We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Vocation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Sani Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Sani Village to your Saves list
Porto Sani Village
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sani 63077 , Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Transfers
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sani
London
1 review
“Ideal Vocation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband and I have been searching for four years for the ideal family hotel and we are happy we chose Porto Sani. There is nothing that you would need for yourself or your child and you wouldn’t find it. Beginning with breakfast and the children’s’ play table, where our children enjoyed spending their time drawing and playing with the babysitter , while we were enjoying the superb a la carte dishes that Artemis offers. We also took the children to Melissa Club usually mornings so that we can relax in the beautiful pool. The meals we had in Marina were of a high quality but our favorite was the main restaurant of Porto that is really outstanding. My favorite part of the holiday was the spa of Porto were I had an amazing hot stone massage. They totally have it J.This hotel should be your next destination. You won’t regret it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    62
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
292
92
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Having been on many luxury holidays on our own further a field, we decided that our first holiday with our young daughter should be nearer home. Having read the reviews on Porto Sani Village we thought this would be the ideal location and we were not disappointed.

We booked directly with the hotel on line, which offered a 20% discount plus free transfers to and from the airport on the half board basis.

Upon arrival we were met by a hotel representative and transferred to the hotel within 45mins. We were checked in whilst having a nice cool drink in the bar and were given a full brief on the hotel and the dine around options and which bars offered a 20% using your PSV card - however we were not advised that if you order for your child from the set menu in a participating restaurant then you will need to pay even though in Artemis they go free!!

We opted for a garden view room but would question a view looking over the main road and adjacent fields as garden view - and traffic noise could be heard early in the morning. Also, if you do have a small child and have a pushchair, it is worth requesting a ground floor room, our only regret was not asking to change rooms as we had one on the first floor, so not always easy taking the chair up when she had fallen asleep during dinner!!
Overal the room was excellent with plenty of storage - our only complaint was that we constantly had to ring for our milk and tea bag supply to be stocked.

The 2 beaches were excellent and had no problem in booking the Asteria beach as the hotel was not full - staff were helpful and there were plenty of bucket and spades for the kids to use - don't buy one at 10E in the mini market.

Most nights we had dinner at Artemis - our experience here was mixed. The staff themselves were excellent and always smiling and helpful however the actual service of food was slow and at times you could be waiting between 30-45mins between courses. The week seem to start of great and went down hill towards the end and the number of staff also seemed to dwindle as the hotel was coming to the end of its season. Breakfast service was the worst, where the didn't appear to be able to cope with the peak and on one occassion we waited 45mins for coffee.
We used the dine around option and had dinner in Tomatas and another Greek restuarant - food in Tomatas was excellent but did feel that we were being rushed (especially when the bill was given to us half way through our main) - it was also very pricey if you choose the ala carte.

It is highly recommended that if you want to use the Creche then book really early or before you arrive - we were only able to get our daughter in for one afternoon. The staff were really great and friendly and put our minds to rest when we left her.

We had a great time at the resort and was a good introduction to 'family' holidays - unfortunately our experience was clouded due to the return transfer to the airport. It specifically stated 'private transfers' however as many people were leaving at the same time, the hotel booked a number of local taxis. So from arriving in a nice air conditioned MPV, with water we were taken back in a local taxi which had no air con, the driver constantly on his mobile phone, speeding and often braking suddenly - it was a 40 min ride from hell.

Great hotel for families and if you love children - not so good if you wanted a quiet getaway. Also watch out for hidden prices - we thought the DVD rental was free until we saw our bill ( same goes for room service even if you are half board). Great facilities but lacking in some of the finesse of a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

This place is incredible, our flight was under 3 hours from Gatwick and we were there an hour after landing (40 minute car transfer). Check-in was very good, you are given all the information on the whole resort and a map whilst having a cool drink and then taken to your suite. It was a great suite, very nicely decorated and on the ground floor with a terrace and little garden which overlooked part of the pool, they have a separate bedroom and the kids slept on sofa beds in the living area, both rooms had TV's and the bathroom a jacuzzi bath and nice big shower.

The whole resort has the best service we have ever experienced in Europe and we have been to quite a few luxury hotels before. Every member of staff was polite, incredibly friendly and helpful, we didn't come across anyone who didn't seem happy to help or assist us, a lot of them remembered our names and often said hello and they all spoke very good English.

The restaurants and bars are great, yes they are quite expensive but similar to what we have experienced in other similar hotels. Tomata was the worst for us, it was very expensive for what it was and we felt not worth the extra as the food, service and ambience was not worth the high price, but it was always very busy every night so clearly not everyone felt the same.

