We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort - great for children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Sani Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Sani Village to your Saves list
Porto Sani Village
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sani 63077 , Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Transfers
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sani
London, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort - great for children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

The Sani Resort consists of the Sani Beach Club, Porto Sani Village (PSV), Asturias Suites and the Sani Hotel. After having read the reviews on this site we decided to book in the beach club as that sounded the most child friendly but in booking directly with the hotel, they encouraged us to stay at PSV for a larger size room (it turned out that the Beach Club was closing for end of season on the Saturday). We were very happy we did so as the bedroom and living room were spacious and very clean. The PSV was kiddie central with pretty much the majority of guests being families - just what we were looking for to keep our kids entertained but that probably felt like hell for any couples who were staying.

We found service at PSV to be excellent and the staff always carried a smile and were ready to help even though the end of season was in the air. On that front given it was the penultimate week of the season we were very lucky as the weather still held out for us although there were a couple of days where a Tshirt was welcome on the beach due to the breeze. We felt sorry for the families arriving for the final week of the season as the weather turned and it really started to bucket down on the the Sunday with rain predicted all week. Staff told us that can be common this part of the month -outside of events up at the Hotel there is little to do inside at PSV.

Outside of PSV and around the marina things were rather different The marina was deserted. Despite being completely empty, staff at the marina restaurants were clearly in an 'end of season' mindset and were not attentive. The flip side of this was that going at the end of the season meant that the Sani resort was relatively empty which was perfect for us as I can imagine that during peak times there could be a battle to get resaurant bookings or places near the pool or beach front.

We stayed half board with free breakfast and a set evening menu to be used onsite at the PSV or a few restaurants at the marina or a buffet at the Hotel This worked well as the kids loved the breakfast choice breakfast so much that come lunch time were not particularly keen on a big meal and were happy to settle for a meal sourced from the marina supermarket.

Kids club: there are two free clubs -one located near the hotel and the other at the Beachclub. We used one near the hotel which the staff told us is managed by Powder Byrne who do a lot of the resorts in the alps. The staff were excellent and, unlike other places we have stayed at, the kids couldn't get enough and wanted to go back for both the morning and afternoon sessions each day - that suited us perfectly as we got to rediscover the novelty of parental free time. The good thing about the club was that tasks were not restricted to the club building itself and the kids were taken swimming, for walks in the wood, volleyball and beachcombing. We heard from the staff that in peak season the clubs can be packed so be sure to book you places in advance.

Details were geneally good. Wifi had a good reception - ask for a password from reception. Transfers were excellent. We booked direct and flew into Athens for a few days and then took the train up to Thessaloniki (would recommend it - the train journey is very scenic, the train very comfortable) . The usual hotel free pick up is from the airport ( to the east and closer to the resort) but they were very accomodating and the driver was waiting for us on arrival at the station in the centre of town. For the return journey there was another free taxi provided by the Resort and surprisingly there was a resort rep to meet us at the airport to see if we needed help with check-in

Minor extras were charges for DVD rental (3EU) and use of the tennis courts (eu 10 for an hour plus eu 3 per racket).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    62
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
292
92
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We were looking for a 5* luxury resort for our couple days break that will offer sandy beaches and fine dining as well. Porto Sani Village in Sani Resort has it all – and it’s only a few hours flight!
Upon arrival we have been offered a refreshing drink around the pool bar while a very attentive member of front office filled us into all the details we needed to know in order to enjoy our holiday.
Our room was great with a wonderful balcony, overlooking the lagoon-style pools. All the facilities that you can expect from a 5* hotel are awaiting you, from Jacuzzi bath to private Nespresso coffee machine.
Probably the best thing were the restaurants. We opted for a Half Board that allowed us to sample many of them, and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the culinary gems of Sani Resort. Tomata and Artemis (hotel’s main restaurant) , to name just a few, were exceptional, with great service and superb wines.
Overall service in the resort is great; employees are friendly, helpful and efficient. You should also not miss the Spa Suite, the right place to indulge yourself with different beauty and relaxation treatments.
Our stay was one to remember; relaxing and stylish at the same time, we shall certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We planned this at the last minute and being off season it was excellent value. We are glad that half board including breakfast was included as the cost of meals with out this is extremely expensive. The only down side, other than the cost of food, is that you are isolated from the rest of the area surrounding the resort. Even though there are 3 distinctly different properties, technically 4 but the one by the water only has an over priced restaurant which will not accept your meal plan. You can travel between them, make use of the facilities and restaurants but it is still the same style throughout. If you want to get off property and experience the local culture you need to take an 18 euro cab ride to the little town near by. It is a tourist town but nice to get out of the resort and try some local food which the best we found was where the owner is extremely creative and reasonably priced.

