We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
carmarthen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed two nights at this fantastic Hotel which ticks all the boxes. Its location for touring Tuscany is ideal. 'Elio' the perfect host, and font of all knowledge as to where and when to visit the many sights nearby. His recommendations for places to dine out were great. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic.This hotel certainly sets the standard for customer service. We very much hope to return and stay here again. Thank you Elio for a fantastic stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
344
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location.

We stayed here for a couple of days after the busy waterways of Venice and before heading south to the madness of Rome - our 25th wedding anniversary mini Italian tour. It is a fantastic little hotel in a beautiful location in the heart of the Chianti region. Elio & Stefania are superb hosts and clearly put a great deal of effort into ensuring their guests enjoy a top quality stay.

It is easily the best of the hotels we stayed in on our trip....And the breakfast is a delight.

We would highly recommend it for both couples and families. It's a real gem!

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms, and we were there with friends so we were using 2 of them. None of us was di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We wanted to see Tuscany but stay in a convenient location, close to most of the popular regions and found Hotel Vecchio Asilo not only the perfect location but an amazing little hotel, with the European charm we wanted and the friendliest hosts we ever met.
Breakfast was prepared to the highest standard with all organic produce and giving us the opportunity to sample local dishes and Stefania's delicious cakes. There are plenty of restaurants in San Gimigniano, where you can have affordable meals. We were impressed with the locals' commitment to only use local produce, so most of the dishes contained the traditional wild boar but cooked in enough ways to offer variety.
Renting a car was a good decision, as it's the best way to explore the region. We didn't have a SatNav and were worried about finding our way around but our fantastic host, Elio was the best guide we could have asked for. He suggested interesting routes we could take and gave us step by step directions that helped us to never get lost.
Thank you Elio and Stefania for making our holiday an amazing one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Absolutely loved this property - service was absolutely top notch and i couldnt fault it.

Rooms loveley and comfortable! I was at another hotel prior to moving here and it was no comparison! This place is SENSATIONAL!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Absolutely delightful B&B just outside San Gimigniano. Our second stay here. Wonderful room overlooking a lovely valley, clean, beautiful. Elio and Stefania could not be more gracious hosts...they treat you like long cousins. Wonderful breakfast. And situated such that day trips to all of the Chianti region is easy. We even drove to Montalcino with ease. Highly recommend...you won't find a warmer, more hospitable place to stay. Oh, and very reasonable rates, to boot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

...that's what we want to say to Stefania & Elio for their warm welcome, travel and restaurant trips, awesome breakfast and general hospitality. We enjoyed our stay very much and will recommend the hotel :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fantastic little B & B. Magnificent views from Room number 5, spacious bedroom, comfortable bed and huge bathroom. Enjoyable breakfast, true Italian country style. Lovely views from the garden out over the valleys and vineyards. Elio e Stefania were the perfect hosts and to top off a great stay Elio recommended two wonderful restaurants for dinner. One reached by a village funiculare. Definitely an exciting way to go to dinner! Views and the meal were amazing. The charming medieval town of San Gimignano is on a few kilometers away too! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchio Asilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.