The restaurant in the Asterias Suites was amazing, we had a babysitter from the hotel that night so it was a grown up night out and was incredible, again expensive but so definitely worth it as everything was perfect. We also really enjoyed the Vosporos Grill House in the marina and went there the most, it was much cheaper than the other restaurants and did really great simple Greek food which was really tasty, the best Greek salad! You can also get take away Gyros and only around 3 Euros each!

The Japanese was nice, food good but no Japanese staff or styling in the restaurant and no show cooking or anything like you get at some, that would have made it quite special but the location is certainly the best and we often went to the See You bar below it for drinks around sunset which was lovely. and with the best views.

Room service was good, nice food and very quick and efficient service, we often ordered kids meals as these were big and plenty for an adult, a tip we learn't from a previous review!

We did the boat trip at sunset on Saturday which is included in your holiday (although not widely advertised), this was nice with a glass of champagne and just half an hour on the boat, however it was cloudy so no great sunset views that night!

Most of the bars and restaurants give you a 20% discount if you have your blue PSV card with you, it takes a bit longer to pay the bill though as they often bring it without the discount and have to do it again!

The Porto Sani Village we think was the best located as you could get to both beaches easily and were closest to the Marina, the beaches are amazing here, soft white sand and a lovely shallow, safe, warm sea with not many waves.

We preferred the one at the Asterias Suites as it was less crowded and had a great lunchtime restaurant next to it. The one for PSV guests was right next to a public beach, which was fine but you felt a bit crowded in to the corner as the public part is larger. We couldn't always get on the Asterias beach however as it was a busy time and it was often booked out by the people staying there but we tried every day and got on a few times, the front row of loungers however were only for their use!

Our eldest (5) went to the kids club a few times, she seemed to enjoy it and made some friends but the pool and beach was so great she loved staying with us, our youngest tried it once, she's 3 so we had to pay and she enjoyed it but didn't want to go back, again she liked to be on the beach or in the pool. The pool was great and you could often still get a good bed by the pool at 10.30, as the resort got busier as our holiday went on it was a bit more crowded but there were still beds just not always our chosen ones.

This resort is such a lovely child friendly place in complete luxury with great beaches which is exactly what we wanted, we would recommend it to anyone with the budget required and will certainly return ourselves as it is wonderful, we had 10 days which was just enough for us to truly relax.

We booked with sovereign.com as it came up the cheapest as they had a deal on the suites and free kids flights, prices seem to vary a lot so I would get quite a few quotes as you can pay a lot to go here. I'm not sure I would go without kids as there are a lot of children around but we did see a few couples who seemed to be enjoying it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

My family & I spent 10 days at Porto Sani Village & I can honestly say it was the best holiday we've been to as a family. The location is great, beaches are divine, soft sand & the sand castles didnt flop and the marina is filled with places to eat.
Given our requirements the hotel was highly recomended by Tots Too whom we traveled with. The lady i spoke to had been there lots of times herself and knew the hotel inside out which was definitely a help. We had a Suite whihc had a bedroom with a door that separated it from the living room & the kids slept on the sofa bed which was perfect for us.
There is a kids club which the kids used a few times & although they enjoyed themselves and it was very good kids club they were more than happy to plonk themselves on the beach, build sandcastles and swim in the sea.
Very nice Spa also, infact I could have quite easily spent an entire day in the Spa relaxing in the indoor pool & making use of the sauna and other spa facilties.
Great holiday, I highly recommend it to other families & we're already planning to go back in June of next year for 2 weeks!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond upon Thames
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We travelled to Sani in August 2009 with our 2 year old and 5 year old. We had very high expectations and they were well and truly met. From our welcome drink on arrival to the efficiency with which our luggage was whisked to our room we felt well and truly welcomed. There are four hotels to choose from in the resort and we felt we had the best one for children - we got to use the beach at Asterias Suites (tip: book the night before) and also had the fabulous series of pools at Porto Sani Village (PSV) at our disposal. The Asterias Suites, whilst on the beach, were a bit more grown up (and the restaurant was Michelin Starred, nice for a night out but not every night), the Sani Beach Club was too far from the Marina - so we were pleased we chose PSV. Whatever you do do not stay at Sani Beach Hotel unless you wish to share the pool with hundreds of other people...

The child care was amazing (although annoyingly closed between 10 and 3 which meant day trips were out of the question), and only a short golf buggy ride or a 10 min walk from PSV (closer to Asterias Suites and the Sani Beach Hotel.

Facilities were great: tennis, water sports etc.