Overall if you are looking for the resort experience then I would highly recommend it. Other posts mentioned the kids and yes there was a large number present, mostly little ones so if you want adult only then this is not the place. One last item, we had a garden view which turned out to be the view of the main road leading to the resort so it was not very quiet when we wanted to sit out an enjoy a glass of wine with a good book.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ionian
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

It’s been a long time since we wanted to visit this place as the recommendations from friends who had already been there were excellent. The good October’s weather gave us the opportunity to realize our wish; a 7 days holiday at Porto Sani Village.
Upon arrival we were offered a drink at the bar together with a full orientation of the sani complex. The receptionist explained us all we needed to know in order to have a relaxing time.
Our room was spacious, modern decorated, very clean and at a very quiet location.
Despite the end of the season the resort was quite full and it was essential booking table in any of the restaurants and this is what we did. Fortunately we were not belonging to those that would like to have dinner between 18:30 and 19:30 as all of the restaurants were quite full at this time. You could easily find a table in any of the restaurants only after eight .We tried both options given with our Half Board , set menu & a la carte but we preferred more to dine a la carte as you are not restricted to the already limited options of the set menu. The main restaurant Artemis was one of our favorites together with the Ouzeri in Sani Beach Club. We only felt sorry that we couldn’t try the Japanese restaurant which was closed at this time of the season. Breakfast was excellent as you could combine the buffet variety with some a la carte dishes.
The beach was superb with crystal blue water and very well maintained. Towels and sun beds were provided from the hotel. Club cars were also available to transfer you to and from the beach giving you no other option than to enjoy the sun without any hassle at all.
The staff of the hotel was the biggest surprise for us! They were all very friendly and always prompt to assist or even to have a chat with us. I don’t know how but they could always remember our names and even the place we had dinner the previous night!! They were all very attentive and always with a smile , like looking forward to listen your wish and take care of it.
In general the place is excellent and the staff makes you realize how real holidays should be. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Four of us went on holiday here for a week's break in the autumn. We all wanted a bit of rest and relaxation so we went during school term time. Although the Sani Village rooms, pool and restaurants are well appointed, for people without children this place is a nightmare. The hotel was packed with young families with children under three. We were woken each morning to the sound of crying and screaming babies and this was the accompaniment to our holiday every day. By the pool, in the restaurant, on the beach, we were surrounded by toddlers, their toys and their push chairs. There was no effort by the hotel to find any areas for couples to separate them from the children. There was no fine dining experience because we shared our space with children running around, screaming, throwing food, being changed (at the table!!!) and parents not taking any notice of how this might affect other people. At my first breakfast at the resort there were 23 babies in high chairs at the breakfast tables (and I ate at 10.15 to avoid the rush).Parents stayed up with their toddlers way past 9 o'clock at night, so there really was no escape ever. DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU DON'T ABSOLUTELY LOVE KIDS.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

“Already planning the next trip to Porto Sani Village …”

Just came back from a fantastic holiday at Porto Sani. We were happy and lucky to have a wonderful (sunny) weather during our whole stay there. We booked directly with the hotel and we got a good deal.
We stayed in a standard suite and we were on the half board option.
The suite was luxurious and spacey (bigger than our house) something that we all enjoyed! My two children 6 and 4 years were sleeping in the living room on the sofa-bed and pull out bed. This room had the DVD player, something that helped us put them to sleep. Our bedroom was also great with another TV, big wardrobe and a very nice decoration.
What really impressed us was the luxurious bathroom with the Jacuzzi (which I didn’t use but never mind) tropical shower (if you go you’ll see what I mean) and the very important for us double washing sinks.
We were on the half board so we used the dine- around. We stayed 10 days and we found it very helpful. We had 4 meals in the main restaurant of the hotel that had a very rich menu for us and for my daughters! Great service there.
We also tried one buffet and spent the rest of the nights at Marina’s restaurants. We always had the set menus which are of a very good quality.
All in all, what makes us want to go back is that we all felt so pampered from the staff that we really don’t want to go anywhere else. Other people I met there agreed on that too.
Excellent experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

