We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families but Swimming pool temp let it down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Sani Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Porto Sani Village to your Saves list
Porto Sani Village
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sani 63077 , Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Transfer & Discounts
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sani
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for families but Swimming pool temp let it down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from a very luxurious stay at the Porto Sani Village hotel with my husband and 3 yrs old. It definitely is a fantastic hotel if you have babies/ toddlers in tow. The Manager and staff are happy to help at all times. However, the biggest downside is that none of the pools are heated. We went in May 2012 and unfortunately had pretty mixed weather, however being English would still have braved the pool had it been heated. However it was FREEZING! This made it quite difficult to decide what to do when it was raining with our 3 yrs old as the indoor pool was the same.
If the weather was hot and sunny then I'm sure it would have been ok but I'm surprised that a hotel of this calibre cannot afford to heat at least one of it's pools? Especially as it is so family friendly.
Everything else was great. You're welcomed as if you are royalty. And you know from that moment on that your holiday is going to be very relaxing.
We went to two of the shows at the outdoor theatre. My 3yrs old enjoyed them, as did we but don't expect professional entertainment - just a bit of fun.
Definitely do the half board dine around but avoid eating in the other hotels main restaurants. They are more like 3 star than what the porto sani has to offer.
The breakfast is absolutely amazing. Expect to put on at least a stone. I am pregnant so blamed it on this!
I had spa treatments in the two other hotels but not the Porto sani. The sani beach hotel spa was better than the sani beach club. The Porto sani spa was v.expensive.
The Marina is nice but lacks any 'local' character. It is very much man made for the resort.
I would say that if you are looking for a holiday in real Greece then this is definitely not for you.
I would also definitely not go here if I didn't have children.
There are little ones everywhere. And even we who had a 3yrs old found some mealtimes quite noisy with babies crying and toddlers 'playing around'. Definitely not for honeymooners!!

Room Tip: The third bed is actually a fold out camp bed so beware of who is going to be sleeping on it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    61
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
285
82
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Being a seasoned traveler all my life, for both business and pleasure, I feel an honest review may be helpful to some. We stayed here for 10 days mid May with our 3 1/2 year old boy. To be fair it is best to start with saying that having stayed at the O&O in Dubai in Feb, everything is now compared to that, and that's a tall order. The weather wasn't great either which of course Sani cannot control, however.......
This hotel thinks of a lot, bikes for hire, a variety of restaurants, shops, a boat trip, kids club, etc. But most fall short of the mark, not as good as they could/should be. The food isn't as good as it should be for the cost (though we had a very good meal on our last night at the Sea U, but it was London prices, and the food is better in the restaurants round the marina than the hotel) the shops were very expensive and geared to what I suggest would be Eastern European taste only, the complimentary "sunset" boat trip lasted 20 minutes and was back in before the sunset, room service was very hit and miss - one day taking nearly 1 1/2 hours to arrive, etc.
Our room was great though, massive, a 2 bedroom family suite and very clean and nicely decorated. But again we had to call maintenance 4 times as the flush mechanism broke 3 times in one of the bathrooms, and one of the taps fell off.
The hotel staff are very friendly, though often not particularly effective but this may be as we went early in the season and they weren't quite all up to speed. Having said that housekeeping was excellent and the manager is very helpful and ever present which is good.
Whilst it was a pleasant enough holiday, not sure we will return and at the cost, think things could have been better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from a 9 night stay in the Village with 3 children aged between 3 and 9. First thing to say was the service we received was excellent. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed by all the staff, with Guest services Manager Victoria worthy of a special mention as she couldnt have been more helpful throughout. The staff were friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was spacious, clean and had good amenities (docking system, tvs in all rooms, nespresso, vareid minibar, even potentially forgotten essentials such as bite cream, which was handy as the mozzies do come out at night). The village seemed primarily for families, with a good choice of pools although there was an adults only pool too, and a spa and indoor pool(that we didnt need to use given the great weather).
We chose bed and breakfast and the breakfasts were very good with an interchangeable choice of buffet and a la carte.
There was a good choice of restaurants across the resort with the majority at the marina and we visited 8 of them. The best meals we had were at the very scenic ammos and ouzerie restaurants, with macaroni also excellent. Biggest gripe of the whole holiday was the cost of the Japanese restaurant. I think even Ubon or Roka would be embarrased to charge what they did for supposed kids meals. The food was decent enough standard but totally out of sync with the rest of the resort. Our friends were on the dine around programme which gets you money off some restaurants, but didnt seem to work out as well as expected i didnt think.
Another highlights were the beaches (crystal clear water and shallow too so great for kids), though watersports were also on the pricey side.
We tried the kids club once which seemed fairly well run but our boys preferred to try the inaugural football course which was a success and likely to return we were told. Again on the steep side price wise , but well run with good varied training adapted for different ages, and the 4 boys in our group loved it.
Finally do not miss the white night at the Bousoulas Bar. Beach party for all, staff show up too at the end of the night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from our second stay in less than 12 months and still love it.
We stayed at Porto Sani Village and everything is just perfect. Clean rooms, excellent and attentive staff from the second you are greeted at the door right through to the moment you sadly say goodbye.

