We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why do they need animals there?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Center Parcs - Domaine des Trois Forets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Center Parcs - Domaine des Trois Forets to your Saves list
Center Parcs - Domaine des Trois Forets
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   1 Rue de Bertrambois, 57790 Hattigny, France   |  
Hotel amenities
West Byfleet
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Why do they need animals there?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a week in this Center Pacs as it was a place nearest when visiting family in France. Our cottage was super with two bedrooms and a Jacuzzi bath. We are both in our 60's but wouldnt recommend this place unless you have children. I just felt sorry for the animals there, the children arent really interested in them, the weather was so hot and I didnt see enough fresh water. The poor geese ( they should have a pond) they do have webb feet but no where to swim just an old dirty water bottle to get a drink.The poor ponies were shut out in the sun and huddled up against the side of the shed trying to get some shade. The two pigs we saw were in a dry dusty patch of forest. No animals were really free. All those trees but the farm animals had no shade. The pool was great for kids but we like to swim for exercise there was no side pool for early swimming lengths.We did book for Segway but the rains came and they wouldnt refund our money, so lost E32 ( I didnt want to fall off in the mud am too old for that ) Only the pool was included in the cost everything else was expensive to hire. We wern't told that the cottage doesnt come with towels or ironing board, luckily family supplied them for us. The last three days we didnt venture out cos of the rain. Good job we paid E30 for the wifi Yes that isnt free either. We enjoyed cooking for ourselves as the Buffett service was far too expensive. The only thing we enjoyed was the walks in the forest when it was hot and the beautiful cottages but boy do you pay for it!!!

Room Tip: ask for a map of the parc and see how far from the aminities your cottage is before you confirm your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    1,361
    482
    157
    56
See reviews for
2,477
182
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent a week at centerparcs and it was great - a very comfortable cottage with 2 bathrooms, a dishwasher, etc., a wonderful water park and attractions for all ages, a nice bakery and other conveniences as a supermarket, store, restaurants. Wifi was good, location quiet and we had a daily visit from a family of deer. Keep in mind that you have to bring everything except for kitchen utensils - towels (you can pay for a set but need more for the pool and a kitchen towel), liquid soap, dishwasher tablets, soap/shampoo etc.. You can buy stuff at the supermarket but there is not much variety and prices are not cheap. Also the park is very big so it is advised to pay an extra fee and choose the cottage location. We rented bikes and it sufficed but those who were further away from the center complained and several rented golf carts. We toured all around Alsace and Lorraine until the afternoon and then partied in the water park until night. My kids would extend the visit for a month...

Room Tip: Try finding a cottage close to the center. there are some nice quiet ones with forest scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A long rambling review, but if you want to get deeper info, read on beyond the summary:

Overall result: not good. Read on.

There were a few good things about the Center Parcs Moselle. The house (an Eden Premium 6 person) was very nice but not overly clean on arrival. Deer walked past one morning – bt then, if you fence in a forest and fill it with enough deer, of course you will see some eventually These aren’t actually in the wild, remember.

There is plenty to do and see and kids will be occupied albeit in dirty conditions (see notes below) and there will be tantrums and arguments. In my entire time observing families at Center Parcs Moselle, I didn’t come across one family where someone wasn’t arguing or complaining.

The pools are a highlight and it’s a credit to see so many lifeguards. This appears to be the only place that staff haven’t been skimped on (see below).

If you just want to fill the days with activities (expensive) then this is the right sort of place to come. If you want a relaxing, clean, and pleasurable holiday, look elsewhere.

Overall, it was clear to us that Center Parcs management is chiefly interested in making money (like everyone else, but here it is noticeable). Customer care is not a priority and money has been saved by understaffing the place. The staff that were there seemed to all hate their jobs and the guests. They were unfriendly and unhappy. This is not their fault but that of management who are probably making their worklife hell.

Center Parcs Moselle has the facilities, location, and possibiltiies to make for a fantastic holiday location but depite the potential of the place it is sorely let down by a lack of care.
Would we go back? Maybe in a few years when the kids are older and can waste more of our money on the activities, but probably not. The other two locations we stayed during this holiday were smaller and quieter (though still very impressive) but much more pleasant and friendly. A shame, because I really wanted to love Center Parcs and write a good review for them.

