We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most convenient B&B in Tuscany.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Kinsale, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The most convenient B&B in Tuscany.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Elio & his Wife are the best B & B Hosts we have ever experienced.. Couldn't do enough for us with information, tips, and 'phone calls. The Breakfast in Hotel Vecchio, Asilo is, "to die for". It's location is perfect for travelling around Tuscany. Our stay at Hotel Vecchio Asilo was the highlight of out trip to Tuscany.

Room Tip: Stay in the West Room of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    35
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
312
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a great hotel!! I found this hotel on tripadvsior while looking for a place to stay for 2 nights near San Gimignano. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Our host Elio, was fantastic. He helped us with dinner reservations, maps, the best places to park and visit in Florence, etc. Prior to our arrival it had been quite warm and the heat was turned off for the season, but when we got to Ulignano the temperature at night had gotten chilly. Elio had the serviceman come the next day and turn the heat on for our last night. This was totally unexpected and very much appreciated. The breakfast is very good and prepared by Elio himself. We could not have had a better stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This nice Bed and Breakfast is ideal for a base if you want to see Tuscany. About Half way between Florence and Siena, you can drive to many cities on beautify roads. The family that runs the B&B has a big breakfast each morning and are full of information and assistance in fining resturants and booking reservations for dinner or tours. A must if you want to have a great Tuscany experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Vecchio Asilo and it was the best! We couldn't get over the personalized service. The room was beautiful and very clean; when we arrived late in the evening, Elio asked us what time we would like breakfast so he could prepare it for us and the food was wonderful. Homemade coffeecakes and bread, bruschetta with fresh tomatoes and Elio's own olive oil, fresh fruit platters that were works of art . . . and much more. And they were so helpful - he gave us directions to various places and printed off maps and directions. We had bought a bottle of wine one day and just used the drinking glasses provided in the room. We left the half-bottle remaining on the table and when we returned from our outing the next evening, there were two wine glasses, sitting on a napkin-lined tray, next to the bottle. The bed was very comfortable. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidron
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the most wonderful 5 nights stay in Hotel Vecchio Asilo. Nothing we write cannot describe this beautiful place and the people who ran it - dearest Elio and Stefania. Every morning started with the warm smile of Elio serving the most superb breakfast. Every breakfast included in addition to Tuscan salami and cheeses, also special homemade Tuscan treats (different every day!!!), a plate of thinly sliced fresh fruits and a delicious cake (different every day!!!) baked by Stefania. Both Elio and Stefania are very knowledgeable of Tuscany and provided us every day with useful tips for our day trips (places to go, directions, roads to take, parking places, restaurants, special local foods etc.), Sometimes they knew in advance where we are heading that day and prepared the information for us in advance.
The hotel is a beautiful old restored building, the rooms are cozy. the heating works just fine and the shower is superbly clean.
Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, it is located just 10 minutes drive from San Gimignano....ask Elio and Stefania for recommendations ...

We highly recommend this Hotel and definitely will come back in our next visit to Tuscany
Thank you Elio and Stefania!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here on our trip to Tuscany, and chose this B&B based on trip advisor reviews. So glad we did! It was one of the most memorable places we've ever stayed! Guido was a great host -- his breakfast amazing and his kitty-cat apron cracked us up!

The rooms are clean and the views are beautiful. I will say that when I first looked at pictures (as you probably are doing now) that I wasn't 'wowed' by the rooms, and that was my only hestitancy in booking. I'm glad I went ahead and stayed here - because even though the rooms aren't fancy, the hospitality and personality of the owner makes up for it!

Another word of caution -- this was very hard to find, and the road signs in Italy aren't great. Especially hard to find in the dark! The car company in Florence where we flew in did NOT give us a map, and our Rick Steve's guide map looked like a hand drawn map of Mordor. Make sure you take a real road map with you and scope out where you are going. It's not far at all from Poggibonsi or San Giamnagno (the first where you want to catch the train, and the second is one of my favorite Tuscan villages!) so the location is great, but it is a little hard to find! Book this place now, you won't regret it. Stay a few days and take Guido's advice on where to go while in the amazing countryside of Italy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a wonderful week at this lovely country hotel with Guido. He really is unexceptional host who provides warm hospitality, lots of stories spiced with humor and compassion. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay....room was very clean (a little noisy on the front but a fan seemed to fix that). The gardens are beautiful for sitting out with a glass of vino. This area is lovely and very convenient for traveling to the beautiful hill towns close by. Guido gives great advice on what to see, where to go and where to eat. Speaking of eating, you will be amazed at the culinary delights he comes up with for breakfast. This place deserves the wonderful reviews it gets

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchio Asilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.