We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best - Guido is the Man!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best - Guido is the Man!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Awesome 3 days in Tuscany. When people enjoy what they do it shows and Guido and his brother (owners) made this stay fantastic. The B&B is very cute, decorated well and Guid's is maticulous in his cleaning. Breakfasts were delicious and made with care. Ask Guido what to do and where to go. He knows the area and his advice was terrific. Dinner recomendations were spectacular. Air conditioning was not working but he provided us with a fan and we could not have been happier. Views are increadible, be sure to get a bottle of wine and use the back patio for the sunsets .... awesome. Car is required for this stay. Value was increadible. Bring something small from your country for Guido he will make you feel like he derserved it. We wished we could have left him something small to show our appreciation. 3 or our 15 day prolonged honeymoon trip across Italy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
324
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Vecchio Asilio (the old kindergarten) in April for three days. It was simply magic. Guido is a splendid and gracious host for whom the comfort and pleasure of his guests are paramount. His generosity of spirit and upbeat personality set the tone for the hotel. His knowledge of the area and energetic organizing make traveling well effortless for his guests. We'll add our voices to the many others who praise the clean, well appointed rooms, the artfully presented and delicious breakfasts and the beautiful, flower-filled grounds overlooking the Tuscan hills. The location is central to some of the most delightful towns in Tuscany. Thank you Guido!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

What makes this hotel a great stay is Guido the host. He is very friendly, helpful and attentive. The surroundings are nice. About a 7km drive to San Gimignano. You need a car to stay here. Hotel is no frills, so don't expect aircon. However, what it lacks in facilities is compensated for by it's charm.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in July of 2008 while on our honeymoon. The selection was made based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed! This is a nice little hotel a short drive from San Gimignano. The rooms were pleasant and clean. Guido was a fantastic host. This hotel is his passion and it really shows. He was very attentive and gave us great suggestions on where to eat and visit. We would absolutly stay here again. Thanks, Guido!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I read a lot of good review about Hotel Vecchio and have high expectation. After my stay, I total agree with all of them. The highlight of the hotel is definitely the one and only Guido. He welcomed us with greatness. The room is clean and well equip. The breakfast is wonderful. You can tell he is not doing this as a job. He fully enjoys his time with the guest and treats them as his good friends. A hotel that care about their guests and provide their most genuine service like this has no doubt to fall into the best rated hotel in the city. I hope we can visit there again in the future. Keep up the great work.

Tilly

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

we stayed with guido a few days ago what a man!!! nothing to much bother each place he recommended was perfect and much cheaper than expected. went on local train to sienna and florence. also went to elba a long day but worth it. 13 days was maybe a little long to stay at one place p s drove from swansea south wales uk in a fiat panda!!! 70 plus couple thanks again guido

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We have just returned from Italy and we stayed here for the nights and it was great. Guido is the most helpful host I have met. Ask him information and he would suggest great restaurants, places to visit. we have been to Tuscany before and did the "big" cities and this time we wanted visit smaller, less touristy places (as much as this possible in Tuscany).
Guido gave us a map and we followed that and it was great. btw, to trully appreciate this, you have to have your own transport.
We stayed in room 1 which is facing the road, but it was not noisy so no worries there, the breakfast was great.
Guido suggested to eat in a place called Chiribiri in San Gimignano and it was great. honest prices, good food.
hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchio Asilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.