We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT FORGET THE BRITS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Calimera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Club Calimera to your Saves list
Club Calimera
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Simantro Beach, Sani 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sani B&B and Inns
SUFFOLK, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DONT FORGET THE BRITS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Simantro Beach. The hotel was very clean, the beach was wonderful and sandy. In around 900 guests, I counted ourselves, and three other people who were British - quite amazing. The Russians are definitely taking over, and this was reflected in the cuisine. The food was mass-produced, and the "dining" area was similar to a school canteen - all rushing, shoving and generally no manners from the guests. Thank the Lord for salads and fresh fruit, is all we could say! The staff were friendly, and even more so when they learned we were British (probably a pleasant change for them!). As we had gone for a "quiet" week we were surprised that so many children were still around, not realising the Greek children did not return to school until we had left. We love children, but most of the events were geared to children, and even we found evening dancing at the bar at 8pm a bit much when we wanted some adult time. However, that all aside, we managed to duck and dive, get some early nights in, and read lots of books. The sea is amazing, but definitely not a place for a relaxing week, unless of course you have young children and want them looked after.

Room Tip: Mountain-view rooms are quiet, and pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    16
    17
    9
See reviews for
60
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for one week in September and that was more than enough!!!
The hotel looks really nice from the outside and blends perfectly into the landscape. It is located in a pine forest with a small beach right in front of the resort. The whole resort, especially the rooms is just rotting away and needs a decent scub from top to bottom. Our room wasn't cleaned properly the whole week (and we did tip the maids!!!) which showed especially in the bathroom, carpet in the room was full of sands, but only hoovered upon check-out. Cleaning a room was done in less than 2 minutes and consisted of changing the towels and making the bed, soap and shower gel are by the way not replenished. Sunbeds at pools and beach were old, broken and in a disgusting state as were the beach towels. Floors in the restaurants were dirty and sticky, chairs and tables on the restaurant's terraces rusty and dirty as well.
Most of the restaurant and bar staff were students from Eastern Europe with clearly a lack of professional training. Our waiter was eeally nice but unfortunately unable to clear away dishes and serve drinks during mealtimes within an acceptable time frame. We often waited 20 minutes for our caraffe of water for dinner. We have seen better food in 3* hotels, however there was always enough choice to find something eatable. Drinks at the bar were no name spirits and served out of 3L bottles, but we have to say that the beach bar was really nice to hang around in the evening.

Also, all the information about the hotel's facilities was an A4 piece of paper in your room stating wring opening times, no resort map, no details of the all inclusive plan, etc. When it comes to opening times we have to say that these were rather limited - e.g. gym open from 10 to 7, beach restaurant closed for dinner, buffet restaurant closes at 9pm with lights being turned off and food taken away at that time, towel kiosk only opens from 10-12 and 4-6 in the afternoon.

All in all, resort needs a lot of improvement and we will probably not be coming back! Oh yes and avoid a room near the disco, or you won't get any sleep (fortunately disco only opens twice a week).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have staid there 2 nights and could say, better without children don`t go.

I guess for families with children hotel is good, as animation team do lot of job with children.

Other things for 4* hotel - I guess need renovation for buildings near the sea!
Rooms are spacious, but dark and a bit depressive.
All inclusive system - for breakfast and dinner main restaurant is full and crowdy.
Breakfast choice was ok, but already around 7 o`clock breakfast was cold.

Area for phone connection is really bad (or have to go near the see and to get up on the biggest rock to get an area), I don`t mentioned even wi-fi what there is not, but w/out wi-fi could spent holiday as well!