This is the first trip my husband and I have taken abroad with our toddler (14mths). We did lots of research on family friendly, 5 star luxury, spa etc type holidays as we are used to staying in 5 star plus hotels. Porto Sani Village has an excellent rating on TripAdvisor and it was one of the main reasons for choosing the resort over other recommended ones.

We stayed in a standard balcony suite. We requested a garden suite, but were told there weren't any available. Whilst the lounge and bathroom were very nice, the bedroom felt 'damp' and dark. The balconies have roofs over them, so you do not benefit from the sun.

I would recommend a garden suite (in a quiet location), our son sleeps for nearly 2 hrs in the morning and it would have been great to chill outside on a lounger and get some sun!

The staff are very friendly, although not as professional as we have become used to at a 5 star hotel.

I read a review from a fellow tripadvisor who placed this resort on par with The Burj and Le Tousserok hotels (both classed as 6/7 star). Having stayed in both of those hotels I can confidently say Porto Sani Village is nothing like those in terms of quality of food, accommodation, professionalism of staff.

Every other person here has a child or small baby, which we were happy with, but it may put some of you off.

The food...

The food is expensive. The menu is limited, food at Porto Sani Village is not good for small children. The purees I'm sure are great, but our son has outgrown those now, however can not munch through a burger and chips! Pasta was ordered nearly everyday, or fish -which didn't taste great. As a result the food situation became a pain. I actually bought a can of Tuna for 3.45euros! from the little shop ("supermarket") in the marina. (The marina is not big and has no character - being built for the resort).

We ate out at the Aesteria suites and paid nearly £200 for two starters, two mains and a bottle of wine! Quality restaurants in LDN would not charge those prices. Oh and beware of the cost of fish in the marina, we're talking between £80 and £100 for Sole! The dine around service is confusing and means you are limited to a set menu. We did not try this due to the timings teh restaurants opened so can nto comment. If you take half board the restaurants do not open until 6.30. So if you are used to feeding your little one between 5 and 6 as most of us mum's/dad's are, you'll probably have to have room service or eat in the pool bar (or around the marina). This was a pain.

Outside pools are freezing! Use the Spa pool if you have a little bub. But beware the chlorine is likely to turn your clothes green..

Overall, it was a lovely holiday in terms of relaxation, weather (sunny), ease of getting around the resort and lovely beach. The food has been the downfall for us in terms of quality and cost. We wouldn't stay again or recommend this resort.

Transfers from airport are easy. Note you can collect your pram/pushchair as soon as you exit the plane - just wait a few moments and they will bring it out. Likewise in the UK you can take your pushchair right up to the steps of the plane ( a little thing I didn't know). Request a baby/child seat and a people carrier, otherwise you'll have your pram on your lap!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Sani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Sani Village

Address: Sani 63077 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Sani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sani
#3 Spa Hotel in Sani
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sani
#3 Family Hotel in Sani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Sani Village 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious getaway for the body and mind, the relaxed surroundings of the expansive Porto Sani Village is an ideal setting in which to restore your karma. The sensuous Spa Suite is a haven of tranquility providing tailor-made aromatherapy treatments, personal trainers and one-on-one yoga lessons, while the breathtaking lagoon pool is the perfect place to soak up the sun and enjoy our energising fresh juices and well-being menus for adults and children. The contemporary elegance of Porto Sani Village is complemented by a superb setting close to Sani Marina and its enticing world of inspired cuisine. The refreshingly spacious suites of this hotel are ideal for families and command spectacular views over the lagoon pools and the Marina, resplendent with its majestic yachts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Sani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Sani Village Hotel Sani
Porto Sani Village Kassandra
Porto Sani Village Hotel Kassandra
Porto Sani Village Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Sani Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.