We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Calimera

Save Saved
You added Club Calimera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Calimera
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Simantro Beach, Sani 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sani B&B and Inns
Campina,Romania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Plus:hotel placed in a forest,peaceful,nice surroundings,a ex-monastery, with a beautiful arhitecture,near a sandy beach, with free beach umbrellas and seats, beach bar with a beautiful view over the sea,various food at all inclusive,interesting animation( Calimera Club).
Minus:small rooms,bunk beds for children,no nets for insects ,only german and russian animators,no free wi-fi, poor air conditioning, no very skilled for first aid(a lady drowned and the first aid was performed by a doctor after 10 minutes ),the theater was at 10 minutes walk in the forest.
Overall it was ok and I recomend the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms near beach are more practical
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    15
    16
    8
See reviews for
57
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, U.K.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My experience at Simantro Beach Hotel has been extremely bizarre, as we never booked it and we never intended to stay at this hotel. We were unfortunate victims of the Greek air traffic control strike, which gave us an extra 3 days at Chalkidiki (we were based at the second - Sithonia - peninsula, which is a lot more unspoilt for couple holidays).
It was one of the few hotels still open in October (5th-8th) that had a fitness centre on site at a decent price.
Location was good. We had a car and we spent less than 2 hours a day at the resort. The actual hotel architecture was lovely, based on monastery architecture - quite charming and idyllic.
When we got to our room, the difference was significant. Dated rooms, smelling of damp, furniture with stains, bathroom from the sixties decade and a balcony that was indeed a bonus (but not private at all). We paid 70 euros a night for two people. I've stayed at absolutely immaculate hotels for that kind of price.
Second thing we had not realised was that it was an all-inclusive resort. All people were doing was wake up, have breakfast and lay by the pool, without exploring the beauties of Halkidika. Shame. Breakfast was a generous buffet (of average quality if I may say so).
Finally, without being prejudiced, it was little Germany. We had not realised that Club Kalimera was a German all-inclusive provider. I really would like to think that some Greeks do occasionally stay there (?).
We did not use any of the facilities, besides the gym, which was actually really good (although lacking some free weights).
Overall, a very strange experience. I am sure people who do all-inclusive will find this hotel charming. I, on the other hand, didn't. Certainly for couples it's a no-no.
Final observation that you may find irrelevant was that I was shocked by the number of kids at the hotel. I assumed that in October, they should all be at school (?).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chios
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is the main question for this 4 star(???)hotel.A hotel full of cheap tricks and hidden charges.All the guests that unlikely(like me), paid the All Inclusive package and discovered when they arrived there,that the things wasn`t as they thought to be(and have paid for).Well you have to pay everything out of 4 hours(13.00-14.30 & 18.30-21.00 sharp)that this hotel serves his low under-average meals.As soon as the opening hours complete the lights turn off and you have to visit the ala-cart restaurant (in which of course you pay everything).If you want a drink late at night you have to pay for it.The sea towells-you have to pay quarantee for them!The safe in the rooms-yes you have to pay to get the code for them.The internet acess also(1E/15 min).Wi-Fi does not excist.The snacks inbetween the meals -you have to pay for them.The use of the athletic sports grounds-you have to pay quarantee(!) for them.If you want to drink a real orange juice(and not that is massive served in 2lt bottles of ``OYZO SATYROS!), a real beer or an authentic drink(and not ``Pedigran`s``-or something similar),yes you have to pay for them.Allthough in nice location,the buildings are old,with no sound proof at all and obviously needed a renovation years ago.This hotel is definitaly star-overated.This is NOT a 4 star hotel.It`s a 3-minus one-at the most.But the whole story from the very start>>we arrived late at night after a long combined trip(airplane/car) and the (only)employee at the reception after 25` of checkin`in(!),he let us all alone in the middle of the night, with all the kids and our luggage ,trying to find our rooms among the separate buildings of the hotel.The clearness(what?) of the hotel is another great matter.You have to tell them and also call the reception to make it.And of course if you see under the beds,to the upper side of TV or the lights,then you realize that all these have years to be cleaned up!The reception is irritating slow and the employees there is obviously the wrong persons in the wrong place.But the real problem of this hotel is his staff.Ruthless,in divorse with kindness and they don`t smile.NEVER.Can`t they realize that the quests are their salary?That without them they wont`t have work?When the opening hours of the pools are over,they whistle(!) to move away the man,woman and little kids who unfortunately still are to this area.I tried three(3) times to meet in person the manager/owner of this hotel.He was allways ``out of office``,or in ``endless meetings``.Even when we checked out and we have a difference for a broken arrangment from the part of the hotel about our late check-out,even then he didn`t show up.And his office it was just one door from the scene of the ``disangreement``.Overall an advice for all of you who prefer QUALITY All Inclusive vacations.There are a lot of options for this kind of holidays in Greece.But NOT in this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Many places, where is possibility to spend holiday, are very nice, with various superlatives. All of these positive comments are valid also for Simantro beach hotel. It is but necessary emphasize values, what are not show through website and pages of catalogues. This quality is extraordinary atmosphere. Amazing presentations with all superb members of animatoins - Calimera Club - complete set with leader Steffi - competitions (for children and adults), excellent aerobic with Daisy, fun volleyball with Nenad, professional night shows in amphitheatre with Hanah and spol., and many others activities. Thank you - Calimera club and Simantro beach hotel - for unique experiences remember forever. Hrbek family, Czech republic

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

me and my family we go thrid time in this beatifull resort and we are very happy enjoing in Simantro beach Hotel.my children have realy fun in this hotel and they love this hotel very mutch.we will visit this hotel again in september.
we will see there

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

It wasn't awful. It just wasn't that good...

The property is very close to the beach with beautiful traditional architecture but in the middle of nowhere (you definitely need a car if you don't intend to go all inclusive). The beach is sandy and clean with few sunbeds (you need to get up at 7 am if you want to get one) and a beach bar.

Our room was on the ground floor. The room and the bathroom were spacious and relatively clean. However, there were many mosquitos, the television was placed on a chair and the bathroom had mold on the ceiling and between some tiles on the wall (unacceptable for a 4 star hotel)... At nights there was loud music coming from the bar till 1am (which didn't bother me but might be annoying for someone trying to sleep).

The food was decent enough (if you like meat and pasta) but there weren't many options for vegeterians... I've stayed for 4 days and got bored of it on the 3rd.

Overall I don't think I would return...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We just returned from this hotel. We were with friends, altogether 7 of us. After 3 days all kids and 2 adults had terrible diarrhea, stomach problems of all sorts. When we discussed with other guests of the Hotel, we found out that almost everybody had similar problems. We don't know whether it was food or drinking water, or something else. And, yes, right at the beach there is a dirty, terribly smelling stream of water which is coming from the hotel's waste water treatment plant! We just couldn't believe it! The staff is aware about health problems in the hotel, but they don't do anything about it. Somebody from sanitary inspection should look at it very carefully. 4 stars??? It's a very bad joke. Do-not-go-there....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Calimera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Calimera

Address: Simantro Beach, Sani 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Sani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Calimera 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Club Calimera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Calimera Simantro Beach Hotel Kassandra
Club Calimera Sani, Halkidiki, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Calimera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.