We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elotia

Hotel Elotia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elotia to your Saves list
Hotel Elotia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agioi Apostoloi | Kato Daratso, Kato Daratso, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kato Daratso
Kent,UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great family run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for a week in June, and was not disappointed.Helena and her sons are great hosts and supply good home cooked Greek cooking.
The hotel is 2 star, offering basic Greek amenities, and a great location just two minutes walk to the beautiful cove beach.
The hotel has a small pool, really slightly bigger than a splash pool, but the beach and sea are
fantastic so you dont really need a pool. Great for young children also though the sea is a bit cold initially. Sunbeds available at 3 euros per day.
A bus to Chania, every 20 minutes from outside the hotel, costs only 3 euros each way.
2 large supermarkets 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Sea view extra charge not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel has a very nice courtyard and a small but nice swimmingpool are. Rooms are pretty basic but clean. The best rooms are the family rooms facing the swimming pool as they have more space and it is nice and quiet -perfect for reading a book on the balcony. We had booked half board but next time I would just option for BB, as dinner was very basic - you had 2-3 set choices and the food was OK but nothing special. The bus stop is just a few meters from the hotel and it is about 15-20 minutes busride to the center of Xania. There are many nice beaches nearby. Would recommend for people who don't plan to spend a whole day in the hotel and are looking for a good value budget hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and courtyard are quieter. Ask for a family room if possible, as they have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We very much enjoyed our one week stay at the Elotia Hotel near Chania. If you can I reccommend hiring a car from Chania airport, Hertz was excellent. There is adequate parking outside the Hotel. The Elotia Hotel is well organised and friendly, the two Brothers speak very good English and Mother too, they didn,t mind my attempt at speaking Greek and all made us feel very welcome. Our room was clean, the beds were very comfortable, it is a shock to the system not being able to flush toilet paper down the loo, but you soon get used to it. It was fairly quiet at night. The air con was very welcome with the heat. We were staying half board so found the food was good, breakfast and dinner were on a buffet basis which suited us. They do try and give a variety of different meals whilst you sit in an elevated taverna with good views. For breakfast you could eat as much or as little as you wanted with a good variety of different things on offer. The Hotel is close to a wonderful clean beach with super swimming and snorkelling, safe for babies and children. It is a pleasant walk from the Hotel into Chania along the beaches, avoiding the main road. The Hotel organised us a trip to the Samaria Gorge which worked out very reasonably. They gave us a packed lunch, which was good plus a flask of tea. The Hotel is not too far from the main road, so it gives easy access to other parts of Crete via the National road. We drove to Elefonisi in the south of the Island which is well worth a trip, it is absolutely beautiful, crystal clear sea and good safe swimming. Overall I can highly recommend the Hotel Elotia as a great place to stay, very reasonable and clean, friendly and well situated.

Room Tip: Choose a room with air con, with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate South Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Good place to stay on a budget. From the main bus station in Xania, take the green bus in the direction of Kalmaki-Agia marina and tell the driver to leave you at Agioi Apostoloi (where the camping ground is). The hotel is just behind a restaurant and is a 20 minute bus ride from the city center. You will want to ask to speak to the son, who works early in the morning and late at night. He is the one who knows how to grant access to the wi-fi, as well as allow credit card payments; the mother is very nice but doesn’t know how to do these things. We needed to leave one night earlier to catch a boat, and the son graciously comped the last night. Free breakfast, very simple. The jam is delicious. It is worth saving your appetite for the restaurants closer to the center, as the ones in the neighborhood are expensive and touristy. The room was nice, but the toilet clogged a few times.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

The Hotel Elotia is situated in Agioi Apostoli, a very pretty seaside town about 4km west of the town of Chania, in Crete. I stayed here for ten nights and recommend it highly. My room was attractive, very comfortable, quiet and had a beautiful sea view from the room and the balcony. It also has a taverna serving very generous breakfasts and an excellent range of dinners. There is also a swimming pool (which I didn't use as the beach is about a one-minute walk away), and a large, beautiful shady park across the road. It was excellent value for money, too.
The Manager, Helena, is friendly and helpful, and is fluent in English. She is happy to book tourist activities and helped me with little extras such as writing the Greek words for items I wished to buy in town. Her staff are also kind and helpful.
During my stay I met several guests who were repeat visitors to this hotel, so this is obviously a place that people are happy to come back to. I certainly would!
The area is very pretty - wonderful for walking, and there are regualr buses from outside the hotel to the lively and fascinating town of Chania, with it's fascinating, historic Old Harbour.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elotia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elotia

Address: Agioi Apostoloi | Kato Daratso, Kato Daratso, Crete 73100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kato Daratso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kato Daratso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elotia 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elotia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elotia Chania/Kato Daratso, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elotia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.