli
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agii Apostoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ammos Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ammos Hotel is a small stylish hotel located on the best spot of the city of Chania, right on the water front at the bay of Agii Apostoli, 4km away from the Venetian Harbor and the picturesque old city. In an idyllic setting by the water, wake up listening to the sound of the waves and indulge into our vast palette of vivid colors, from light green to the turquoise of the sea water and from beige to the bright fuchsia of bougainvillea. This is your private escape... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Chania
Ammos Hotel Crete/Agii Apostoli, Chania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ammos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.