More detailed notes of some of the bad points follow:

Bad Notes:

• The indoor playground is not a soft-play playground. It is made from wood and can result in brutal falls. There are more flies in this building (complete with café-creperie and ice-creams) than I have seen in one place since living in Australia. The play area itself has a lot of dirt and cobwebs in corners and – like the rest of the park – doesn’t feel cared for.
For the second time in this building, we experience staff that completely ignore us when waiting to order food.
The animation act comes on stage and perform in a mixture of French and German, which is nice. However, the two men doing the performance look and sound thoroughly depressed and have as much passion as a constipated two year old trying to pass something as big as their head.

• Man and woman in rubbish car speeding down a 1 lane walking path ringing their bell at pedestrians and laughing so hard they almost fall out of car. They swerve left and right and skid in little patched of gravels then swerve around stones with more laughing.
When they arrive at a bridge just wide enough to take the car, they ring their bell non-stop at pedestrians (including small children) who are walking as fast as they can bUT not fast enough for the rubbish staff who want them to run across the bridge.

• At the petting zoo. Small children are in the goats enclosure. The goats are in the middle of the enclosure and the children are standing between the goats and the fence. A keeper comes to the fence with armfuls of goat-food and with a chuckle thrown it over the fence behind the children, who are in turn charged down by all the hungry goats trying to get the food. Our daughter, a huge fan of goats up until this experience, was joined ina chorus of tears by all the other children. What sort of evil moron does something like this? An unhappy and uncaring Center Parcs employee, that is what kind.

• Creperie closed at 18:30 on arrival day despite being signed and listed in directory as open till 19:00. The play area too. Result, upset children who have to walk another 15 minutes to another bad experience at the pizza restaurant.

• The pizza restaurant on arrival day. Overworked staff due to serious understaffing in restaurant. Two tables (our and the one next to us) ordered Toscana pizzas because they had Rocket on them, only to be delivered pizza without Rocket. Upon asking we were advised that they had no Rocket left. This should have been advised on ordering.
When we asked for the price of the Rocket to be removed from the bill (extras cost, so therefore lack of fillings should be deducted) the waitress had to ask two other staff to help. In the end, the process of changing the bill was taking so long that we paid in full to get ot of there faster. At the entrance t the restaurant, a queue of about 50 hopeful guests. The same queus were observed on other nights. If eating in the restaurants, get there early (even then there is a queue before opening.

• The water park has 4 big slides, a family slide, and 2 small slides on the water park. Three of the big slides are pitch black. What a shame, because this really takes a lot away fromt eh experience. Even the super crater is dark and you can’t see anything. The super crater at Alpamare in Pfäffikon, Switzerland is identical but open and therefore light and about 40 times more fun.
Of the big slides, two are said to be suitable to take a small child with you. Both of them are dark slides. My daughter found the one we went on scary and pointless. She is a huge fan of slides. We would have liked to take her on the one light big slide, a turbo tunnel, but the park says it is not suitable for small children. Funny since it was the only side fo the big four that we would think of as suitable for them.
Newsflash, Center Parcs, most small kids are scared of the dark.

The small slides are on the water play tower. This is a lot more fun when it isn’t overrun by hundreds of kids (and dumb parents) who make sport out of squirting smaller children who cry when squirted. The two slides there are fun and suitable for even the littlest kids but unfortunately also get ridden by many childless adults who never grew up.
The buckets that fill with water and over-abundance of squirting and showering water is fun for many but if you have a kid with an aversion to water splashing in their eyes then you aren’t going to have as much fun on this thing as you might expect.

• Buffet restaurant on final night.
At 23 EUR per person, it seems like you might get a good enough meal here, especially when you poke around the food before choosing to dine and see that they cook steaks to order, have a carvery with roast ham, pork and beef, and plenty of other options including salads and dessert to fill you up. We decided to give it a go on our last night at Center Parcs Moselle.
One of the options for drinks is to pay about 5 EUR each to have unlimited drinks added to the meal (assortment is limited). We opted for that too and after a brief confusion where we tried to fill our glasses ourselves from a post-mix and told off by staff, realised that you have to get a waitress’ attention to order drinks. We ordered from the one who told us off. And that was it. One drink of Coke each. Despite numerous attempts to attract a waitress to our table, they were run off their feet and far from interested in taking more drinks orders. All you can drink deal = rip-off. For goodness sake, give your customers a drink station like any normal restaurant with an offer like this.
Then we went and picked out some food. Some very bland, lukewarm and barely edible food. I tried 4 different dishes and my wife and kids took from about 8 other dishes. Nothing was particularly nice. Most of it was dry and horrible. The desserts were OK and therefore a highlight. I probably ate about 3 EUR worth of food at best.