Hotel complex is quite big, to search for children what to do. I could say it`s more 3* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campina,Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Plus:hotel placed in a forest,peaceful,nice surroundings,a ex-monastery, with a beautiful arhitecture,near a sandy beach, with free beach umbrellas and seats, beach bar with a beautiful view over the sea,various food at all inclusive,interesting animation( Calimera Club).
Minus:small rooms,bunk beds for children,no nets for insects ,only german and russian animators,no free wi-fi, poor air conditioning, no very skilled for first aid(a lady drowned and the first aid was performed by a doctor after 10 minutes ),the theater was at 10 minutes walk in the forest.
Overall it was ok and I recomend the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms near beach are more practical
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, U.K.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My experience at Simantro Beach Hotel has been extremely bizarre, as we never booked it and we never intended to stay at this hotel. We were unfortunate victims of the Greek air traffic control strike, which gave us an extra 3 days at Chalkidiki (we were based at the second - Sithonia - peninsula, which is a lot more unspoilt for couple holidays).
It was one of the few hotels still open in October (5th-8th) that had a fitness centre on site at a decent price.
Location was good. We had a car and we spent less than 2 hours a day at the resort. The actual hotel architecture was lovely, based on monastery architecture - quite charming and idyllic.
When we got to our room, the difference was significant. Dated rooms, smelling of damp, furniture with stains, bathroom from the sixties decade and a balcony that was indeed a bonus (but not private at all). We paid 70 euros a night for two people. I've stayed at absolutely immaculate hotels for that kind of price.
Second thing we had not realised was that it was an all-inclusive resort. All people were doing was wake up, have breakfast and lay by the pool, without exploring the beauties of Halkidika. Shame. Breakfast was a generous buffet (of average quality if I may say so).
Finally, without being prejudiced, it was little Germany. We had not realised that Club Kalimera was a German all-inclusive provider. I really would like to think that some Greeks do occasionally stay there (?).
We did not use any of the facilities, besides the gym, which was actually really good (although lacking some free weights).
Overall, a very strange experience. I am sure people who do all-inclusive will find this hotel charming. I, on the other hand, didn't. Certainly for couples it's a no-no.
Final observation that you may find irrelevant was that I was shocked by the number of kids at the hotel. I assumed that in October, they should all be at school (?).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chios
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is the main question for this 4 star(???)hotel.A hotel full of cheap tricks and hidden charges.All the guests that unlikely(like me), paid the All Inclusive package and discovered when they arrived there,that the things wasn`t as they thought to be(and have paid for).Well you have to pay everything out of 4 hours(13.00-14.30 & 18.30-21.00 sharp)that this hotel serves his low under-average meals.As soon as the opening hours complete the lights turn off and you have to visit the ala-cart restaurant (in which of course you pay everything).If you want a drink late at night you have to pay for it.The sea towells-you have to pay quarantee for them!The safe in the rooms-yes you have to pay to get the code for them.The internet acess also(1E/15 min).Wi-Fi does not excist.The snacks inbetween the meals -you have to pay for them.The use of the athletic sports grounds-you have to pay quarantee(!) for them.If you want to drink a real orange juice(and not that is massive served in 2lt bottles of ``OYZO SATYROS!), a real beer or an authentic drink(and not ``Pedigran`s``-or something similar),yes you have to pay for them.Allthough in nice location,the buildings are old,with no sound proof at all and obviously needed a renovation years ago.This hotel is definitaly star-overated.This is NOT a 4 star hotel.It`s a 3-minus one-at the most.But the whole story from the very start>>we arrived late at night after a long combined trip(airplane/car) and the (only)employee at the reception after 25` of checkin`in(!),he let us all alone in the middle of the night, with all the kids and our luggage ,trying to find our rooms among the separate buildings of the hotel.The clearness(what?) of the hotel is another great matter.You have to tell them and also call the reception to make it.And of course if you see under the beds,to the upper side of TV or the lights,then you realize that all these have years to be cleaned up!The reception is irritating slow and the employees there is obviously the wrong persons in the wrong place.But the real problem of this hotel is his staff.Ruthless,in divorse with kindness and they don`t smile.NEVER.Can`t they realize that the quests are their salary?That without them they wont`t have work?When the opening hours of the pools are over,they whistle(!) to move away the man,woman and little kids who unfortunately still are to this area.I tried three(3) times to meet in person the manager/owner of this hotel.He was allways ``out of office``,or in ``endless meetings``.Even when we checked out and we have a difference for a broken arrangment from the part of the hotel about our late check-out,even then he didn`t show up.And his office it was just one door from the scene of the ``disangreement``.Overall an advice for all of you who prefer QUALITY All Inclusive vacations.There are a lot of options for this kind of holidays in Greece.But NOT in this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Many places, where is possibility to spend holiday, are very nice, with various superlatives. All of these positive comments are valid also for Simantro beach hotel. It is but necessary emphasize values, what are not show through website and pages of catalogues. This quality is extraordinary atmosphere. Amazing presentations with all superb members of animatoins - Calimera Club - complete set with leader Steffi - competitions (for children and adults), excellent aerobic with Daisy, fun volleyball with Nenad, professional night shows in amphitheatre with Hanah and spol., and many others activities. Thank you - Calimera club and Simantro beach hotel - for unique experiences remember forever. Hrbek family, Czech republic

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sani
0.0 mi away
Simantro Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sani Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sani Beach Club
Sani Beach Club
#4 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Athena Pallas Village
Athena Pallas Village
#2 of 37 in Sithonia
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pomegranate Wellness Spa Hotel
0.0 mi away
Porto Sani Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Calimera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Calimera

Address: Simantro Beach, Sani 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Sani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Calimera 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Club Calimera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Calimera Simantro Beach Hotel Kassandra
Club Calimera Sani, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Calimera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.