We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Real Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

If you want to stay in an authentic Tuscan hotel and meet a genuine master of hospitality near San Gimignano, Hotel Vecchio Asilo is the place. Guido and his family transformed the old kindergarten school building into a warm and cozy hotel seven km from the walled town of San Gimignano. The bedrooms are spacious with wooden beamed ceilings and tile floors. The bathrooms are spotless, modern and also spacious. Fresh flowers were in our bedroom and bath. Guido lives with his brother on site and is gracious to help with directions, site seeing recommendations and dining options. He also prepares breakfast which features his homemade cakes. Guido's brother is the master gardener which is evident in the lovely flowers and side yard garden. Thank you, Guido, for a wonderful stay. We loved meeting you and highly recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
324
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Here's another EXCELLENT for Guido!!

Guido has a gift. He's genuinely warm and concerned about the making the stay a great experience for his guests. He's great to talk to and will provide excellent directions, suggestions for dinner and day trips. Staying at Vecchio Asilo was a memorable highlight of our trip.

It was also great fun sharing experiences at breakfast with the other guests.

Make sure that you visit Fattoria Poggio Alloro (winery) just up the road. It has a spectacular view of San G. The wine was great as well!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Standard European rating values require that for a hotel to earn more than one star, it must meet certain requirements. Because the Vecchio Asilo does not have a public sitting area other than the breakfast room, it cannot earn more than one star. This says more about the rating system and its adherence to reflecting how people traveled in the 1950, than it does about this hotel. The Vecchio Asilo is by the most important measures an absolute pleasure. It is a beautiful building, lovingly cared for with immaculate lawns (swept clean with a broom each morning) and a small garden. It is clean enough for my mother, a woman so obsessive about cleanliness that dirt fears her. The back rooms overlook a farming valley in an area with views so stunning, you'd swear they were artist renderings. The hotel is 7 kilometers from San Gimignano, another of Italy's fascinating and historic walled cities.

But make no mistake about it, the reason Hotel Vecchio Asilo shines, is the hotel owner and your host, Guido. His enthusiasm for his work never wains. There is no request to difficult, no need he cannot fill, no crisis he will not take on. While there, a Canadian couple had a automobile accident and while they were not badly injured, they were hospitalized briefly. In the middle of the night, Guido responded and saw to their every need. He did so not in the way an acquaintance might be expected to, but rather, in the way someone would who believes that people really, really matter. From the moment you arrive, you will understand that Guido's energy and love for what he does is the soul of this property. No matter what the preceding nights activities, Guido is there, early the next morning, preparing breakfast, attired in a bandanna tightly wrapped around his head and wearing a brightly colored apron. Respectful of his guests morning sluggishness, he energetically prepares and serves breakfast, while "working the room" giving directions as needed, calling for hours of operations, carrying luggage etc..

If you are going to be in the San Gimignano area, Hotel Vecchio Asilo is a very reasonably priced, well run property. It is not a resort with amenities available 24/7 and swimming pool. Instead, it is a very clean place to make home for a few days where you can feel safe and cared for at a very fair price. One piece of advice we learned from others...visit the city of San Gimignano in the day once to see the museums etc., but return in the evening when the sops are closed, but the tourist buses are gone too. Without the mobs of thousands upon thousands of tourists desperate for one more souvenir, the city is true gem. With enough light to still see the architecture get a feel of what life must have been like for the last 1,500 years, we were profoundly moved walking through the streets and feeling, breathing and touching the history of this remarkable place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

After traveling all over southern Italy for two weeks, my boyfriend and I spent five days at Vecchio Asilo. It was so relaxing and Guido was totally response to everything we asked for or about. He is a trip planning wizard and virtual tour guide, with all of the insiders hints and deep knowledge of the area. He has a bunch of travel guides in the breakfast room - he had no problem with me borrowing the wine road tour maps for the day.

Scroll thru other trip advisor reviews and you will probably see gorgeous fruit sculptures and mosaics. Each morning he and his brother prepare these delights along with great jam cakes and bruschettas.

I think there are 7 or so rooms. We stayed in the last one available which was on the road. He made sure I knew this when we booked. No problem at all. While there was some roadi noise with the window open, it was nonexistent with the window closed. Instead, in that one room you might hear the happy chatter of the other guests when they were eating their pretty breakfasts one story down, which was helpful since we were so relaxed there that hearing Guido laugh a little and then respond to someones question got us out of bed before he stopped serving breakfast at 10.

Guido and his mama open their hotel to you as if it was your house. They connect you with their friends and family to heighten your experience. He went so far as to arrange for his cousin to take us truffle hunting at 6:30 in the morning one day. It was a very special experience joining his cousin and dog on their morning stroll thru the Tuscan wet woods in hunt of tartufo.

Guido is very humble and yet he has so much he should be proud of. When we were there I noticed he had some trip advisor awards. Turns out he won it three times in a row. No surprise.

He also has wifi. If you've traveled in Italy,you know that this is hit or miss.
He stopped using venere or expedia as those companies charge a commission. When I first contacted him in was unsure if I wanted to do a direct booking. Everything went just fine.

We would definitely go back. We would also like to have guide come visit us in California (just in case he is reading this).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Enchanting, charming, warm. No frills, not many amenities - its the hideout/country side home we all wish we had. The centuries old home and former school is lovingly tended to by its zealous owners. Guido takes personal care of every guest with warmth, personality and such honesty you feel you've known him for as many centuries as the house has been standing. No frills, CLEAN to a fault of cleanliness. Comfortable, with a simple and nostalgic garden that is a work in progress with each new addition bringing it to life. Parking is tricky (and scary) and its a premium... WHAT PEOPLE!!! What a place! BEAUTIFUL, inside and out as the people who care for it. GUIDO, WE LOVE YOU!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Hotel Vecchio Asilo is great an his owner Guido is really the heart of it! You don't need to do more than booking your room and that's it. Guido has wonderful tips for daytrips, places you should have seen and restaurants. Everything he recommended was really great. Vecchio Asilo itself is wonderful too. Very nice rooms, spotless clean with fresh flowers and nicely furnished. The breakfast is delicious. Selfmade cakes, fresh fruits, everyday something new. And the location of the hotel is great as well. Perfect to make daytrips throughout whole Tuscany. Sienna, Chianti Region, Florence....
We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

My husband and I saw the reviews and decided we had to check this place out. What makes this a 5-star experience is that Guido and his brother do everything with love. You see it reflected everywhere . . . in the garden, in the food, in the way the place sparkles, and in the joy with which Guido cares for his guests. You won't find a better host in all of Tuscany. We love you, Guido! :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchio Asilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.