Moral of the story, if you are going to Center Parcs, buy your own food at one of the big supermarkets in Sarrebourg and cook for yourself. You will be grateful you did.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a premimum at minimum and try to either be close to the center or prepared t ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Thought we would try a new Center Parcs and were very pleased we did, its nice and new with excellent cabins and a fantastic pool with plenty of slides .
The Parc is quite hilly which means you get a good workout on your bike which can be a little challenging for younger children.
We ate at the Buffet which was extremely poor , and not what you would expect in France. Compared to other Centre Parcs we have stayed at in Holland the selection was also very limited.
Staff were very good, however they are not enough of them and as a result service suffers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I read the many reviews before embarking on a week there in August,yes it is a good 5 hour drive from Calais(how far can you get in the UK in 5 hours?) and yes it is hilly(obviously).we absolutely loved the parc.the hired cycles were in excellent condition(lots of gears for the small inclines) and you can hire an electrically assisted cycle if you so wish.We ate in the fastfood (or should I say slow food,but come on it is France) restaurant,food was good.pizza restaurant was also good.The creperie was excellent,reasonably priced and good menu,staff were very helpful and made a fuss as it was my daughters' birthday,this restaurant also has a great location for kids-farm and indoor/outdoor play area.chalet was excellent, aqua mundo superb.archery,pony ride and hi wire adventure course good value for money,the hi wire course a must!.bakery was very handy in the morning for fresh baguettes etc.there are some great day trips nearby-le struhof.Strasbourg.Alsace wine route.Take an extra week off and visit the Vosges mountain area(90 mins away).....Amazing......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was going to write a rambling review outlining all of the issues that marred our experience of this Center Parcs, but, lets face it, who's going to read that. Suffice as to say, when measured against our previous excellent experience of Center Parcs (Longleat, UK) this Center Parcs was very disappointing. It is undoubtedly very beautiful and tranquil and constructed to a high standard. However, it is so poorly run that the beauty quickly fades into the background. I'm not sure if it's a cultural thing, but the poor attitude and lack of competence of the staff was uniform throughout, as was the poor quality of the food (in France!). The provision of information about services and activities was completely lacking and the range of activities was limited (again compared to our experience in the UK). The lake was even out of bounds due to algae. It's a small thing, but can you believe there isn't one washing machine on the campus and no laundry service? - for 1000 chalets! Oh and no washing up liquid in the kitchen....you have to buy a 1 litre bottle in the overpriced shop - this in what was described as a VIP chalet...come on guys. We'll be back to Center Parcs, but sadly not in France.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samntha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was our first experience with Center Parcs and it was FABULOUS! The park was amazing and offered so many different recreational activities for families. We especially loved the pool area and spent many hours swimming. The facilities are well kept and clean! I don't know what more people expected from this park because I couldn't believe how satisfying the stay was!

Our child did the pony ride and she loved it! The indoor play facility was fun and large for children of all ages. The pool area was amazing and offered so much fun for children of all ages! The walking trails were nice and well kept.

Our villa was very relaxing and had everything we needed (including a vacuum). We brought our own food and the kitchen area was perfect!

There is a grocery store in the park that offered everything you may need for your stay. We didn't notice a price difference either. They have the best FRESH bakery at the entrance that is worth a stop too! There is also a gift store that offers affordable merchandise as well. We spent a lot of money there too on swimming accessories and toys! HA!

The burger place by the pool was very yummy and not expensive at all! We ate there several times. We also ate at the pizza place and had drinks from the bar and it was fine. There is also a bowling alley with pool tables that offers food as well but we didn't go there.

We didn't walk the '30' minutes to the pool because it was chilly when we went. We just drove back and forth whenever we wanted to and this worked out perfect for our family.

The only negative we experienced with this trip was the mini-golf. We pre-paid for this at the main facility but when we got there nobody could be found. Also, the course didn't look that enjoyable anyways. The front desk gave us a refund right away and we were happy!

I loved this center parc and we're definitely going back soon! I can't express how great this facility was. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Center Parcs - Domaine des Trois Forets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs - Domaine des Trois Forets

Address: 1 Rue de Bertrambois, 57790 Hattigny, France
Location: France > Lorraine > Moselle > Hattigny
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hattigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs - Domaine des Trois Forets 5*
Number of rooms: 835
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Center Parcs - Domaine des Trois Forets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parcs - Domaine Des Trois Forets Hotel Hattigny
Center Parcs - Domaine Des Trois Forets Hattigny, France - Moselle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Center Parcs - Domaine des Trois Forets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.