We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vecchio Asilo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Kidron
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A True Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the most wonderful 5 nights stay in Hotel Vecchio Asilo. Nothing we write cannot describe this beautiful place and the people who ran it - dearest Elio and Stefania. Every morning started with the warm smile of Elio serving the most superb breakfast. Every breakfast included in addition to Tuscan salami and cheeses, also special homemade Tuscan treats (different every day!!!), a plate of thinly sliced fresh fruits and a delicious cake (different every day!!!) baked by Stefania. Both Elio and Stefania are very knowledgeable of Tuscany and provided us every day with useful tips for our day trips (places to go, directions, roads to take, parking places, restaurants, special local foods etc.), Sometimes they knew in advance where we are heading that day and prepared the information for us in advance.
The hotel is a beautiful old restored building, the rooms are cozy. the heating works just fine and the shower is superbly clean.
Although there is no restaurant in the hotel, it is located just 10 minutes drive from San Gimignano....ask Elio and Stefania for recommendations ...

We highly recommend this Hotel and definitely will come back in our next visit to Tuscany
Thank you Elio and Stefania!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
324
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here on our trip to Tuscany, and chose this B&B based on trip advisor reviews. So glad we did! It was one of the most memorable places we've ever stayed! Guido was a great host -- his breakfast amazing and his kitty-cat apron cracked us up!

The rooms are clean and the views are beautiful. I will say that when I first looked at pictures (as you probably are doing now) that I wasn't 'wowed' by the rooms, and that was my only hestitancy in booking. I'm glad I went ahead and stayed here - because even though the rooms aren't fancy, the hospitality and personality of the owner makes up for it!

Another word of caution -- this was very hard to find, and the road signs in Italy aren't great. Especially hard to find in the dark! The car company in Florence where we flew in did NOT give us a map, and our Rick Steve's guide map looked like a hand drawn map of Mordor. Make sure you take a real road map with you and scope out where you are going. It's not far at all from Poggibonsi or San Giamnagno (the first where you want to catch the train, and the second is one of my favorite Tuscan villages!) so the location is great, but it is a little hard to find! Book this place now, you won't regret it. Stay a few days and take Guido's advice on where to go while in the amazing countryside of Italy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a wonderful week at this lovely country hotel with Guido. He really is unexceptional host who provides warm hospitality, lots of stories spiced with humor and compassion. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay....room was very clean (a little noisy on the front but a fan seemed to fix that). The gardens are beautiful for sitting out with a glass of vino. This area is lovely and very convenient for traveling to the beautiful hill towns close by. Guido gives great advice on what to see, where to go and where to eat. Speaking of eating, you will be amazed at the culinary delights he comes up with for breakfast. This place deserves the wonderful reviews it gets

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just stayed at Hotel Vecchio Asilo for one night this November, but it was so lovely that I wanted to make sure I wrote a review (my first one ever!)

We were the only people there (it being the off-season and cold!), and we received such a lovely welcome. Elio gave us a top recommendation for where to go and where to eat in San Gimignano (best meal in ages) and we had a great night.

The accommodation is lovely; really clean, all the things you'd need for a comfy stay and it feels like you're staying in the real Tuscany. Fantastic.

Breakfast was just wonderful. We chose what time would be best for us and when we sat in the breakfast room we were offered not only the usual things you'd expect, but also the most delicious Tuscan specialities, amazing salamis and cheeses, beautifully prepared fruit, home-made cakes from Stefania and another very warm welcome.

When we left I was really sad not to be staying longer, but I'd definitely book it again in a heartbeat. The views from the hotel are beautiful, the area yields the most delicious food and drink, and the people are so friendly you literally feel at home. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in the Hotel Vecchio Asilo. I can't praise our hosts Elio and Stefania enough, they went out of their way to help make our week in Tuscany a most enjoyable one and gave us invaluable information to help us explore what truly is a most beautiful part of Italy. Not only did we have great breakfasts with fantastic homemade cakes and pastries daily, but the room was also extremely spacious, comfortable and clean. During our stay, my husband and I celebrated a special wedding anniversary and on our return to the hotel that evening we found lovely homemade individual desserts in our room, not just for ourselves, but also for the two friends we were with. They really are the most exceptional hosts and I would recommend a stay there anytime. A big thank you to Elio and Stefania.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Four of us have just spent 8 days at Hotel Vecchio Asilo and had a truly wonderful time - thanks to the outstanding hospitality from Elio & Stefania. Gave us plenty of beautiful places to visit and also supplied delicious breakfasts - Stefania's chocolate cake is a wonder to behold and eat!! We have just returned and the weather has been great. They recommended good restaurants too. Look forward to returning to Tuscany which has breathtaking scenery and superb places to visit. My friend found this delightful place to stay on Tripadvisor. It is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Use Tripadvisor for all your holiday requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in November and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to visit San Gimignano, Siena, or the Chianti wine area. We found the location perfect. Free parking and a room overlooking the vineyards. San Gimignano is only 6 km away and it is a pretty drive. Although there is no restaurants in Ulignano, 3 km away there is a small town (Vic D'elsa) with a nice restaurant/pizzeria (Vico Furbo, free parking in the town just ask Elio) if you can't be bothered driving into San Gimignano. There are also several close by (within 3 km) agrotourismos which offer beautiful traditional Tuscan treats at a good price.
We arrived 2 hours before check in but were greeted warmly and our room was quickly made available after a 10 minute stroll through the town. We were really happy with our room, it was large, clean and comfortable with a hot and high pressured shower.
The owners were extremely helpful and kind. Elio helped us with everything from directions and parking to restaurant and winery recommendations.
Finally, the breakfast was amazing, Fresh delicious home made cakes, coffee to order, a fruit platter, pizza, meat and cheese, cereal, toast, yoghurt....no need for lunch!
Can't wait to visit again, thanks for everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Address: Via delle Torri, 4 | Ulignano, 53030 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ulignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano
Hotel Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano, Italy - Ulignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchio Asilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.