There was even a colouring and play table (supervised) at breakfast and dinner!

We would definitely recommend half board as the restaurant prices are definitely HIGH and what we would expect to pay for a good restaurant in London. The set menus (included in our half board) available at Tomata, Macaroni and the Ouzerie (Marina) restaurants were very good but the service at Macaroni was slower than a wet week - one night our children actually cried from hunger as we waited 40mins to receive even a piece of bread.

Top restaurants for us were Tomata, Artemis (included in our half board and very fine dining) and the two Ouzeries: at Sani Beach Club and the Marina.

We loved Porto Sani Village. We'll be back. This time though, we'll brush up on our Russian - there are a huge number of Russian visitors, as well as British, German and a few Italians and Greeks sprinkled in to give the place a truly cosmopolitan feel.

Yes, it's expensive. But you're worth it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Reviews already say it all so won't add too much. Just to add that as a young couple used to 5* star travels before our baby came along - we researched over and over and wanted a resort that had it all... and this place ended up being perfect! Private beautiful beach, grocery store with baby items, roomy suite, plenty of pool space and loungers, quality food in the marina, access to indoor spa pool in morning with baby, etc. the list goes on. It was so good that we've taken that never-before-step of going back to book next year's trip to this same place.

Note we went first week in May which was a bit of a gamble with the weather, but it ended up perfect (only rained first day)... going early also allowed for a substantial discount.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We returned to Porto Sani Village this June with 3 young children for our second visit. The rooms have been refurbished to a high standard and couldn't be faulted. The small kitchens have been removed but they provided a microwave on request for baby milk and said we were free to use the mini bar fridge for anything we liked e.g. yogurts from the on site supermarket. Service was impeccable as before. It was pleasantly warm - 28oC most days - and we found both the pools and sea to be warm especially in the late afternoon.
The kids had a great time around the hotel pool area where almost everyone had young children. Family splash time in the indoor spa pool has been abandoned and this is now an unheated adult pool, free of charge.
The beaches were great as before. PSV guests are advised to use the Sea You Up beach but we found this to have quite a lot of seaweed and preferred the Asterias beach and Boussolas beach where loungers could be reserved for you at PSV reception in advance, again no extra charge.
We visited Melissa Mini Club which is about a 10-15 minute walk (near Sani Beach Hotel) and found the staff to be very friendly but didn't leave the kids as they operate different age group activities and our 2 older children would have been spilt up. Melissa is dated and the outdoor areas extremely hot and largely unshaded. We felt that a refurbishment was called for, and it would also be nice to have some play areas within the grounds of Porto Sani Village.
We took the half board option and visited most of the restaurants on the dine around programme. The evening food in the main hotel restaurant, Artemis, was a big let down this time, although breakfast was superb. Previously, the dinner starter was buffet but now all 3 courses are a la carte and we found the food to be too elaborate, trying too hard to be gourmet. Certainly not Greek. However, we enjoyed the dine around option and had excellent meals in Tomata and Macaroni, and also at the main buffet restaurant in Sani Beach Hotel. There is a set menu available in most of these marina restaurants for half board guests and this is exceptionally good value. If you opt for a la carte, they give you 20 euro per adult and 10 euro per child off the bill. Wine was generally about 30 euro a bottle but it's a 5 star hotel and therefore to be expected.
We hired bikes for our kids from the mountain bike centre but at 45 euro a week each, it's not a cheap option if you need several bikes!
Overall, we had a fantastic holiday and would be delighted to return. Let's hope they sort out the evening food in the main hotel restaurant, as previously, it was very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Sani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Sani Village

Address: Sani 63077 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Sani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sani
#3 Family Hotel in Sani
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sani
#3 Spa Hotel in Sani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Sani Village 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious getaway for the body and mind, the relaxed surroundings of the expansive Porto Sani Village is an ideal setting in which to restore your karma. The sensuous Spa Suite is a haven of tranquility providing tailor-made aromatherapy treatments, personal trainers and one-on-one yoga lessons, while the breathtaking lagoon pool is the perfect place to soak up the sun and enjoy our energising fresh juices and well-being menus for adults and children. The contemporary elegance of Porto Sani Village is complemented by a superb setting close to Sani Marina and its enticing world of inspired cuisine. The refreshingly spacious suites of this hotel are ideal for families and command spectacular views over the lagoon pools and the Marina, resplendent with its majestic yachts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Sani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Sani Village Hotel Sani
Porto Sani Village Kassandra
Porto Sani Village Hotel Kassandra
Porto Sani Village Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Sani Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.