We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redlands Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Redlands Country Lodge to your Saves list
Redlands Country Lodge
Pitlessie Road, Ladybank, Cupar KY15 7SH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ladybank B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was visiting a friend in Cupar and was looking for somewhere, nearby, where I could stay for the weekend. Redlands was flagged up through my Ecosia search and the actual accommodation matched up to the pictures and details on the website.

I stayed in the Wee Bothie and it was great to be able to have direct access to your accommodation and my own kitchen, bathroom and living area. I particularly enjoyed having a small deck where I could sit and enjoy the sunshine however if you are not a horse-lover then you might want to think twice as the owners' horse, in the field behind the Bothie, is very friendly and likes to pop her head over the fence to say hello; given the size of the deck it is very hard to avoid her!

Kate and her husband, the owners, were very friendly and welcoming but did not intrude and were knowledgeable about the local area.

I have no complaints about the accommodation. There are a few minor issues but none that were insurrmountable or affected my pleasure in the accommodation: no socket near the bedroom mirror to dry your hair but you can always use the portable mirror in the bathroom, the signal on the television affects the ability to view some channels but this is to be expected for the area and would only impair your enjoyment if you were relying on the TV for entertainment and the kitchen would have benefitted from a cloth for wiping up and/or kitchen roll but you could always bring them, buy them or ask Kate and I'm sure she would be happy to oblige.

I chose to have my breakfast in my room so cannot comment on the conservatory but the breakfast tray I was given had enough items and variety for a family, never mind one person!

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend Redlands and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I'm glad you found the Weebothy the perfect place to stay whilst you were up visiting friends in Cupar - it was nice to meet them too! The deck is a perfect spot to chill out on and the weather was amazing too - a huge bonus.
We've added an extension cable so you can now dry your hair near the full length mirror :)
Hope to see you back again
Many thanks
Kate & Alan Laing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
52
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fettercairn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

From the moment we booked to the end of our stay we found this place faultless, Kate and Allan were so welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much for them. The rooms are so clean and spacious and was like a home away from home. Very peaceful too. They even recommended excellent places to visit whilst in the area and as St Andrews is only 16miles away there are plenty of options for an evening meal before returning to the comfort of your lodge. Highly recommend to anyone visiting the area and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi there
Many thanks for your review of Redlands Country Lodge, we love to hear that you had such a nice break with us. Great that you enjoyed all Fife has to offer - we keep discovering new wee gems on the doorstep each week so do come back again soon!
Best wishes
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were made to feel as if we were visiting family or friends, very relaxed and welcoming. The accommodation was excellent and we really enjoyed the relaxed breakfast in a lovely dining area, the hosts really made us feel at home. Great to watch the chickens in the garden and will definitely revisit when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi there
Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate you taking the time. We're so glad you had a relaxing stay, that's our main aim here. The chickens are lovely aren't they - if a little too free range sometimes! They are at the conservatory door this morning awaiting their toast as usual.
Kind regards
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited here as I was given a voucher from buyagift for my 30th Birthday, and we chose Redlands as we thought we would go somewhere a bit different to a standard hotel. The place was easy to find if you read the instructions on the website, and close enough to St Andrews for a day trip. The lodge itself was cosy and had a good size wardrobe, TV with DVD and nice bed with lots of blankets and the shower was nice and hot. Slept very peacefully indeed. Kate was really friendly and served lovely breakfasts in the conservatory of the house. The lodge is the grounds of the house so there were chickens and horses to go have a look at. The hot tub was the perfect end to a long days walking in St Andrews, and I think we were in there 90 mins before we noticed the time. Would recommend staying here if visiting the local area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello there and thank you for your review of Redlands Country Lodge, Ladybank.
What a great wee review, from lovely hot shower to a great nights sleep and it gives others a true picture of our offering here. The hot tub is great isn't it!
Hope to see you again sometime.

regards
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thanks for a rather too brief stay with you, you made us feel very welcome and it was wonderful to find somewhere to accommodate our border collie who was travelling with us.
The room was cosy and we enjoyed watching the hens and red squirrel whilst you chatted and cooked breakfast for us. Will re-visit if travelling through Fife again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to let others know you've enjoyed your stay with us - you'll need to book in for longer next time! (Your collie was beautiful - lovely colourings - and a well behaved guest too who did not chase our free range hens! I'm still thrilled to see a red squirrel too, the woodland surrounding us seems to be a wee hotspot for them.
(Apologies for taking so long to respond, but somehow we got 'locked out' of our own review response page - technology is great when it works!)

all the best
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at Redlands for a night as a mid-week getaway. It was the perfect place to stay, the log cabins were beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and Kate and Alan who own it couldn't have been more accommodating. We were lucky to have great weather so sat out in the sunshine rather than using the hot tub but it was there ready to use, had we wanted to. Nothing was too much trouble and it felt like we were staying with friends. We will definitely be going back and will be recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a log cabin which suited us but we would recommend the wee bothy if you were staying lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Well, we are happy you found us! We are indeed tucked away (even sat nav has a job finding us!) and it's all part of the charm! Great weather is a bonus in Fife, there's so much to see outdoors in the area.
We'd love to have you visit again, and you can choose between WeeBothy or a log cabin rooms again. (The log cabin rooms are lovely and cosy in the winter months too, you can just hide away from the weather then!)

Kind regards
Kate & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during a visit to a beautiful wedding in the lovely area. We wished we stayed longer, it was so lovely from start to finish. Outdoor hot tub in the evening is the perfect way to end the day, great breakfasts and you couldn't wish for better genuine hosts including the animals of course! Already looking at the diary as we would love to go back and explore the beautiful area further. Thanks to Kate & Alan you leave with a smile, which is a great sign of a fab time!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlodgeFife, Owner at Redlands Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
“You leave with a smile, which is a great sign of a fab time!!”
What a great header to a review!
We genuinely do like people which is a major factor when owning a guest house. We enjoy the variety of conversation at breakfast, never boring weather chat here!
Glad you enjoyed the hot tub, it's in such a nice setting overlooking the fields that it's hard to get out!
Take care and thanks again
(Apologies for delay in reply, we managed to lock ourselves out of our Tripadvisor account somehow!)

Kate & Alan Laing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redlands Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redlands Country Lodge

Address: Pitlessie Road, Ladybank, Cupar KY15 7SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar > Ladybank
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ladybank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in one of our cosy, terraced, log cabin bedrooms, individually styled, each with its own entrance and en-suite shower room. Free WIFI/Freeview. Semirural setting by Cupar, Pitlessie, Falkland. 15 miles from St. Andrews. 20 miles from Dundee.Self catering apartment 'WeeBothy' also ideal for short breaks and short term working lets. Group bookings welcome - we can accommodate up to 12. Ideal for wedding guests for Falkland Palace, Fernie Castle, Craigsanquhar, Kilconquhar and Balbirnie.Pets by prior arrangement only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Redlands Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redlands Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.