The only compliant we had was the beds being reserved around the pool. Typical Brits (no Germans there when we stayed) who felt that despite the ample number of sunbeds available the right thing to do was get up at some silly hour to reserve theirs. Having said that the management soon put a stop to that and normality and common sense was soon resumed. There are ample beds for everyone at PSV any time of the day and the pool areas are kept very clean and tidy at all times with clean towels being put out all day and pool staff who bring everything to you from the bar and kitchen if you wish.

The restaurants were all fantastic with Alexis and Tomata coming out on top for us by a mile. The only real disappointment was Vosporos where the food was OK but the service was very poor. The fish in Alexis is 45 Euro's a Kilo!!!!! cheaper than anywhere else and the service is a great experience.

Garden Theater entertainment wasn't as good as last summer but still pretty good.

We didn't do the Dine Around this time and found it far better value for money.

The resort is perfect for everyone and the Marina makes it very special indeed.

Cant wait to go back next year

Room Tip: if you are not travelling with small children DON'T have a pool view. The kids are always up ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for 9 nights and had a really great holiday. The resort is very much geared toward families and our trip during term time meant most children were pre schoolers and babies. The best part of this being if your child became grizzly at any time you won't feel like you're ruining anyone else's holiday as everyone else will be tolerant/understanding/dealing with the same grizzles from their own kids! The suite was nice, spacious and comfy. Couple of minor gripes, like nowhere to hang wet towels in the bathroom. They do change them twice per day, but I'd rather do my bit for the environment and reuse. Dine around was great, Tomata was our fave by far, but we enjoyed everywhere. Breakfast is also lovely, great selection and best of all there's a kiddy play area which meant a more relaxing meal for parents. The marina is lovely to wander round. Porto pools are really nice, but again couple of things that could easily make it better - the kids pool area is completely in the sun. Just a partial canopy would mean kids could splash all day without being exposed to the sun, most of our toddler's grumps were caused by us telling her she needed to come out of the pool to be in the shade. Also the indoor pool is freezing, in spite of claims to be heated. The beach is lovely, nice sand for castle building and plenty of sunbeds all with parasols. Also the crèche was great, the staff were super nice and the facilities are excellent. Our daughter spent 3 hours there on several days. It's about a 10 minute walk from the village but you can get a ride on a golf cart if you feel lazy :-) there's also a good size playground. Overall perfect for relaxing, but don't come here if a) you don't like children or b) you want to see much authentic Greek culture. Otherwise, come and enjoy!

Room Tip: Personally think balcony rooms are better than garden as more private but you still get a good amoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay at PSV in 3 years. We don't usually go back to places but we've made an exception with Porto Sani. Sakis, Victoria, the Maitre D' and in fact the whole team go to great lengths to make your holiday perfect. Their attention to detail reminds me of 5 star hotels in the Far East but with a more informal and friendly tone. The facilities, suite accommodation and especially the food in the Artemis restaurant are really excellent. The beaches are great with a private beach area exclusively for PSV guests, with Babe Watch service for little ones if you want to go for a swim or read your book for a bit, and drinks and meals delivered to your sunbed from the Ibiza-esque Sea You Up restaurant (also good for a grown up evening drink or meal). We like the ouzerie in the harbour and at Sani beach club, the Greek fish restaurant next to the supermarket overlooking the harbour is also good. Sea You Up is also very good and the Water Restaurant at Sani Asterias Suites has Michelin standard food........with prices to match......we paid 260 euros for dinner for 2 with drinks......one for a v special occasion and the yacht owners!! We thought Tomata restaurant was v poor, and the Macaroni ok but nothing special. Highly recommend the Greek Night at the Artemis on a Wednesday. The free sunset cruise on Saturday is a nice touch -would recommend that. The kids club is very good, our kids enjoy hiring bikes to ride round the resort and loved the playground. Our girls are aged 5 and 7, and whilst last year they made lots of friends by the pool, this year it was almost all babies and children aged 0 to 3, but possibly it's just the time of the year. If you are a family with young children looking for some luxury, impeccable service, very good food and all the facilities of a 5 star resort, I can't think of anywhere better with less than 3 hour flight time.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here from 5th may to the 12th... lovely week, very good weather and very lucky with that. The accommodation at porto is lovely. The bathrooms are plush and what you would expect. We had half board rap around and it was ok, some better than others but good value most of the time. Our 9yr old enjoyed the kids club and made some good friends. Although at times the toddlers and babies were very noisy but did not spoil the holiday. All in all a very good resort, very much enjoyed by all and we would return. But its a bit world our there and lots more to see and do!!!!

Room Tip: we had upper garden view, very good and no noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Sani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Sani Village

Address: Sani 63077 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Sani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sani
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sani
#3 Spa Hotel in Sani
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Sani Village 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious getaway for the body and mind, the relaxed surroundings of the expansive Porto Sani Village is an ideal setting in which to restore your karma. The sensuous Spa Suite is a haven of tranquility providing tailor-made aromatherapy treatments, personal trainers and one-on-one yoga lessons, while the breathtaking lagoon pool is the perfect place to soak up the sun and enjoy our energising fresh juices and well-being menus for adults and children. The contemporary elegance of Porto Sani Village is complemented by a superb setting close to Sani Marina and its enticing world of inspired cuisine. The refreshingly spacious suites of this hotel are ideal for families and command spectacular views over the lagoon pools and the Marina, resplendent with its majestic yachts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Sani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Sani Village Hotel Sani
Porto Sani Village Kassandra
Porto Sani Village Hotel Kassandra
Porto Sani Village Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Sani Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.