We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Chianciano Terme, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a charming, family owned and run hotel, just outside of San Gimignano. The owner, Elio, believes in the importance of hospitality to weary travelers, not just for the sake of business, but because our happiness also gives him satisfaction. We awoke to his graciousness each morning (3 mornings which we extended to 4) as we enjoyed a hearty breakfast of homemade cakes, focaccia, salamis, cheese, freshly sliced fruit, coffee, yogurt...
The room in the thousand year old tower was spacious. The bathroom was a decent size with an excellent shower. Both were very clean. Elio's restaurant suggestions were also very good. The hotel is well situated for leisurely exploring the area between Florence and Siena. I'd recommend this hotel if you're planning to stay for several days. It is not directly off a main highway if you want something quickly accessible, but it is a short drive to the main thoroughfare. It's also about an hour's drive from Florence airport.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
328
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week in Tuscany, and were so grateful to have stayed at Hotel Vecchio Asilo, which is an experience in and of itself. Impeccably clean, quaint, and comfortable, the hotel has a rich history (the structure a fascinating hybrid of old - i.e. 1,100 AD - and "new"), packed with the kind of charm, warmth, and whimsy that can only be found in Tuscany. Elio, the hotel manager, is such a special person - a wonderful, warm personality with a big heart. Some of our best memories of Tuscany were the result of waking up in the morning to Elio's delicious breakfasts and asking him where we should go that day - take his advice! After exploring various hilltop towns each day, driving back to Hotel Vecchio felt like "heading home." This is such a special place - such a special experience, that I am not sure whether we should tell everyone about Hotel Vecchio, or keep it our "secret!" Hotel Vecchio - and Elio - are an experience that you will never forget and that you will want to return to again and again. My husband and I can't wait to head back next Fall!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this lovely family run hotel. Despite our late arrival after midnight we were received a very warm welcome from Elio, the owner. It was late so we had a quick shower and retired to bed. The bathroom was large and despite it looking to be dated the shower was fantastic. In the morning we woke and threw open the shutters and were greeted by a stunning Tuscan sunrise. After quickly unpacking we went for breakfast. Wow... fresh fruit, cereal, cheeses, meats, yoghurt and lovely home made Tuscan delicacies. To top it off freshly made home baked cakes and lovely aromatic coffee. Each morning delivered a different cake type. The true gift of this hotel is Elio. We had a plan of places to visit and Elio provided us with very practical and precise details of how best to facilitate this. His parking advice was spot on. Recommendations made by Elio for places to eat never failed to delight. Each morning Elio suggested places to visit that we had not considered. These villages and towns transpired to be the best trips of our stay. Our holiday would have been completely different and less fulfilling without the advice of Elio. Ulignano as a town does not have much to offer apart form a warm welcome but this hotel is a lovely place to base yourself, we visited Siena, Florence, Volterra, San Gimignano, Montepulicano, Monteriggione, Pienza. Oh and Pisa....but to be honest Pisa is only worth a couple of hours visit. Apart from the tower there is not much to recommend it. There is a drinks fridge which operates on a trust basis. Help your self to your drinks of choice and leave at note on the desk. Prices are extremely good. There is a choice bottles of red wines... all of them very good... in the breakfast area which you also can take to your room. Again just leave a note for Elio to let him know what you have taken.
You will find that Elio welcomes you to his home, not to his business.
If you want to experience a true Tuscan hotel then try here. The traditional Tuscan style coupled with a wonderful host makes this a true gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in room five. Exceptionally spacious bathroom. Window in the bedroom were dual aspect and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Once again the reviews were bang on. This place is a gem! Perfect location to tour the Chianti region, Siena, and of course beautiful San Gimignano.
Very easy to find. The original building was used as a watch tower in the 11C. The rest of the building was added on in the early 20's. Beautiful woodwork throughout.

We arrived a bit early at 12:30 pm and we were able to check into our room.
Both our host and hostess were lovely and very friendly. They gave excellent instructions on where to park in San Gimignano and where to have a wonderful dinner.

Our room was on the main floor and very large with a king size bed and spacious bathroom. The views from the room were breathtaking. Everything was neat and tidy and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were white and crisp and pressed. Our room had a small sink in the room itself as well as a separate bathroom.

The bathroom had a stand up shower, white fluffy towels and complementary toiletries. There was a wall mounted hair dryer that sounded like a jet engine. Unfortunately it didn't work to well for my long hair but this was the only downside.

The breakfast was worth the stay. Don't rush to fill up on yogurt and cereal. They served tasty meats and cheeses as well. But the best was the freshly baked bread and cakes, including pizza! Freshly made to order coffee and finally a beautiful plate of fresh fruit.

We loved this place and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Corner suite on main floor was large and sunny with a great view and an oversized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights (9/13 - 9/17/13) at this hotel. Elio the owner is an excellent host. He's informative, extremely helpful and a pleasure to be around. The hotel rooms are very clean. The breakfast was over the top. By far the best breakfast we found in the 4 hotels we stayed on our trip. Everyday Elio provides different freshly baked goods, fruits and other treats in addition to the standard items. The quality and quantity of food were excellent. There are two outside terraces which offer views of the surrounding countryside. Great places to relax with an "adult beverage" after a long day of sightseeing. This is a great location, close to San Gimignano and equidistant to Siena and Florence. Great hotel

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel are right on the road to San Gimignano. The hotel is located at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed two nights at this fantastic Hotel which ticks all the boxes. Its location for touring Tuscany is ideal. 'Elio' the perfect host, and font of all knowledge as to where and when to visit the many sights nearby. His recommendations for places to dine out were great. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic.This hotel certainly sets the standard for customer service. We very much hope to return and stay here again. Thank you Elio for a fantastic stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location.

We stayed here for a couple of days after the busy waterways of Venice and before heading south to the madness of Rome - our 25th wedding anniversary mini Italian tour. It is a fantastic little hotel in a beautiful location in the heart of the Chianti region. Elio & Stefania are superb hosts and clearly put a great deal of effort into ensuring their guests enjoy a top quality stay.

It is easily the best of the hotels we stayed in on our trip....And the breakfast is a delight.

We would highly recommend it for both couples and families. It's a real gem!

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms, and we were there with friends so we were using 2 of them. None of us was di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchio Asilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.