We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better stay in a tent !!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belvedere Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belvedere Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Ioannis 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Agios Ioannis
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“better stay in a tent !!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is an extremely bad for anyone.The room can be considered very poor as there is a constant reek of sewage.The access to the beach is only possible by crossing one of the main roads on the island.There is no wireless internet,and the price for using the hotel's is 6 euro per hour.The food was horrible.This hotel is certainly no longer a 1 star. My son was playing pool and a set of 3 lights dropped onto the pool table.It should be closed down!!!

Room Tip: do not set foot in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    12
    3
    38
See reviews for
31
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Craiova, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

clean room, good food, helpful staff, own beach, Saltwater pool, varied menu for all tastes, old but very clean furniture store, beautiful view

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

On a break from our missionary trip, we stayed at the Belvedere. The owner was very nice and hospitable. We found the people very friendly and helpful.

The rooms were a little under par, but we weren't in them much anyhow. We did have an issue with getting clean towels, due to the workers strike and the hotel being undermanned.
The workers protested loudly in front of the hotel everyday.

The beach was awesome. You couldn't hear any of the commotion down there. The beach is rocky and uncomfortable if you don't get a chair to lay on. Get there early. This is where we spent most of our time just swimming and reading. I loved it.

The pool was great and close to the snacks (which were so good). They served fish everyday and fresh vegetables. The food was great and for the most part, healthy. I lost weight without even trying. The wine was good also. We had a Greek party one night. That was awesome.

We were able to walk to town a couple times. The road is a little sketchy, but if you are up for adventure, pretty fun. Despite all the drama, we had a very relaxing time and enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

This hotel is an extremely bad choice for anyone,save the most accomplished masochist.The room can be considered ok, if were not for the constant reek of sewage.The access to the beach, which is deprived of any umbrellas or shade, is only possible by crossing one of the main roads on the island.Needles to say this does not appear on any promotional photos.There is no wireless internet,and the price for using the hotel's is 6 euro per hour.The food was horrible.The buffet consisted of a very small number of dishes and the variety was reduced every day, as the management informed us that they were closing the season soon,and therefore couldn't be bothered to order anything new. As an example, the dessert options during dinner (there was dessert only at dinner) consisted of vanilla and chocolate ice cream and watermelon the first day.By the third there was only chocolate ice cream.At breakfast we were denied water,even though we were on an all-inclusive package.It simply wasn't on the menu for breakfast was the excuse.This hotel is certainly no longer on my menu.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Well, after reading the reviews for the Belvedere on this site, I was dreading my visit there - and I have to say I was pleasently surprised - despite experiencing some problems. I think it all depends what you wanted out of the holiday - for me, I was looking for somewhere comfortable to lay my head, in a good location, which would allow me to explore the rest of the Island during the day by car - for this, the Belvedere was a fine hotel. The staff were friendly enough, the beds were fine (would have liked more than one pillow), the beach at the end of the Hotel was great, the parking lot was good, the beds were made every day, the free air-conditioning was superb and the shop next door was well stocked. I also cannot comment on the food, as we eat out every day. On the negative side, the bathroom is small, and the "shower" not really much cop (it's just a loose shower), the doors were loud at night (when being closed by other's on the same floor) and we did lose all water for an afternoon/evening (it's never fun when the flush doesn't work!) - but It's certainly not the worst Hotel I have stayed in - and for me I would give it three stars, which for a three star hotel is probably about right.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

This was the worst holiday I have ever been on. I arrived on my 17th birthday with my mum to find an absolutely disgusting hotel. Cracked sewage pipe outside our room, human faeces on the outside of the toilet and in the toilet, blood on the bed sheets, beds that smelt of urine, broken wardrobe, lumpy pillows, mouldy walls and ceilings. We moved rooms (after getting many dirty looks from receptionists that barely understand a word you're saying) as the smell fro the sewage pipe was actually making us gag, got given a slightly better room with a TV (had to buy the remote from reception to watch it though..) and thought as it was my birthday we would try and make the best of it, so went to see what the food was like.
The food was repulsive. Octopus and some kind of meat in an orange sauce, boiled potatoes, carrots and spaghetti. Not being a wealthy family we couldn't go out for a meal and had no choice but to eat biscuits for dinner from the local shop where we were told that the owner got all his business from those staying at the hotel, and then cry down the phone to Olympic, the travel agency. Luckily we met another British family (we were one of three British families in the hotel- it seems it was more like a motel for sleazy Europeans and I did not feel safe walking around the hotel on my own. One even tried to grope me in the lift.) and we complained to Olympic and got moved hotels the next day to the very nice Messonghi Beach Hotel just down the road which was basically the same price for Half Board- Go there instead of here! We paid for all inclusive at Belvedere and couldn't even get still water on it. While I'm here I might as well recommend Messonghi Beach to you- although it's the same price for Half Board there as it is for All Inclusive at Belveder- All Inclusive at Belvedere is not "all inclusive" and you will much prefer Messonghi Beach. There's entertainment every night, it's right on the beach with two beautiful pools, has fantastic food with a beach bar between the beach and pool for lunch food cooked right in front of you for a reasonable price (the chicken kebab is beautiful!), a lovely atmosphere and kids, teenagers or adults won't be bored here.
Going back to the Belvedere, the pool was right by a busy road and was dirty with not enough sunbeds. Definitely not a family hotel.
All I can say is, please ignore the good reviews, I spent a day there and could not have been more unhappy. If you have booked this holiday already and are reading these reviews thinking 'Oh God', do what we stupidly failed to do and cancel your holiday. Even if you lose money, you'll lose more by going and getting on the first flight home or having an awful holiday where you can't eat the hotel food or leave children/teenagers on their own.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Lovely Corfu! My sister and me, we are so glad that we spent our vacation exactly in the BELVEDERE hotel. Everything (the service, the food, the location, etc) was just perfect. In the hotel was very clean and comfortable, it has really nice atmosphere! I definately am going to spend lots of my vacations in BELVEDERE hotel and I recommend it to everyone, who wants to have pleasant and party summer!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Address: Agios Ioannis 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Agios Ioannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Benitses
Belvedere Hotel Corfu, Ionian Islands
Belvedere Benitses

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.